Customer Reviews for

Dear John

Average Rating 4.5
( 3162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1783)

4 Star

(750)

3 Star

(383)

2 Star

(142)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nick Sparks can't miss!

Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can...
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part...
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

posted by BookCatTF on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 159
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Spectacular

    I loved this book. It was heart-breakingly beautiful! I love Nicholas Sparks works. He makes you feel the characters and their emotions. His voice is portrayed wonderfully in this book. Its almost as if he was the main character and he went through all this pain.
    The book wasn't cheesy it didn't evolve two of which of the differnt gender having each other in the bed, at all times. It was sweet and sentimental. And another thing (which I loved) is that you could feel the pain and heart-break.
    I cried so much through this book. I couldn't put it down. I had to know; was she going to take him? (Or) Was she going to leave him...?
    The only main problem I had about it was, it was so sad!! I hated the ending but at the same time I loved it! This story was painful to read and you might never think twice to read it again but, it was one of the greatest love story I ever read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Amazing

    Barely on the 3rd page and already crazy in love with this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    The best book of Sparks

    I've read this book a couple of years ago, and until now, whenever i'm asked what's my favorite of all the books i've read, this is the first thing that comes to my mind. The book is far better than the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Another winner! I have only started reading Sparks' books this y

    Another winner! I have only started reading Sparks' books this year and I'm hooked! It's hard to say which one is better than the other but this one is definitely up there! Yes some parts were predictable but the story in itself was great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Enjoyed the Book More than the Movie

    This is one case where I saw the movie first and then read the book. It is usually the other way around for me. I defidently prefer the book version rather than the movie version. I liked that the book had a better plot around some of the main characters than the movie did. I love Nicholas Sparks attention to detail and how he describes the places that the books are taking place at. He is a gifted writer who never disappoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    This book is qmazing! I usually dont read books more than once or twice but iv read Dear John atleast 6 times! It was so well written that even after reading so often i still cant put it down until i finish it! AMAZING BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it!


    !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    AMAZING

    Best book i haave ever readdd, could not put it down!!!!! OBSESSEED!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Grab the tissues!

    If your in for a heartbreaker than this book is for you. This is an unforgettable book that tells you what love really means and how far you will go to have it. At points it was hard not to cry.
    Not knowing what he wanted to do with his life John Tryee a rebel joined the army after high school. To him at the time he really didn't consider that he had a family. His mom had left him and his dad when he was a year old. All his dad ever talked about was his coin collection and as you can imagine John got tired of it, so they weren't close. On a leave John meets Savannah and they fall in love. During his leave Savannah encourages him to talk to his father. He and his father become as close as ever. When it is time to go he promises Savannah something that he hopes to keep. They sent letters and called each other but it was never the same. They became distant. When something happens to John's father he must come home, but what comes after that will surprise everyone.
    This truly is a great book. This was the first Nicholas Sparks book I have read and now I can see why everybody loves him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My review for Dear John

    From the begining to the end the book was amazing. When i read the first paragraph of the prologue i fell in love with the book already. It is the best romance novel. This book made me cry and really see how much love means to one person. "You don't know what you've got until it's gone." That quote really fits into this story. This was a great book and you will definitly like this book if you love romance. I am totally looking forward to reading more Nicholas Sparks books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :'(

    Good book people. This novel was on my mind when I didn't have time to read it, when I was taking breaks, and muchh after I read it. Its been months, but still the memory of going through those pages is fresh. I recommend this book to people of both genders. It is truly an amazing book, the characters are likable and easy to relate with. I will forever keep it in my library to refer back to it. Read this if you haven't discovered this authors brilliance already!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    Dear John was such a touching book. Though the ending was a little disappointing and I wish so much that it was much happier I fell deeply for this book. Nicholas Sparks is such a phenominal writer and this novel is no exception to his excellence. One day maybe I can write a best seller like this that makes people feel for their characters. Anyone reading this review should stop right now and BUY THE BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    The ending was a waste

    I really didn't enjoy the ending at all!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Another one to make you cry

    This was another heartbreaker, but I kept hoping it would be different.
    We were kept in the dark about it--just maybe????

    The story was interesting, touching, and lets you have a good cry, but a happy cry, too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    Dear John

    Being from military background myself.. I can definitely empathize with the characters in this book. Dear John is a well written suspenseful romantic. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and Touching

    This book began like a love story of just relationships and summer love. But as the I read on it became about love on all the different levels. Especially between parent and child. I am not a parent yet but this gives great insight to how a parent feels and wants for their child. Also how no matter what you have someone that loves you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    Review For Dear John

    Nicholas Sparks is known for writing love stories, Dear John being one of the. It was an extraordinary boo, I would recommend this book to those who find it fascinating reading about young romance. Dear John is full of suspence, romance, tragedy and full of situations that happen on a daily bases. A lot of people can relate to Savannah ( one of the main characters) because of the war going on. In the book, the war is very important, war leads to dead soldiers and civilians, but most importantly it causes change in our lives forever, whether it be big or small. Sometimes change is for the better and other times it is not. Savannah and Tim experience a good change, while John goes through challenges in life alone. Yet in the end, the meaning of true love is indicated, with the simple question "What does it mean to truly love another?" (pg. 1) Nicholas Sparks does a nice job enhancing the power of the relationship between John and Savannah as realistic as possible. Their love is so real that just by reading the book it seems as if you're reading their minds or as if you're their with them . although it may have an unexpected ending, it makes you realize that life is not always a fairytale; not everything in life has a happy ending.

    By: Dayyan Alban

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crushing!!

    Like all Nicholas Spark books this ones amazingly well written!! It kept you right in the middle of it all!! I have never cried for a book like I cried for Dear John!! It was deeply sad and bittersweet!! If your not ready for a tear jerker you better just put it down!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    The Letter that Changed Everything.

    I would highly recommend this book too anyone! It's a great book. I would especially recommend this book to anyone that has had experience with being in the military or having friends or family in the military. This book is about a boy who joins the army at a young age. Then when he came home for a visit he fell in love with a girl he met on the beach, and he only had a two weeks visit. He soon had to leave her. It was a sad but also a very good book, that's why I would recommend to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Your Thumb Is Never As Big As the Moon

    John is in a tight spot, caught up in unexpected romance. It's all about romance and adventure. Dear John has a army, and relationship theme. A army rector John, heads in to the army, thinking romance never happens. John goes to his fathers home when coming for break When he is there he meets a girl named Savannah, and spends every moment with her. Growing to love her forgetting soon he will have to go back to the army. I enjoyed this book, because it goes into so much d5etail, and relates to everyday life. It's adventurous and still romantic, my favorite things to read. It can relate to everyday life which is what I like about it. Dear John is probably the best book I have read, you can picture it in your mind so easy. I think any adult or teen would enjoy reading it, even if you don't like to read, you will grow to love it, and read for hours. The characters are what bring the book to life, and make it so much better,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 159