Customer Reviews for

Dear John

Average Rating 4.5
( 3156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1778)

4 Star

(750)

3 Star

(382)

2 Star

(142)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nick Sparks can't miss!

Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can...
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part...
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

posted by BookCatTF on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 159
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    A little disappointing

    I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

    43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nick Sparks can't miss!

    Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life is unexpected!

    I have read just about every novel Nicholas Sparks has written. Even though I've enjoyed and loved them all, Dear John was different. Dear John was by far one of Spark's best work. He created dynamic characters and I enjoyed discovering their personalities and lifestyles. The path Spark's chose to lead him to the ending of this novel was amazing.

    John Tyree was a teenage rebel raised by a father who wasn't capable of showing affection. He grew up misunderstanding his father and ultimately blaming him for certain aspects of his life. One evening he realizes he's been throwing his life away. After a couple days of pondering, John decides to join the army. This was the biggest decision of his life and it truly defined him. The army turned him into the wonderful man he has become.

    Somewhere along the way John met Savannah. Their time together was limited. She was working on building a house as part of Habitat for Humanity and he was returning to duty in two weeks. Their relationship started out as friendship but quickly evolved into much more. They had found in each other something they hadn't been able to find with anyone else. They found love.

    John returns to the army vowing to return for Savannah. Savannah too vows to wait for John. The distance strengthened their relationship until John broke his promise. His actions were reasonable but the damage they caused was life altering. His decision to re-enlist after 9/11 prolonged the beginning of John's live with Savannah. It simply became too much to handle. The distance between them began to weaken their relationship and there was nothing either of them could do but watch it begin to fall apart. It wasn't what either of them expected or wanted, it came unwelcomed. Neither John nor Savannah could prevent it and it tore them apart from each other.

    Even though Dear John had a bittersweet ending, it was the proper ending. This novel is worth reading over and over and over again. I've read it twice and even though I know and understand the ending, I can't help but wish their story never ended.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Dear John, an amazing story.

    I really enjoyed the book. I thought it was a sweet love story. I would read it again and again if I wouldn't cry every time. The plot was nice. Some parts you could see coming from miles away but other parts just surprised me like a surprise party. The characters, John Tyree and Savannah Lynn Curtis, were described very well. I felt that if I saw them walking on a sidewalk somewhere I would know exactly who they were. I love romance stories so I loved this book. Nicholas Sparks' is a wonderful writer. I could feel the love, hurt, and sadness they had for each other. I could see some parts so well it almost felt like I was there. Like the part when John's dad is in the hospital dying, it felt like I was there. I could see every expression on everyone's faces by the way Nicholas described their emotions or their personality. I liked the setting because it's so realistic. This story could actually happen in real life. A guy and a girl can fall in love then the guy can be called to go to the war, then when he comes back and everything changes. The beach was a good place for them to meet because they learned a lot about each other there, like they both are good surfers and John knew the most unique restaurants. My opinion of the book is everyone that likes romance novels should read this. It's my favorite book. Over all I really loved this book. It was romantic, heart breaking, and realistic. It was one of the best books I've ever read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book by Nicholas Sparks

    Nicholas Sparks is great at what he does. I couldn't put this book down. Although it doesn't end the way I was hoping, it's still a great book and shows how strong love is and what people will do for the ones they love. You may be disappointed if you like all books to have a happy ending where the boy gets the girl. I can't wait for the movie... I think Channing Tatum will do a great job portraying John.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    One of my favorite books ever!

    I could not put down this book from the moment I started. The story was easy to read, and it kept my interest throughout. It was touching and romantic. I have read several books by Nicholas Sparks and this is definitely my favorite. I highly recommend this book if you want a touching, romantic, wonderful "feel good" story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Melancholy

    I have to say that I had to push myself through this book. Considering the prologue, which sets the mood of the story and basically gives away the ending, I was right...this is a sad, melancholy story filled with regret, miss opportunities and gloom.

    This is the story of two young lovers who, because of circumstance and life's decisions, and in fact, due to love itself, never quite seem to find happiness. After awhile, I just had to say to myself, "John, grow up, move on, cheer up, and quit whining!"

    If you're into a rainy-day read and a good boo-hoo (and characters who spend their whole life feeling sorry for themselves), then this is the book for you. If not, find a cheerier read.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Mesmerizing.

    Dear John is a superbly written novel. Sparks being one of my favorite authors, never disappoints novel after novel. This happens to be a favorite. The plot is beautifully thought out, but never predictable, I find myself shocked at some events, you'd think there would be a fairytale ending, that true love would still exist despite anything in the world. Myself being only 13,found that the novel sort of grows you up, or should I say matures you? I found myself at the end having a different perspective on certain things. At the end of each page, I'd find myself rereading bits and pieces of my favorite parts, tearing with every word. I felt whatever emotion John & Savannah felt, I felt the pain and every struggle they went through, yes it sounds cheesey but it seriously engages you. I cried countless times reading this novel, but just couldn't seem to put down the book. Just hoping that they would somehow be back together again. The ending is not happy nor sad, it's rather neutral. It leaves you in tears, and butterflies in your stomach wanting more & more.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I COULDN'T FINISH IT.

