Customer Reviews for

Dear John

Average Rating 4.5
( 3167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1787)

4 Star

(750)

3 Star

(384)

2 Star

(142)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nick Sparks can't miss!

Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can...
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part...
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

posted by BookCatTF on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I COULDN'T FINISH IT.

    I'm an avid reader and usually patient to let a story develop, but I was bored beyond words. If I was a teenager, I probably would have enjoyed this. I felt like both characters were immature and the story didn't hold my attention. It may have gotten better, but almost halfway through it, I was still bored and had no desire to finish it.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Sex?

    Do they have sex scenes in this......? Because my mum wont let me read it if it does..... :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Dear john

    It is very stupid and toooi sad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Dear John

    This book was a waste of money and time. The characters are hollow and the story is uninteresting (in my opinion). Nicholas Sparks is just not a great author. I have never enjoyed his stories.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Dear john book

    I hated thus book.period. hiw could u make a book so horrid? You get iur hipes up that uts gonn be a happy ending but it doesnt and the movie has a whole different ending! YOU WANNA KNOW WHY? Its because ppl dont dont want to waste theur time watching a horrible movie like this book!!!all if ur boojs have bad endings. Just like a walk tremember....it waas a good book sorta till she DIES!!!! DONT U THINK PPL HAVE ENOUGH DEATH IN THEIR LIFE ...... then u have to o and mke a book about it...i would have rathered u made one about suicide

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BLECH!!!!!!!!

    I find this book stupid. The only reason I gave it a star was because I have to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    I like the start of this novel.

    I have given up on N Sparks novels. I read ti escape the real world and this novel had such a way of making real life readable with a happy ending. Thank god the screenwriters gave it a twist to make you feel they had the happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Worst book I've ever read!

    I was reading other reviews of this book and one entitled "Great book if you don't like reading" was a particular standout. It's the perfect way to describe this book. I can't understand this genre of novel. I was completely against Sparks and his "Chic lit" before ever reading one of his books. I came to decide it wasn't fair to judge an author or his books before reading any of them and everyone said this one was "soooo good". Within the first chapter I was pissed that I spent $4 on the ebook. The characters are annoying and underdeveloped, they "fall in love" before you even see any development in their relationship and the writing is TERRIBLE! Everytime John sits down to eat he "doesn't realize how hungry he was until he smelled the aroma of the food." You can use that line once, not every time the character eats. Horrible. Don't waste your time! If you want to read real romance, read Jane Austen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Not classic Sparks

    Let me begin this review by stating that I have read several Nicholas Sparks books and while they are sometimes a bit histrionic or antediluvian, they ALWAYS present characters that the reader roots for from beginning to end. They are also romantic and touching. This book was NOTHING like my past favorites. The plot had so much potential, but became overwrought and extremely predictable. The characters were not very likeable. The book also seemed a bit preachy at points, unrealistic in its representation of how pure and virtuous their love affair was purported to be. I was bored after reading about a quarter of the book and only forced myself to finish it in case it picked up in the end, like another Sparks book that I struggled through, The Wedding. It did not. While this will certainly not deter me from reading more Nicholas Sparks in the future, I am extremely disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Note

    Story included in condensed version of 4 novels<BR/>"Selection Editions" by Readers Digest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    disappointing

    I have read Nicholas Sparks' other books and they were great. This one was horrible, I never connected with the main characters and in the beginning when they talked about him watching her, I got the feeling he was a stalker. It creeped me out and I should have put the book down then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    Not very good at all

    I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan and always have been. However this book truly didn't live up to my expectations of it. The story line seemed rushed first of all. I found the writing to be boring as well, the dialogue was repetive and lacked very much depth. To me it seemed like he had just pasted together various parts from some of his other books and given it a new title. I think the concept of the storyline was amazing, but the voice given to it just made it bland and unenjoyable. I would pick one of his other novels anyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6