Customer Reviews for

Deadworld

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Urban Fantasy!

Good chemistry between FBI agent Jackie and Nick the Sheriff vampire. The author does a great job of setting up Deadworld, a in between for the living. I couldn't put this book down. I am very impressed and looking forward to the next book.

posted by pen21 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Having trouble getting through it

I started reading this book about a month ago. I fought to get through the first 132 pages and then I gave up and started reading something else. I still haven't gone back to reading the book. Enough said.

posted by Mandi227 on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy the brisk tour of J.N. Duncan's Deadworld.

    Someone drained the blood of a woman in Wisconsin. Now, an unknown predator drains the blood of twelve years old Archibald Lane, leaving a corpse with bites and a few bruises in a Chicago park. FBI agent Jackie Rutledge leads the investigation in which her psychic partner Laurel sense something paranormal at the murder scene.

    Law enforcement first focuses on private investigator Nick "Sheriff" Anderson as the predator, but Jackie quickly realizes he is innocent. Instead he offers to assist her and Laurel on the bizarre case in which he and his team add to the paranormal peculiarities. Soon the inquiry leads back to over a century ago.

    Because of the paranormal in Chicago, there is an obvious nod to early Dresden, but the respective teammates of Jackie and Nick make for a much different fresh urban fantasy spin. The supernatural investigative story line is fast-paced and contains a strong twist in midstream. The cast is solid as the lead pair and the secondary players are fully developed though more of the highlight film of Nick's 180 years of existence would have been helpful. Sub-genre fans will enjoy the brisk tour of J.N. Duncan's Deadworld.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A Top Pick from The Romance Reviews

    DEADWORLD heads straight to my "Favorite Urban Fantasy" shelf.

    With shadows of Jim Butcher and James Patterson, J.N. Duncan's FBI agent Jackie Rutledge is one kick-ass heroine I'm going to be following for a while. If you like detective stories with a hint of supernatural, DEADWORLD is not one to be missed. If your adrenaline isn't pumping when you dive into Jackie's world, you've got to be dead.

    Jackie Rutledge is one rough, self-destructive, determined FBI agent with a past I still haven't fully figured out. It would take a team of therapists to work through her "issues". Fortunately for us, she has focused all of her rage and self-loathing on the bad-guys of Chicago.

    Jackie's psychic partner, Laurel, knows there's more out there than meets the eye. Together, the two are no strangers to supernatural crimes. But this latest mystery has both of them in over their heads.

    P.I. Nick Anderson is more than he seems. He's a vampire with a ghost and female vamp as partners. Together, they are trying to track and kill the evil force that has haunted Nick all of his undead life. It looks like Drake is back, and once again he's got killing on his mind.

    The question is if either the FBI or Nick's team will be able to stop him once and for all, or will history repeat itself...again.

    There are so many twists and turns in this book a pretzel maker might even get dizzy. The pacing was amazing, leaving me clutching my book, unwilling to tend to my poor starving and neglected children. With every page, a new facet of the case or the characters was revealed. I loved how the information on Nick and Jackie's pasts, Laurel's hidden secret, Shelby's role in Nick's life and the whole Drake drama leaked out slowly over time. All the little clues made the characters as much a mystery to solve as the mystery plot itself. I'm still in shock that the book was over 400 pages. It flew by only to tease me with a touch of the next book in the series. (Very cruel, Mr. Duncan. Very cruel.)

    Even with a ghost popping in and out of scenes, vampires holding all the cards and psychic energy flowing like the mighty Mississippi, DEADWORLD didn't feel overly supernatural. When I step into Sookie's world, it seems almost like a different planet. Black Dagger Brotherhood, Night Huntress and Mercedes Thomson all have that overwhelming supernatural aura dominating the world building. DEADWORLD, on the other hand, seemed more like the world I've grown up in with a little "whoops, guess what?" thrown in on the side. At a time when I find myself choosing more and more contemporary fiction, this was a perfect balance of reality vs. fantasy.

    Jim Butcher fans, Riley Jenson fans, Sookie Stackhouse fans, fans of the mystery or paranormal, you have to pick up DEADWORLD and see what I mean. Just make sure the kids are fed and the fridge is stocked. It's tough to stir and read at the same time. Trust me ladies and gents, this one is a keeper. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Bella

    Im a female my names Isabella and my fav scary story is.........The Big Toe.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    IF YOU LIKE VAMPIRE BOOKS READ IT

    I really liked it. It isn't like what J.R. Ward writes, but it is a very good vampire book. Especially if you like to read vampire books, so please get the book. Besides the E-BOOK is FREE, so what do you have to lose, except some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book has all the things I look for in a book - interesting characters, fast moving, well connected. It was the kind of book I hate to set down. Finished this one and ordered the next book . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Emjoyed it...

    It has you thinking outside the boxed normal vamp story.which is refreshing love the brashness but intelligence of jack..pleasently looking for the next in the series..ty for once something offkilter but thrilling also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    dead

    it was a fun bookto read. cant wait to get ny hands on the second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1