    I'm an avid reader and usually patient to let a story develop, but I was bored beyond words. If I was a teenager, I probably would have enjoyed this. I felt like both characters were immature and the story didn't hold my attention. It may have gotten better, but almost halfway through it, I was still bored and had no desire to finish it.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WHY ISN'T THIS NICHOLAS SPARKS NOVEL A MOVIE ?!?

    I thoroughly enjoyed Nicholas Sparks' "Dear John" (2006)! I bought it to take with me on a short trip that I wanted something engaging to read during my 'down time'. However, it was SO good that, having made the mistake of starting it early, I finished it before my departure on the trip! It drew my interest so quickly and completely that I, quite obviously, had trouble putting it down. It is another masterpiece by Sparks. I appreciate how the story is told in first person narrative in a manner that had me both admiring and admonishing the protagonist. You cannot help but get drawn into this very realistic life saga of these two young lovers and, in so doing, get a little glimpse of yourself. After all, isn't that what we relish in the best of fiction? It's a quick and engaging read that allows for volumes of introspection and evaluation of life's decisions. Life is seldom easy and love is, as Sparks so succinctly reminds us, no exception. Another triumph for this gifted author. Thank you, Mr. Sparks!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So good it should become a movie!!

    I was never much of a reader until one day I opened up this book. I never thought you could cry over reading a book but booooy I was wrong...I cried like a baby...especially the part when Savannah wrote John that farewell letter he read on the plane :( it touched me so much like I was there cause I to was a military wife & felt that intense feeling when husband/bf at the time left to basic training. I couldnt put this book down. Id have to be up for work at 630am & found myself still reading till 2am with my back aching lol! but this book is sooo worth it. Nicholas Sparks can write let me tell ya :) I hope this book makes it in theaters asap. Truly my fave book ever. I recommend it ;)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Read the book then watch the movie

    This is a fantastic book. I love the fact that it written from John's view. That makes it that much more of a love story. I like the bookending just as much as the movie ending Its a great love story that quite possible could be real life. Nicholas is great writer, can wait to see what he writes next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nickolas Sparks is one of a kind!

    Warning this is a review on the book not the movie. Yes the movie was kind of sweet and romantic but it in no way came close to the intensity that was described in the book.
    John was a out of control teenager going no where real quick, so he decided that he needed the military. Savannah a good christian girl that falls madly in love with a soldier. Of course they decide to wait for each other and of course the distance and time proved to be too much to handle. The plot is common the writing is not.
    Nickolas Sparks writes with so much ease. The words and the thoughts just flow easily. I just couldn't put the book down.
    The romance and the love that John and Savannah share was sweet and it never got rated R; which means this book is for everybody.
    I haven't decided if I like the ending. No matter how much I wanted for John and Savannah to live happily ever after, they didn't. John technically saved Tim's, Savannah's husband, life and ensured that Savannah would live a life time of happiness with Tim. Romantic right? It's not the ending I wanted and of course it is not the ending the movie accepted. I hate that John ended up alone. That is only thing about the movie that I hated. I'm a sucker for happy endings, but I still recommend this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    The most amazing book ever

    This is the most amazing book i have ever read. Dear John is fully written in exquisite detail and give vivid images of how Savannah and John truley feel about eachother. This is a bittersweet love novel that kept me at the edge of my seat throughout the whole journey. Nicholas Sparks is an excellent author. I look foward to his other books as well. I recommend this book to everyone. You wont regret buying this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    One of the most emotional books I've ever read!

    I don't think I've ever read a book that's made me cry and hurt as much as this one. I honestly felt the pain of both John and Savannah. While the beginning of the book seemed a little boring, it was worth it. And knowing all those details were important to the rest of the story. Though this was a very sad story, it was by far one of the best books I've ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Great book even if you don't like reading

    this love story had my heart and me in tears the whole time reading. i like how john always had savanahh in his heart the whole time in the war and tried to keep his promises. very touching and i think everyone can relate to somethings in this story even if its not the big picture.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful story.

    This book is a quick read. Nicholas Sparks weaves a love story with multiple layers. A real tear jerker in an unexpected way. In true multi-layer fashion, it amkes you smile too!

    I wanted to read this story before the movie was released. I cannot wait to see the movie to see if it stays true to the book. If it does, it is sure to be a multiple hanky movie.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Dear John is one of my favorite books!

    I usually don't like to read and i read this book in less than a week and i was crying by the end. It is a romantic love story that will keep you reading for hours.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    One of Nicholas Sparks best writes!

    I absolutely loved this book!!!!! I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan and I've found that many of his books have great love stories and twists of fate. This book however, touches every aspect of True Love, Friend Ship and what you're willing to do for the one you love. This story for me ranks right up there with "The Notebook" and "A Walk to Remember". This is truly one of his best books ever and is truly one of a kind. I guarantee you'll need a box of tissues for this read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Dear Nicholas

    Your book is amazing! I am the type of person who will get caught up in books of my interests easily. Your book had me hooked in the first few chapters! Keep writing because not just I, but millions of people, I'm sure, love your writings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 159