Customer Reviews for

Dear John

Average Rating 4.5
( 3155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1778)

4 Star

(750)

3 Star

(381)

2 Star

(142)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nick Sparks can't miss!

Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can...
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part...
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

posted by BookCatTF on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    A little disappointing

    I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

    43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    bleh.disappointing

    it was not what i had in mind...i'm not sure i even want to go see the movie. For me it lacked conflict, romance, and plot. it disappointed me. this book does not compare to previous books by sparks. nothing happened...it was boring..and unreal?!.... what a letdown.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    LAST SONG

    What a boring and slow read. Whats up. Nr. Sparks book are not as goid as they had bee a few years back. His older book were great. Was my favorite author. Not now.....will not be purchasing any more of his book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    This is the first Nicholas Sparks book that I have read and was

    This is the first Nicholas Sparks book that I have read and was pretty disappointed. I know the story was about John and Savannah but I got more attached to the story with John and his father. Hoping that the next one I read is better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Cool

    Go channing tatum!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Not Again

    Did not like it at all. At first I was hopeful but as the story dragged on I grew bored. It is also very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A

    Good book, but the movie isnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    Unlikeable Characters

    I like books with characters that are believable and in a romance, likable. Neither the leading lady nor gentleman are up to par in this one. Savannah is somewhat snotty and has a poor-me attitude while John is all talk and no action. Yucky, not a good book. I also agree with other reviewers who note that the first 3/4ths of the book is exceedingly boring while the conclusion is painfully predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Love Nicholas Sparks but not this book

    I have read several Nicholas Sparks books and have enjoyed them all very much. I got hooked when I read The Notebook and have been very happy ever since reading his work, until Dear John. The character development in this book is great, however some of the decisions the characters make don't seem to match the created personalities. These decisions create the plot twist, so I am sure that is why it was needed but it just didn't seem to fit in my opinion.

    I also have another issues, I don't want to spoil any of the book so I am going to keep this as vague as possible. Towards the end, there is a medical issue and I feel that the treatment is too easy, things like that don't happen very often in real life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Overrated

    My sister recommended this book to me. After reading this novel, I haven't the faintest clue why. I didn't find it emotionally affective and I didn't feel very involved with the characters. I thought the plot was predictable. I did finish the book, but only to fill my idle time. Not very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Not what I expected to Read.

    This was a cute read. The story plot, about a once troubled army man who finds his one true love and makes him change for the better. However it was not what I expected. Although a romance novel it has a very sad ending. The characters did not end up together, although in the book it explains why and shows that they should have. If you want to read a book that will make you think true love has a chance do not read this one. This one just made me sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I hope the movie is better...

    I read this book because I knew the movie was coming out. I always like to read the book first. I really didn't care for it. It was predictable and I feel that the love story wasn't as deep as his other novels. It could have been better...I hope the movie is better, I mean Channing Tatum, that's good for me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Meh

    I had higher hopes for N. Sparks when reading this novel. About halfway through i had to close the book because the main characters choices really bothered me. The idea is sweet, and romantic. But after all is said and done i was left disappointed and aggrivated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i got so dissapointed with this book

    i read almost all Nicholas Sparks's books, this it the least book that i like. it was a good story, but didnt give me all that excitement as the others one. i didnt like how it turns out the end and few things were just predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Not Impressed

    This is the first Nicholas Sparks book i have read. I wad intrigued to read it as i saw the Note Book movie and loved it. I was expecting much much more from this book. This book was quite boaring for me, and the ending.... my response to that was "that's it?" I doubt that i will read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blah

    A soap opera and very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    The movie was better

    The book was very intriguing til the end. It's like the main character gave up. I understand he was doing the right thing, but watching them afterward seemed a little much like he was soo obsessed he decided to silently stalk him. At least in the movie there was hope. I read it once, don't think I'll read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Dear John...Lacking

    I am a fan of The Notebook and thought this might be Nicholas Sparks next epodimic Love Story, I was wrong. While not everyone can have a fairy taile ending like Noah and Allie in The Notebook, I found myself skimming through some of this book, as he seem to add more "filler" information than anything else. I have not seen the movie yet...hopefully it will better than the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    To Much of the Same

    I felt that the book was trying to hard to be romantic. You could guess what was going to happen as you were turning the next page! No suspense anywhere. There was a nice side story with John and his father and Tim and his brother, but other than that wasn't a page turner for me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wouldnt consider it a lov story!

    I am a huge Sparks fan haven read his past book,were always a thrill.But this one i found nothing,but a great father and son story, I love the friendship bettween John and Tim,but Savannah was nothing but a character that i wasn't particularly fond of, in fact i often disliked her....INot one i recomend, I loved a Walk to Remember,or The notbook way better :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8