Customer Reviews for

Deadly Silence

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding on so many levels

    Casey Cantrell never recovered mentally from a brutal beating while at Colorado State University. Upon graduating she becomes a forest ranger to conceal her fears. Her first assignment is giving a lecture on raptors to second graders.

    Firefighter Lieutenant Matthew Sinclaire's wife died in an arson-set blaze. Their eight years old daughter Megan called 911 but could not save her mommy as she and Tickle Me Elmo escape the inferno. Suffering from survivor guilt as she feels she failed her mommy, Megan has a deep rooted child form of post traumatic stress disorder, which has left her mute.

    At the lecture Casey is kind to Megan who becomes very attached to the ranger. Matt sees the connection between a woman he is attracted to and his daughter. Casey feels for the child and likes the father, but has own issues. However irate Senator Carter Peyton loathes Matt who he holds culpable for his first wife and two children dying in a blaze near Jackson Hole; he will destroy anyone the firefighter cherishes such as Casey.

    Deadly Silence is a character driven suspense thriller Matt and Carter grieve their respective losses but react differently to the deaths of their loved ones. Although Peyton's lunatic "eye for an eye" logic can be arguably caused by grief turning him insane, he remains in my mind as way over the top of the Grand Tetons. With a strong romantic subplot between two cautious adults to enhance the taut thriller, fans will appreciate the warmth of loving nurturing helping a little child regain her zest for life.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    7 out of 10 stars

    Deadly Silence by Lindsay McKenna
    Release Date: June 21st, 2011
    Publisher: HQN (Harlequin)
    Page Count: 378
    Source: ARC from Carolyn at Romance Novel News

    For a romantic suspense novel, I don't think Deadly Silence is highly romantic or highly suspenseful. In fact, I'd rather classify it as women's fiction or friendship fiction (as Casey and Matt turn out to be great friends and eventually lovers, but there's hardly any sex or romance).

    McKenna's writing style is fast-paced, but not very exciting. I expected this story to be one of those edge-of-my-seat thrillers, but it isn't at all. The mystery of who's haunting Matt and putting his crush, Casey, in danger, is predictable since the culprit is revealed within the first few chapters. The "romance" aspect of it isn't highly sensual or heated, either. There seem to be no sparks between Matt and Casey, aside from their sporadic thoughts of "How handsome he looks!" or "Her hair is very flattering to her face shape". They also fall for each other too quickly -- almost to the point that their love seems phony. I'm not saying I didn't get the feeling they don't care for one another, because their relationship is very deep. The characters are well-developed and troubled, which makes them seem realistic. The actual romance and (nonexistent) chemistry the author tries to develop however, is rather difficult to buy.

    More on predictability: the protagonists are going to fall in love, and the reader knows it from the start (as so in most Harlequin romances). I feel the main conflict of this novel is Matt's eight-year-old daughter, Megan's, shock and how she gets over it, rather than his romance with Casey. Having dealt with great trauma two years ago (watching her mother die and house burn to the ground), she's gone mute, and is depressed. This is where the characters opened up to me, how intimately I got to know them. Casey, too, has a weight on her shoulders that keeps her from living life to the fullest. These imperfections in otherwise pure characters is both heartwarming and exceptionally emotional. That being said, it's the loudness of McKenna's message about human anguish and how one's world can fall apart in such a short period of time, that makes this novel powerful, NOT the romance. I definitely think this could have been a better book without the romance, personally. There's no love scene until the last few pages, and most of the time, there's no sexual tension either.

    In the end, I felt my eyes water and throat tighten at the stirring personal dilemmas throughout the book, and rejoiced when I discovered things would work out okay. In terms of writing style, McKenna is very descriptive, but repetitive as well. Her writing doesn't haunt me or keep me holding tight -- I don't want to call it bland, but it isn't anything special either. But what she is amazing at, is fostering characters that are so relatable, that I want to love them like my own friends, my own acquaintances, my own children, and having me nearly in tears during the long, laboring journey of finding true acceptance and trust.

    Stephanie Loves: "'And here we are -- both with major loss and trauma in our lives. We're both crippled. It's just to what extent, how we wrestle with it on a daily basis and how we try to get well even if we don't feel like we'll ever make it there.'"

    Radical Rating: 7 hearts- A few flaws here and there, but wouldn't mind rereading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Great find - love this author

    Great story keeps you guessing. Read the entire thing in one sitting I just couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Don't bother!

    Found myself skipping pages just to get through the book. So much droning on and on about a drug to treat PTSD. To many characters on soooo many pages, that really did not add to story. Just seemed to be telling us about them to fill pages. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1