Customer Reviews for

Deadly Stakes: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Absolutely Famtastic!!!

    I am a big JA jance fan from the first book (Desert Heat) that I read a couple of years ago!!! I have read the JoAnna Brady series and the JP Beaumont series and couldn't put them down...needing more from her I tried book 1 of the Ali Reynolds series and didn't stop until I had read them all Deadly Stakes being the 8th of the series.

    I would recommend any and all JA Jance books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Another great one

    as usual Jance does a great job - keeps the pages turning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Another hit by J A Jance!

    Jance has done it again with her newest Ali Reynolds Book. I could hardly put it down. Cannot wait for the wedding book to get here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great

    Yae

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Through the heart....part one

    "It still doesn't feel right." I say, uncertain. "I have to cut a persons head off with this?" A shining steel axe weighs in my hands. "The handle is all wrong! And it's way too heavy." "Focus, Alice." A male voice, harsh and steady sounds. "And it's a vampire, not a person." I smile a little, annoyed yet bright. "Don't forget demons. And call me cougar. Everyone else does, Wiliam." I emphasize on his name and glare at him. "I prefer Will, or maybe Viper." He puts a hand on the back of his neck, pushing up some of the messy black hair that has grown long. "Here. I'll get Fred to work on it." I hand the axe over to his outstretched hand and run up the creaky, old stairs to the main room. "Hi fred!" I call to a girl. She looks up from a book and smiles. "Hi cougar! I just found some interesting info on that demon Will asked me to research." She hold a picture of a large, almost slug-like demon. It was covered in spikes and had a large spikey ball attacked to a chain held in its's short arms. As i look at the picture, I envision it in realy and shudder. "Let us know when it will be here. We need to stop it when we can." Will walks up behind me. I smile at fred (short for winifred) and run up to my room. Fred comes up soon after. "So, whats with you and Will." She asks as soon as she enters, closing the door behind her. "Nothing!" I retort, searching through my small chlice of clothing for something nice. "Right." Fred says sarcastically. "And you never talk to him because you're such great friends, hey, what are you looking for anyway?" She asks, looking over my shoulder. "Something nice to wear." I say. "Hows this?" A blue shirt with lace around the collar and botton edges rests in my hands. "Pretty! What for?" Fred asks suspicouslly. "My date with Will." I lool at her shocked expression, holding back a laugh. "An undercover thing. Several employees have been going missing a big company. We suspect vamps are heading it. Oh, and i've never talked to Will other than training, so there's no real difference. Now shoo. I have to change." Minutes later, i stand in front of a mirror, looking at my short, neck length, brown hair and face. It could be considered pretty when not battle scarred. My light brown eyes stare back at me as i check for any noticable wounds. None. My outfit covers any injury. A black dress that i had hidden from fred and a white sweater with black shoes, flats. I had avoided using heels just in case. I unbutton the sweater and tuck in two wooden stakes and a small knife. I open the door and head down to the main room. Four people sit in conversation. I look at them all for a minute. Will with tanned skin and bright blue eyes. Strong and kind. Fred, pale with dark brown hair and eyes. Intellegent and sweet. Melony, a little girl with green eyes and light golden-brown hair. Adorable and knowledgable. Flare, or Jacob, black hair and battle scarred skin. Fierce and protective. I walk over. "Hey Will, we going or not?" I ask, making voice sound impatient. The four of them look up. Fred smiles and winks. Melony grins and runs up, hugging me. Will and flare stare at me until Will stands, looking nice in his suit. "Let's go." We walk out, and i keep one hand close to my sweater, where i put the weapons.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Tiresome

    Too much tedious detail.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    This was good and moved along nicely

    This was a typically good book by J.A. Jance. It moved along nicely.... rather light reading...lighter than some of her others, but it held my interest all the way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Good reading

    The protagonist is not my favorite in Ms Jance's repertoire but this was better than I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ali Reynolds is not a police officer. Nor is she a private inve

    Ali Reynolds is not a police officer. Nor is she a private investigator. And it’s been a long time since she was a journalist. Nevertheless, she undertakes to investigate a murder under the guise of writing a free-lance article in this swashbuckling story which progresses slowly but surely to some sort of conclusion. It is the eighth novel in the series and familiarly follows the customary formula, actually growing out of a predecessor volume in which Ali solved a cyber-stalking crime involving one of the characters, Lynn Martinson, in the present plot.

    Lynn and her boyfriend are arrested on suspicion of murder when his ex-wife is found by a young man, A.J. Sanders, dead from a knife wound. Coincidentally, A.J.’s father is discovered nearby, shot in his head sitting in a car. This is the jumping off point for a more or less improbable plot which comes together in a predictable denouement.

