Customer Reviews for

Deadly Vows (Francesca Cahill Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Triumphant Return to the Francesca Cahill Deadly Series

    After five years New York Times bestselling author, Brenda Joyce is finally back with the triumphant return to her Deadly historical mystery series with Book #9, DEADLY VOWS (HQN March 1, 2011). It's June 28, 1902 in New York City and the wedding day of amateur sleuth/heiress, Francesca Cahill to ruthless, debonair millionaire, Calder Hart. However, Francesca gets an urgent message that if she goes to an art gallery she will find her stolen portrait. Since the portrait is of her partially nude it could ruin her and her family if it's made public. So Francesca decides to go to the gallery before her wedding to retrieve it thinking she'll have plenty of time to make it to the church for the ceremony. The portrait is there at the gallery but it's nailed to the wall and someone locks Francesca in so she misses her own wedding. When she is finally rescued, Francesca goes to Calder's mansion and he informs her their engagement is off since he no longer believes she loves him. Calder also suspects Francesca has never gotten over her feelings for his saintly Police Commissioner half-brother and bitter rival, Rick Bragg, even though Rick is already married. However, Rick's marriage to his crippled wife, Leigh Anne is at the breaking point since they are basically estranged and she has taken to drink and drugs to numb her unhappiness. Francesca is determined to win Calder back but equally determined to find her stolen portrait since it's gone missing again from the gallery. So she goes to her good friend, Commissioner Rick for help. This of course gives Hart even more reason to doubt Francesca's love for him but he also decides to help her in any way he can to retrieve her portrait since he commissioned it. With a fantastic cast of beloved characters from this series' previous books and an equally terrific cast of suspects, who have caused trouble in the past, Brenda Joyce pens an absolutely thrilling and complex conclusive to her Deadly series in DEADLY VOWS. In fact, readers will be on the edge of their seats not only to discover who stole the portrait but also to see who Francesca ends up marrying! Well done, Ms. Joyce - WELL DONE INDEED!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Very Pleased

    This story takes place about three weeks after the previous novel, Deadly Kisses, ends. It's June 1902, twenty-one year old Fran and Calder's wedding day and Francesca receives shocking information. That information leads Francesca on the hunt for the missing portrait. For Francesca it's a race against time to find the person(s) responsible for trying to ruin her. It's very hard to not give spoilers so I'll just say that I was very entertained by all the characters and couldn't wait to find out who was behind the theft. What I liked best about this paticular book is that Francesca is the one smack-dab in the middle of her own mystery. There is another crime to solve within this story too and Francesca and the gang do not disappoint!

    It was a very satasifying read and was worth the almost five year wait between this and the previous one. I so hope that there are more to come in this series.

    The books in this series are:

    1 Deadly Love 2001-01
    2 Deadly Pleasure 2002-03
    3 Deadly Affairs 2002-04
    4 Deadly Desire 2002-05
    5 Deadly Caress 2003-04
    6 Deadly Promise 2003-11
    7 Deadly Illusions 2005-02
    8 Deadly Kisses 2006-02
    9 Deadly Vows 2011-03

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy Francesca's latest escapades in maybe (nor not) making it to the altar.

    In 1902 in New York, Francesca Cahill and Calder Hart are getting married in a few hours. However, before the ceremony, Francesca sneaks off to a gallery to see a portrait Hart commissioned. She is locked inside, but by the time she escapes from the gallery, everyone including Hart believes she jilted him. Francesca knows someone set this up, but not who or why.

    Hart refuses to listen to her explanation as he is hurt and humiliated; raging he ends their engagement. Stunned and hurt too, Francesca turns to Hart's half-brother Police Commissioner Rick Bragg for solace at a time when his marriage to Leigh Ann is crumbling. As Francesca ponders who owns her heart, she and Bragg search for who "framed' her and is trying to blackmail her and soon a killer is after her too.

    Though the roller coaster ride for the heroine's relationships and affection continues to the point it feels sort of inane yet due to Brenda Joyce's talent very entertaining as Cahill and the crew work two mysteries as well as the enigma of her heart. Filled with action, dysfunctional relationships (a common thread) and a sense of being in Manhattan at the start of the previous century (once again a fabulous recurring theme), fans will enjoy Francesca's latest escapades in maybe (nor not) making it to the altar.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    i loved the series and read all 9 in a matter of days, but the e

    i loved the series and read all 9 in a matter of days, but the ending is definitely not wrapping things up and I would love to see a conclusion before I die. 3 of these great books came out in a single year and now at the probable, tail end of the series, we are waiting YEARS between single book installments. If you are a book addict that really gets drawn in overtaken by a series, this will leave you ready to explode with a lack of ending in the series so far. I must say again though that this is an excellent read, but the wait is a killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    i love this series. the story lines are interesting and the char

    i love this series. the story lines are interesting and the characters are rich. when will ms. joyce be writing any more books in this series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I was so excited when I realized that there was another "Deadly" book! The story was wonderful with the perfect conclusion for Francesca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loose ends

    I was glad to see Fran finally get her man. There wer just too.many loose ends. Does rick find love? Does evan marry maggie? I feel like i only know half the story, with no promise that i will ever learn the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Brenda Joyce Nails It Again!!

    I'm a huge fan of the Francesca Cahill series. If you're a lover of Old New York as I am, then this series is for you! Brenda Joyce's description of places and life in New York is accurate as she takes you back in time. The tension between the characters keeps you riveted until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Too rushed

    Was not happy with this installent. Too many loose ends and wrap up of the book felt extremely rushed. I felt like the characters obsessed over the same issues page after page. Book 3 was my favorite of the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Another Great Book

    The Deadly Series is one of my favorite series. I was so excited when Brenda came out with another after so long of wait... Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this one I hope you will too.

    Reviewer: Jen
    I am a longtime fan of this series. The 8th book, Deadly Kisses, was originally published back in 2006 (it was re-released this year). The book totally left the reader hanging with the promise of Francesca and Hart's upcoming wedding. But then the publisher put a hold in the series, so fans had to wait five long years for the return of Francesca Cahill. I'm hoping that Deadly Vows isn't the end of the series, however, if it is, I'm glad Brenda Joyce got a chance to resolve the cliff-hanger.


    This series has so many things going for it. I especially enjoy the historical setting of turn of the century (1901) New York City. Francesca is a strong, independent young lady from an influential family, that stumbles into a mystery that throws the doors open on her sheltered life. As the series continues, Francesca has really grown, as a woman, sleuth and as a person. She doesn't let her position in society jade her and she's open to helping anyone who asks for her assistance. She's had a two love interests over the course of the series, and they both play a prominent part in Deadly Vows.


    While this book can stand alone, new readers to the series may be lost with the return of many old characters. In fact, I found myself a little confused with the influx of characters and numerous mentions of past cases and wished I'd re-read the series before tackling this one. If you're looking for a solid mystery series, with a healthy dose of romance, check out this series. Here are the books in order:
    Deadly Love, Deadly Pleasure, Deadly Affairs, Deadly Desire, Deadly Caress, Deadly Promise, Deadly Illusions, Deadly Kisses, Deadly Vows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Love this

    Can not wait for more.... Please dont stop again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3