Customer Reviews for

Dear John

Average Rating 4.5
( 3158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1779)

4 Star

(750)

3 Star

(383)

2 Star

(142)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Nick Sparks can't miss!

Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can...
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!

posted by SHARON39 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part...
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)

posted by BookCatTF on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 750 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WHY ISN'T THIS NICHOLAS SPARKS NOVEL A MOVIE ?!?

    I thoroughly enjoyed Nicholas Sparks' "Dear John" (2006)! I bought it to take with me on a short trip that I wanted something engaging to read during my 'down time'. However, it was SO good that, having made the mistake of starting it early, I finished it before my departure on the trip! It drew my interest so quickly and completely that I, quite obviously, had trouble putting it down. It is another masterpiece by Sparks. I appreciate how the story is told in first person narrative in a manner that had me both admiring and admonishing the protagonist. You cannot help but get drawn into this very realistic life saga of these two young lovers and, in so doing, get a little glimpse of yourself. After all, isn't that what we relish in the best of fiction? It's a quick and engaging read that allows for volumes of introspection and evaluation of life's decisions. Life is seldom easy and love is, as Sparks so succinctly reminds us, no exception. Another triumph for this gifted author. Thank you, Mr. Sparks!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Spectacular

    I loved this book. It was heart-breakingly beautiful! I love Nicholas Sparks works. He makes you feel the characters and their emotions. His voice is portrayed wonderfully in this book. Its almost as if he was the main character and he went through all this pain.
    The book wasn't cheesy it didn't evolve two of which of the differnt gender having each other in the bed, at all times. It was sweet and sentimental. And another thing (which I loved) is that you could feel the pain and heart-break.
    I cried so much through this book. I couldn't put it down. I had to know; was she going to take him? (Or) Was she going to leave him...?
    The only main problem I had about it was, it was so sad!! I hated the ending but at the same time I loved it! This story was painful to read and you might never think twice to read it again but, it was one of the greatest love story I ever read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Enjoyed the Book More than the Movie

    This is one case where I saw the movie first and then read the book. It is usually the other way around for me. I defidently prefer the book version rather than the movie version. I liked that the book had a better plot around some of the main characters than the movie did. I love Nicholas Sparks attention to detail and how he describes the places that the books are taking place at. He is a gifted writer who never disappoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it!


    !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Another one to make you cry

    This was another heartbreaker, but I kept hoping it would be different.
    We were kept in the dark about it--just maybe????

    The story was interesting, touching, and lets you have a good cry, but a happy cry, too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and Touching

    This book began like a love story of just relationships and summer love. But as the I read on it became about love on all the different levels. Especially between parent and child. I am not a parent yet but this gives great insight to how a parent feels and wants for their child. Also how no matter what you have someone that loves you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crushing!!

    Like all Nicholas Spark books this ones amazingly well written!! It kept you right in the middle of it all!! I have never cried for a book like I cried for Dear John!! It was deeply sad and bittersweet!! If your not ready for a tear jerker you better just put it down!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart Tugging Novel will Leave Reader in Tears

    Dear John by Nicholas Sparks is a novel full of emotional ups and downs, which leaves the reader clinging to each page. In this novel, a troubled young man who escaped to the military in order to transform his life, John Tyree, arrives back to his home town in Wilmington, North Carolina for his leave from the army. He stays with his father, who is very distant and has his own world inside his special coin collection. While walking down the beach one afternoon, John spots a beautiful young woman who is being badgered by immature college students. Suddenly, her bag accidentally falls into the ocean. John immediately jumps into the sea to her rescue, and this is where their story begins. Instantly, John falls in love with the young, breath-taking college student Savannah. They spend every waking moment together until he must return back to Germany for his final two years. They agree to spend time with each other on John's next leave, and continue their relationship while he is over seas. Savannah's weekly love letters to John keeps their relationship strong and committed . Unfortunately, a horrid day which nobody had expected separate John and Savannah--9-11. While in Germany, her letters become less frequent, and eventually one letter is delivered which will change their fate forever.

