BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deadly Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

Deadly Secrets is a one of a kind mystery, infused with multi-dimensional characters, nail biting twists, and an ending that you¿ll never see coming. This small town mystery is hiding a very large secret¿ I couldn't put it down!

Odell has proven herself to be an extr...
Deadly Secrets is a one of a kind mystery, infused with multi-dimensional characters, nail biting twists, and an ending that you¿ll never see coming. This small town mystery is hiding a very large secret¿ I couldn't put it down!

Odell has proven herself to be an extremely talented mystery writer. I can¿t wait to read the next book in the Mapleton Mystery Series.

posted by Agonzales on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not my thing.

I don't care for romance novels, and although there was an interesting mystery, there was more romance than I expected. Unless there was some rough condensing of the story by B and N for the Nook, the author jumped from one scene to the next making me think I missed a ...
I don't care for romance novels, and although there was an interesting mystery, there was more romance than I expected. Unless there was some rough condensing of the story by B and N for the Nook, the author jumped from one scene to the next making me think I missed a page.

posted by LandofEnchantment on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    A Must Read!

    Deadly Secrets is a one of a kind mystery, infused with multi-dimensional characters, nail biting twists, and an ending that you¿ll never see coming. This small town mystery is hiding a very large secret¿ I couldn't put it down!

    Odell has proven herself to be an extremely talented mystery writer. I can¿t wait to read the next book in the Mapleton Mystery Series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Kept me guessing

    Lots of twists and turns, and characters I identified with. Not the author's usual romantic suspense, but there's definitely relationship and series potential here. An excellent mystery debut.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good read

    I like Terry Odell and have now read most of her books. I will continue to read anything she puts out as I've not been disappointed yet. Interesting and fast-paced and not necessarily on edge of seat, but a page-turner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Not my thing.

    I don't care for romance novels, and although there was an interesting mystery, there was more romance than I expected. Unless there was some rough condensing of the story by B and N for the Nook, the author jumped from one scene to the next making me think I missed a page.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Kept me turning pages

    Ended a little abruptly . . . But a good read. Mystery with a touch of romance

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    A great read!

    I have read most of her books and am a real fan!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Very good book!

    Kept my interest from the beginning!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    This book caught my attention right away becaue the mystery seem

    This book caught my attention right away becaue the mystery seemed promising, but it quickly became quite tedious so I skimmed the last half.  It can't decide if it's a mystery or a romance novel:  It has the bones of a
    good police procedural but the author throws in some gratuitous scenes that have nothing to do with the mystery plot.  The book is also wordy and the character development is feeble. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    More Mapleton recommended

    I'm a fan of cozy mysteries, those that don't keep me up nights afraid to close my eyes and those that don't make me part of a three-some sex scene. The Mapleton Mystery series is a good mystery, great characters, and an enjoyable read. I liked this book a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love all his books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Police procedural married to a romantic cozy Tiny Mapleton, Col

    Police procedural married to a romantic cozy

    Tiny Mapleton, Colorado is the domain of newly minted Police Chief Gordon Hepler, a competent cop with some doubts about being thrust to the top of his field. His normal trouble calls trend toward the nuisance calls about a ghost in Betty Bedford's vintage clothing store.

    After a seven year absence from home, event planner Megan Wyatt comes back to visit her aging adoptive grandparents, Sam and Rose Kretzer. Their frailness and the furtiveness of their by-blood grandson who's also visiting raise Megan's hackles. Something's going on here and she means to get to the bottom of it. And when did Jumbo Justin turn into a hottie?

    Like popcorn in the microwave, events hit Mapleton in a blinding flurry. A stranger is dead. Megan is assaulted in the park. Homes are ransacked. Then Betty is found dead, and Chief Hepler's sure a ghost isn't to blame. He calls in help and rolls up his sleeves.

    Both story lines, the police procedural one and the amateur sleuth one, weave and diverge in a skillful manner, keeping my interest level high throughout the book. I found the book to be intricately plotted with deliberate pacing. Although I read book 2 of this series first, it was a joy to read this one and spend time with familiar characters. I very much enjoyed my visit to Mapleton and Odell's keen eye for detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Darkness

    Hello


    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Skyeagle

    Who are yu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Disappointed

    First five chapters are missing. Little hard to figure out what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Silence

    * she hugs u crying* im sorry i must seem weak to u.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Cale

    "What?"

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2