Customer Reviews for

Deadworld (Deadworld Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Urban Fantasy!

Good chemistry between FBI agent Jackie and Nick the Sheriff vampire. The author does a great job of setting up Deadworld, a in between for the living. I couldn't put this book down. I am very impressed and looking forward to the next book.

posted by pen21 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Having trouble getting through it

I started reading this book about a month ago. I fought to get through the first 132 pages and then I gave up and started reading something else. I still haven't gone back to reading the book. Enough said.

posted by Mandi227 on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Don't Waste Your Time or Money

    Contrary to another review, Deadworld, is to be missed!

    I wanted to like the book and the characters. But in addition to the amateurish writing, I found the characters uninteresting, tedious, and unsympathetic.

    The one thing the main character, Jackie, excels at is self hatred. If it was just herself she was punishing, it would be one thing. But the author has chosen to demonstrate the depth of Jackie's feelings by having her be abusive to her pet cat, Bickerstaff. I'm an animal lover and don't think it's ever acceptable to trivialize the mistreatment of animals.

    There are plenty of fantastic fantasy/sci-fi authors out there. Focus on them and forget about this one.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Having trouble getting through it

    I started reading this book about a month ago. I fought to get through the first 132 pages and then I gave up and started reading something else. I still haven't gone back to reading the book. Enough said.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    what do you do about an unlikeable lead?

    Having an unlikeable b*tch for the lead character doesn't bode well for this series. For most of the book I did not like Jackie. No real person could put up with a someone like her. She's mean, rude, and thoughtless. She drinks too much, has random hook-ups, and punches out a boorish co-worker because he pissed her off. A FBI agent who did what Jackie does would be FIRED. By the end, however, I had hopes that future stories would soften her character enough that I could actually like her. That being said, it was an interesting premise. Someone is killing and draining the blood of people in Chicago. FBI agent Jackie Rutledge and her partner, Laurel (a psychic) are brought in to investigate. This brings them in contact with a private investigator, the sexy Nick Anderson, and his team (a ghost and a vampire). Laurel and Shelby are extremely likeable characters. Nick could have used more development. I never got a really good sense of his character. It's possible that future stories will be better, but I'm not sure I want to spend any more time with Jackie:(

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Decent start to a new series Jackie Rutledge is a Chicago FBI

    Decent start to a new series


    Jackie Rutledge is a Chicago FBI agent. Laurel, her partner of five years, is a psychic. Like any other FBI agent they hunt down and put away bad guys. However, whenever something supernatural is involved then Jackie and Laurel are the team to lead the way.




    When a twelve-yr-old boy is found not just murdered, but drained of blood Laurel says that something evil is going on. Evil and pertaining to Deadworld. Their investigation leads them to a private investigator named Nick Anderson. Nick and his partner Shelby Fontaine know more than what they’re telling Jackie and she intends to get to the bottom of it. But when she finds out the truth will she believe it or dismiss it? And will she survive the coming battle between Nick and the killer?




    As a first book in a new series this isn’t a bad start. Well-written with a fairly fast plot, well-developed characters and an interesting world it keeps the reader engaged to the end. I will say I’m not much of fan of Jackie. Some of her actions are annoying and her personality needs work. I do appreciate that she is a flawed heroine, but she’s really hard to like in this first book. She’s not so bad that I don’t want to continue with the series though and I’m looking forward to reading Book 2, The Vengeful Dead. 




    *Many thanks to Kensington for providing me with a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Boring

    I tried hard to get into this book, but it was just too slow moving. I was bored by page 35 and it didnt get any better. The main female character was not likeable and far too much cursing. Im no prude but it seemed the author was using it to add flavor to the plot line. It needed some oomph but that didnt do it.
    I didnt even finish the book and thats a rarety for me.
    Mad Cricket

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Recommended

    Not quite on par with other books of this jaundra, but still a good read. The action is good and the plot well thought out, but the characters seem thin and need just a little more development. All in all, a good read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Urban Fantasy!

    Good chemistry between FBI agent Jackie and Nick the Sheriff vampire. The author does a great job of setting up Deadworld, a in between for the living. I couldn't put this book down. I am very impressed and looking forward to the next book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy the brisk tour of J.N. Duncan's Deadworld.

    Someone drained the blood of a woman in Wisconsin. Now, an unknown predator drains the blood of twelve years old Archibald Lane, leaving a corpse with bites and a few bruises in a Chicago park. FBI agent Jackie Rutledge leads the investigation in which her psychic partner Laurel sense something paranormal at the murder scene.

    Law enforcement first focuses on private investigator Nick "Sheriff" Anderson as the predator, but Jackie quickly realizes he is innocent. Instead he offers to assist her and Laurel on the bizarre case in which he and his team add to the paranormal peculiarities. Soon the inquiry leads back to over a century ago.

