Customer Reviews for

Dear Emily

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    As always another great read from Fern Michaels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    A waste of time

    I love to read. I like Fern Michaels. I hated this book. I "borrowed" it from the library for my Nook. I thought there was potential for a good read but I was so disappointed. I actually "returned" it the the E-library before reading the whole book. The lead character was one of the most annoying that I have come accross. She was so outrageous and so unrealistic in so many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Not Your Usual Fern Michaels :(

    I never write a bad review. I usually feel that someone else can at least get something out of a book even if I can't. I'm not sure this is the case with "Dear Emily". This was a waste of valuable time. I kept reading as I just knew "Dear Emily" would at some point learn a valuable lesson, have an aha moment, or grow some brains in her head. At the end of the book now I still don't know what the point was. Choppy writing, fast forwarding by years and forcing too many charactures with too little info was very irritating. Ugh! How frustrating to have a characture with such great concepts and ideas, such potential for greatness, but continue to be so amazingly down on themselves and just plain boring. This is one of those books where you keep thinking the next chapter will reveal something good. The writing will get bettter. Perhaps the characture will grow as time passes. No. It never happens. If you are considering "Dear Emily" because you are a Fern Michaels fan, reconsider. This is not her usual writing style or story. A total FAIL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Not worth your time

    I have read other books by Fern Michaels and have enjoyed them - good easy reads. Dear Emily, however, was a poorly put together book with the main character possessing quite annoying character flaws. She referred/spoke to herself as "Emily Thorn" about once per page, and was a dithering whining person whom I failed to care about. I cared more about the supporting characters than about Emily, who made it a practice to run away from, or yell at those she "loved" (and for some reason, she had many people who loved her). I completed the book only because I was hoping for Emily to have some metamorphosis, or for her to hopefully recognize that she had many people in her life supporting her.
    I must also mention the quite poorly executed writing in this book as well. The dialogue was often quite difficult to follow, and the all of the characters would jump from one topic or feeling to another in the course of a conversation with no rhyme,reason, or connection. It made for a very odd read at times.
    While the plot had a good premise and promising storyline that may could relate to, the odd style (45 years old is apparently over-the-hill to Fern Michaels) and annoying main character made this a laborious read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2