    In the novel Dear John by Nicholas Sparks, many themes and life long lessons are present. One major theme within the pages of this book is love requires patience and commitment to go the distance, and also love is a battle. While John is in Germany fighting in the army, Savannah's love for John grows very strong due to her willingness to wait for him to return. This allows their love and relationship to thrive, because they are fighting for something hard to grasp. Also, they are very determined to make their relationship last, fighting the struggles of love.

    Dear John never had a dull moment, and always kept me turning the pages. I never wanted to place the book down, and it seemed that I was glued to it. In this book, I liked how the characters were easy to connect with, which made the read more enjoyable. Sparks made the characters likeable, with personalities and traits which were easily admired. Also, I liked the twists Sparks created within the pages, which kept me on the tip of my toes. However, I did have some dislikes, but very few. Sometimes Sparks was very predictable, which left me disappointed. Also, some events seemed to drag on when they could have been shorter.

    Dear John is a very dramatic love story, which connects to the reader's emotions. People should read this book because it is a classic romance novel, which has many twists and turns to captivate the reader's attention. Also, it grips the heart of the reader,and leaves them wanting more of the story. Another great book is The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. This is also a classic love story, which tugs at the emotions as well, and fascinates the reader.

    Overall, I would rate Dear John by Nicholas Sparks four out of five stars. Its interesting plot and loveable characters make this an enjoyable read, and will leave the reader craving more. This novel will connect with the heart, and become a piece of the reader. Dear John is a genius love story well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book was great. It wasn't a typical love story, even though it had those moments. The book wasn't predictable, and it kept you guessing. This is the only book that has ever made me cry. I loved the way Nicholas Sparks wrote this book. I would recommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    what is the meaning of true love?

    Dear John is the most amazing love story i have ever read. the main charactor john comes from a rough life. his dad had never been talkative or caring, and his mom left when he was young. he took the wrong path in life and most was changed for the better when he joined the army. on his visit home he met a girl named shavanna. she was everything opposite of his personality. she was caring, loving, always doing charity, and fragil. they both found love at first site. with jon being in the army they would go apart for months sometimes years. the struggle grew greater and it became inevitable to fall part. they both changed and no longer knew the same person they once were. savanna fell in love wwith someone else, and left john. he had even more feelings for her and couldnt take it. in the end he never wins her back, although their love is never ending, he wanted her to be happy, and nothing more. i was not happy with the ending. i admired their love for eachother and was dissapointed to see they didnt last forever.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Tear jerker

    <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Great book

    The ending was so sad!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    soldier love story

    great love story about a long distance relationship from a man's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    1234

    This book rules the world of books. The movie was good but the book was do much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Love

    Loved it. By far my favorite Nicholas Sparks book. Truly connected with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Rating for this book

    This wsas such a great story. It is cute and romantic and will make you cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Very good!

    Not his best, but a good NS book. I would still recommend it, but I hated the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    It is not at all like the movie.

    It was good....but really different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Loved it!!

    Its such a cute and romantic book, but I'm not a fan of the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Dear John, written by Nicholas Sparks is an amazing love story.

    Dear John, written by Nicholas Sparks is an amazing love story. This book is full of compassion, romance, and heartbreak. A young man in the military falls in love with a very compassionate young woman. This woman is so compassionate she gives up her own wants and needs for a family friend who is sick. The main characters in the story are John and Savannah.
    John and Savannah meet on the beach and quickly fall in love. They only have a short time to spend together because John is in the Army and has to go back off leave. They write letters for a long time until the story takes an unexpected turn, leaving John heartbroken.
    While reading Dear John it is obvious that Savannah is a very compassionate person. She does a lot of volunteer work. She is actually staying in that town to help rebuild a house for a family that lost their home in a storm.
    The Story of Dear John may be more popular for young females, but it has a story line that can melt anyone&rsquo;s heart. This is a story of love, even though Savannah does not marry, John, the man she loves. She does what she feels is the right thing to do with love. Savannah shows true selflessness. Although this broke John&rsquo;s heart, he admires her for everything she does and the kind of woman she is.
    Dear John is full of heartwarming gestures that will pull a reader in making one feel everything the characters are feeling. Dear John is an amazing must read. This love story will surely bring out emotions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 750 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 38