Customer Reviews for

Deadtown (Deadtown Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I suppose I should go into full detail of the book, but then it would take most of the fun out of reading it, and dispite it's faults, it is a fun read.
The book takes place in a world where the "monsters" of the world have come out of the closet. Conviently at the ...
I suppose I should go into full detail of the book, but then it would take most of the fun out of reading it, and dispite it's faults, it is a fun read.
The book takes place in a world where the "monsters" of the world have come out of the closet. Conviently at the same time a quicksilver disease caused the center of one city to die and be raised as zombies. The "monsters" are finding themselves in ghettoes with no rights beyond that of animals.
For her personal life, I found myself completely unsympathetic to the zombie sidekick, wanting to pound her into the ground and leave her in the sun. Amused by the misunderstanding between her and the 2 men she finds herself attracted to. Her sister needs a good slap in the face. Her roommate is a sort of calm in the storm.
The book starts out with a routine demon extermination and quickly snowballs from there. Reading the book I found myself wondering how she managed to do everything. Visiting with her sister and aunt, rescuing her neice, being cased by a geneticist with an evil plan, and beating her oldest most evil nemesis, not necessarily in any order and certainly not everything that goes on. After all we can't forget the 2 men.
I found this book to be a fun rollercoaster ride, that kept me glued to the page until I finished.

posted by Mustardgirl on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meh

Reviewed for MonsterLibrarian.com

Unlike a lot of urban fantasy Deadtown goes balls out when it comes to racial relations, depicting a world where parahumans have no civil rights and are forced to live in one area of town, to the point where they have to have permit...
Reviewed for MonsterLibrarian.com

Unlike a lot of urban fantasy Deadtown goes balls out when it comes to racial relations, depicting a world where parahumans have no civil rights and are forced to live in one area of town, to the point where they have to have permits to leave that area of town. The lead character is Victory Vaughn, the latest in a recent line of Welsh true shape shifters, and a demon hunter. When one of her clients is found dead Vicky realizes that the Hellion that killed her father is now hunting her. She has to balance her personal life, the scientist that wants to make her a lab rat and protect a client who by all right she should want dead and somehow also find it in herself to stop the demon she fears.
Deadtown has all the makings of a good urban fantasy, but it falls flat in the execution. Most of the characters are either blah, or completely annoying. The world setting is very oppressive, but the plot doesn't revolve around making things better, the characters consistently make choices that are stupid, dangerous and even violent. It's hard to connect with the people in this tale, making it a lackluster example of urban fantasy. Deadtown is not without its charms, so collections that service voracious paranormal readers-or those with no taste for the full-on erotic scenes in other books-will still have a place for Deadtown in their collections.
Contains: Violence, language

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal Start to a New Urban Fantasy!

    This book was highly entertaining and so hilarious at times, that I actually laughed-out-loud.

    Victory Vaughn is Boston's professional demon slayer, who also happens to be a shape shifter. For Vicky being the only professional demon slayer in Boston has it's perks. Since anyone can secretly conjure a personal demon and use them to wage an attack against their enemy; it means the competition's nonexistent and business is booming.

    In this reality paranormals are all out of the closet and demanding civil rights. Nancy Holzner has built a brazenly cruel and corky world where vampires are blood thirsty and cunning, werewolves are full of political ambition, shape shifters are amazingly gifted and zombies are mischievous and ravenous.

    The author did a fantastic job at giving us just a taste of sexual tension, a splash of political intrigue and loads of action, mystery and humor. The author begins the book by hitting the ground running and never slows down. 

    This book has been my most anticipated release for December and I wasn't disappointed.  In fact, the story captured my attention so thoroughly, I completely devoured it and couldn't put it down.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and eagerly and impatiently await the sequel.

    Also checkout a short story prequel to Deadtown called, A Very Zombie New Year by Nancy Holzner on Book Obsessed.   bookobssessed DOT wordpress DOT com/2010/01/01/a-very-zombie-new-year-by-nancy-holzner/.  Since I can't post a link, if you can't follow my indirect link, go to the author's site and get the link from there.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Ms. Holzner, You Had Me at Circus

    The opening scene prepares the reader for a fantastic journey, and the rest of the book does not disappoint. I expected a great, action-packed adventure, something Urban Fantasy offers in spades. What I didn't expect, was to have such a richly developed world, I wanted to get involved with a fight for civil rights. I had to keep telling myself Paranormal Americans don't really exist. Holzner did such an unbelievably wonderful job of stealing me away, I stayed up way past my bedtime to read "just a little more." Between the mad crazy drama of a campaign ad gone horribly wrong, and the incredibly moving struggle Vicki, our heroine, endures for love, family, and her own flirtation with a burning evil inside her, there is no shortage of suspense. I wanted nothing more than to see Vicki triumph, no matter how difficult Tina, her zombie demon-slayer student, made it for her. Rarely does a book offer so much escapism for me. Thank goodness there's a sequel! Deadtown is Urban Fantasy at it's finest!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    They Call It Deadtown

    I originally picked this book up because I had Nancy Holzner as a teacher when I was in High School in Lenox, Massachusetts. She was a fantastic teacher who allowed me to write a term paper on Contact by Carl Sagan, and also allowed our class to choose some of the books we would read in our curriculum that year (I, of course, being the tech nerd that I was, chose some short sci-fi stories by Alfred Bester). When I think back to what I learned in school, I think a lot of her class.