    It’s a fairly straightforward tale, typical of the Ali Reynolds series, except for one surprise at the end. The writing flows and the reader turns pages despite almost knowing what comes next. Be that as it may, one can always enjoy J.A. Jance’s writing, and this is one is recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say that this is the first Ali Reynolds mystery that I

    I have to say that this is the first Ali Reynolds mystery that I have read. I know eight books into a series that there would be a lot of background information that I would be missing out on. As I was reading, I didn’t feel that I needed all that information. It would have helped me understand the main characters actions but wasn’t necessary to the storyline.

    Former reporter Ali Reynolds learns that someone she knows is suspected in the killing of her current boyfriend’s ex-fiance. Lynn Martinson, the suspect and former victim of Richard Lowensdale, who Ali helped bring in. Ali is asked by Lynn’s mother to help her daughter because she knows that someone else was responsible for Gemma Ralston’s murder.

    Not only has Gemma’s body been found but also another man’s body was found not far from her. With the possibility of the two deaths related, the police and Ali try to connect dots that don’t seem to be matching up. And so starts another plot line in Jance’s novel. This one involves a boy named A.J. Sanders whose father was a criminal but who mysteriously shows back up and buys him a car for his 16th birthday and tells him of a secret box that holds the key to paying for his collage. On his quest to find this chest he stumbles upon a woman dying and in the hopes of saving her he sends a text to 911 only to realize if he is found at the crime scene then his mother will find out about his skipping school and his father’s secret stash. A.J. leaves the scene of the crime leaving behind his shovel.

    As the clues keep piling up the reader starts to wonder if this case will ever get solved. With several plot lines weaving in and around each other I was left confused because of the amount of heavy details that seemed to have no reason being added except maybe to confuse the reader, I had to give this a little lower rating. But in the end, this was a nice light mystery read and I think if you are a devoted J.A. Jance fan you won’t be disappointed. I for one will be looking to start this series from the beginning because I want to know more about Ali’s life.

    (I received this audiobook from the publisher at no charge and in no way influenced my review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I have read everyone of J.A.'s books and love the new introduction of Ali Reynolds to the collections. The story line, tension of the mystery and Ali's instincts are the making of a great afternoon's read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Great

    Wonderful author - I love all her books. Suspenseful and unpredictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    J.A. Jance does not disappoint. Her stand alone books or series are entertaining, thrilling, and twisty, never a dull page. This is a most read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    entertaining...good series.

    predictable but very well written...i always enjoy her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Never disappointed when reading one of JA Jance's books.   Looki

    Never disappointed when reading one of JA Jance's books.  
    Looking forward to more of her books; especially the Beaumont series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great book

    Really enjoyed this book. A must read for J.A. Jance fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've been reading J.A. Jance for a number of years, following he

    I've been reading J.A. Jance for a number of years, following her Joanna Brady series, but funnily enough have never read any of the other three series she writes. Her latest book Deadly Stakes is the eighth entry in the Ali Reynolds mystery series.

    The opening chapters of Deadly Stakes were quite detailed (and folksy), filling in the background of many recurring characters and the goings-on in their lives. For someone who hadn't read the series, this was a good way to get to know the players. Ali is a reporter with ties to the police department as a reservist in Sedona, Arizona.

    Ali is asked by the mother of a woman suspected of murdering her boyfriend's ex wife to look into her case. There is a bit of a connection with a past investigation of Ali's and the suspect herself has faith that Ali can help find the truth. The body of the murdered woman was found by a local teenager, who's keeping secrets of his own. And then another body, that of a convicted counterfeiter, is found nearby. Is there a connection between the two bodies?

    Deadly Stakes (and Ali) rely upon a lot of coincidences, timely clues and fortuitous happening to solve the crime. "Wait, I almost forgot." or "You know all this how? A good buddy of mine works for them." Or interviewees 'spilling the beans' to Ali, who is calling herself a freelancer rather than a reporter. I found some of the plot stretched credibility, such as the chief of police asking Ali to investigate on the sly as he had misgivings about the prosecutor.

    One of Jance's strengths is in the building and continuation of her character's lives. I truly do enjoy the Sheriff Joanna Brady character. Maybe it's because I started at the beginning and have followed along with each new entry, but I just find her genuinely likable. I can't say the same for Ali. All the right elements are there, but I just found her grating.

    Deadly Stakes isn't a cozy mystery, but not a difficult whodunit either. It falls somewhere in the middle. I think readers who enjoy Catherine Coulter and Iris Johansen, for example, would enjoy this series.

    Sorry Ali, I really do prefer the Sheriff Brady stories. But, Deadly Stakes was a good book to while away a sleepy Sunday on the couch.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Can't get enough of Ali Reynolds

    Love to see Ali and B taking it to the next level. Another fun read by JA Jance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3