    Because of the paranormal in Chicago, there is an obvious nod to early Dresden, but the respective teammates of Jackie and Nick make for a much different fresh urban fantasy spin. The supernatural investigative story line is fast-paced and contains a strong twist in midstream. The cast is solid as the lead pair and the secondary players are fully developed though more of the highlight film of Nick's 180 years of existence would have been helpful. Sub-genre fans will enjoy the brisk tour of J.N. Duncan's Deadworld.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    S/B captioned "for girls only"

    Chic book wrapped around a pretty cool story. The heroine discovers that vampires are real, her life is in danger and she is concerned about how she looks because of her puffy eyes from crying. Not worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    A Great new book to what looks like the start of a series

    Welcome to Chicago. But be aware, this isn't the modern day Chicago you may know. Have you known Chicago to be tormented by supernatural beings? Is it an every day thing when vampires, psychics and more are part of the FBI, police, and more? In J. N. Duncan's Deadworld, yes, that is the norm.

    The newest case for agent Jackie Rutlidge and partner Laurel is not the every day norm, either. The killings are coming from an evil, angry ghost. And to help them out is Nick Anderson.

    Deadworld is a great modern urban fantasy start to what looks like a new series. The writing is fresh, filled with witty humor, and some dark ghostly situations that kept me engaged and hooked. Urban fantasy is a hot market right now and I feel that Deadworld fits in well, but stands out on it's own, too.

    Like sassy heroines that are great leaders? Deadworld is a book you ma enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A Top Pick from The Romance Reviews

    DEADWORLD heads straight to my "Favorite Urban Fantasy" shelf.

    With shadows of Jim Butcher and James Patterson, J.N. Duncan's FBI agent Jackie Rutledge is one kick-ass heroine I'm going to be following for a while. If you like detective stories with a hint of supernatural, DEADWORLD is not one to be missed. If your adrenaline isn't pumping when you dive into Jackie's world, you've got to be dead.

    Jackie Rutledge is one rough, self-destructive, determined FBI agent with a past I still haven't fully figured out. It would take a team of therapists to work through her "issues". Fortunately for us, she has focused all of her rage and self-loathing on the bad-guys of Chicago.

    Jackie's psychic partner, Laurel, knows there's more out there than meets the eye. Together, the two are no strangers to supernatural crimes. But this latest mystery has both of them in over their heads.

    P.I. Nick Anderson is more than he seems. He's a vampire with a ghost and female vamp as partners. Together, they are trying to track and kill the evil force that has haunted Nick all of his undead life. It looks like Drake is back, and once again he's got killing on his mind.

    The question is if either the FBI or Nick's team will be able to stop him once and for all, or will history repeat itself...again.

    There are so many twists and turns in this book a pretzel maker might even get dizzy. The pacing was amazing, leaving me clutching my book, unwilling to tend to my poor starving and neglected children. With every page, a new facet of the case or the characters was revealed. I loved how the information on Nick and Jackie's pasts, Laurel's hidden secret, Shelby's role in Nick's life and the whole Drake drama leaked out slowly over time. All the little clues made the characters as much a mystery to solve as the mystery plot itself. I'm still in shock that the book was over 400 pages. It flew by only to tease me with a touch of the next book in the series. (Very cruel, Mr. Duncan. Very cruel.)

    Even with a ghost popping in and out of scenes, vampires holding all the cards and psychic energy flowing like the mighty Mississippi, DEADWORLD didn't feel overly supernatural. When I step into Sookie's world, it seems almost like a different planet. Black Dagger Brotherhood, Night Huntress and Mercedes Thomson all have that overwhelming supernatural aura dominating the world building. DEADWORLD, on the other hand, seemed more like the world I've grown up in with a little "whoops, guess what?" thrown in on the side. At a time when I find myself choosing more and more contemporary fiction, this was a perfect balance of reality vs. fantasy.

    Jim Butcher fans, Riley Jenson fans, Sookie Stackhouse fans, fans of the mystery or paranormal, you have to pick up DEADWORLD and see what I mean. Just make sure the kids are fed and the fridge is stocked. It's tough to stir and read at the same time. Trust me ladies and gents, this one is a keeper. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Bella

    Im a female my names Isabella and my fav scary story is.........The Big Toe.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    This was a very enjoyable read. Jack is the tough as nails, butt

    This was a very enjoyable read. Jack is the tough as nails, butt kicking cop. She has had a hard life and it only gets harder in this book. This book was captivating and I look forward to reading the next one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I liked it. The book gripped me within the first few pages and h

    I liked it. The book gripped me within the first few pages and has held my attention since. It may not be as witty as Jim Butcher or as sexy as Lynsay Sands, but it is a first novel, and still developing the characters. I will certainly read the next to see where the series goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    blah

    This book is slow and took to long to get to anything interesting kept falling asleep and getting stuck reading the same lie over and over :( Didn't like it at all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Quite a page turner...cannot wait to read the rest of the Deadwood series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    A little too much

    A good story, but a little too much bete noir (sorry, not hunting for the proper symbols).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    IF YOU LIKE VAMPIRE BOOKS READ IT

    I really liked it. It isn't like what J.R. Ward writes, but it is a very good vampire book. Especially if you like to read vampire books, so please get the book. Besides the E-BOOK is FREE, so what do you have to lose, except some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book has all the things I look for in a book - interesting characters, fast moving, well connected. It was the kind of book I hate to set down. Finished this one and ordered the next book . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Recommended if...

    This has it all - vampires, ghosts, murder, mystery, and a little physco stuff to boot. I enjoyed the book but you have to love the strange to enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5