    A friend of mine pointed out that she had written this urban fantasy novel and I was just blown away by how awesome that was. I just had gone through the entire Bobbie Faye series by Toni McGee Causey and of course, the Vampire staple that is Sookie Stackhouse. Seeing as Deadtown was right up my alley, I picked it up and started to read it on the Commuter Rail in Boston when I was visiting another one of Nancy Holzner's old students. It was bizarre, as the Commuter Rail and Boston landmarks were often mentioned in the novel.

    Of course, the moment I picked the book up (about four days ago now), I wasn't really able to put it down. I loved the main character Victory and just couldn't get enough of paranormal area of Boston that Victory lived in.

    The story was so rich with characters and their life stories. In the book, for almost every corner you turned and everywhere that you looked, there was something to see, someone to learn about and some detail to pick up.

    I think I put off reading it because I knew it was a new series and I'd just die of anticipation, waiting for the next book to come out! And of course, I am about ready to explode and I only finished it the other day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining urban fantasy

    The city leaders of Boston set up the ghetto Deadtown to isolate the nonhuman population. The prime cause for the need for this containment zone is the plague that haunted Beantown for several years when thousands died only top come back as intelligent zombies who enjoyed dining on still fresh human meat. Also isolated from mortals are other Paranormal Americans as the EEOC calls vampires, demons, and zombies though these once thought of supernatural species are much more difficult to restrain. Humans who do not have a death wish avoid Deadtown.

    In this undeadly zone, as the only known professional demon slayer Victory Vaughn is interrogated by the Goon Squad, officially called the Human-Paranormal Joint Task Force, over the frying of a client. Afterward she investigates assisted by her First Amendment rights lawyer boyfriend Kane the werewolf and her teenage zombie apprentice Tina; while her sister dormant shapeshifting wife and mother Gwen tells her to get a life. Making the official inquiry into the homicide is BPD Detective Daniel Costello. She believes the deadly hellion demon is free and must die before the city demises in a supernatural bloodbath.

    This is an entertaining urban fantasy that uses the sub-genre to satirize society re conflicting rights during a "crisis" as the atmosphere of Deadtown is a sort of prison ghetto makes the story line work. This feel is accentuated by suburban Gwen who conceals she is a shapeshifter from her neighbors to live in the burbs with her family rather than be locked inside the ghetto like the Jews in Eastern Europe prior to WWII. Although the villain is more a caricature than a flesh and blood (make that rotting flesh or blood drinker) abomination, fans will enjoy this exciting allegorical investigative thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Fast And Fantastic

    This debut fantasy entertains with a combination of vivid characters, witty dialogue, amusing situations, a realistic paranormal world and lots of supernatural action. The narrative is told in the first-person perspective of a feisty, magic-wielding shapeshifter named Victory Vaughn. Vicky makes a living exterminating demons, (primarily with guns and sanctified blades), which range from pesky dream torturing 'drudes' to deadly 'hellions'. The supporting characters include a sorta-boyfriend werewolf attorney who's dedicated to securing full legal rights for all paranormals; a centuries-old vampiric roommate, (named Juliet), who loves to discuss the real story behind 'Romeo and Juliet' and lives to look good while securing nightly 'blood-bag' dates; a 'norm' police detective who loves to flirt; a surly, gangster-talking client who's constantly trying to fire Victory; a sister who wants to erase her shapeshifting heritage while embracing her stay-at-home motherhood; and, an amusing, tag-along teenage zombie who mucks-up just about everything she touches. Most of the action occurs in a present-day, alternative Boston which experienced a downtown plague resulting in thousands of zombified Bostonians, The zombies are both humanized and humorous as they try to lead ordinary lives despite board-like stiffness, superhuman strength, deteriorating flesh, red eyes, voracious appetites and occasional blood lust. The zombies, along with the other parnormals, (e.g., werewolves, vamps and Victory, as Boston's sole 'active' shapeshifter), are required to reside within that plague touched downtown area, which has been cordoned off and become known as "Deadtown." PAs must have a permit to leave Deadtown and some (especially the vamps) regularly visit the 'Combat Zone,' a sleazy, rundown border area where the 'norms' mingle with the monsters. The story-line involves Victory's efforts to confront and kill the 'hellion' demon (called the Destroyer) who murdered her father and threatens to destroy Boston. (The hellion appears to be have been conjured by a sorcerer who breached the witch charmed shield protecting the city.) The plot is fast-paced, twisting, and fun. The only conceivable flaws are the predictability of the sorcerer's identity and the lack of a 'shot-em-up' showdown between Victory and the Destroyer. Nonetheless, the climax is inventive, supernatural and surprising. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a humorous, fun-filled supernatural fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Loved it

    To lazey to write big revew sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2