Customer Reviews for

Dear Life

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Alice Munros' short stories are always exceptional including thi

Alice Munros' short stories are always exceptional including this collection. There is a sense, unfortunately , that Munro may be winding down her writing career. This collection contained attributed autobiographical materials. I eagerly await every piece that Munro aut...
Alice Munros' short stories are always exceptional including this collection. There is a sense, unfortunately , that Munro may be winding down her writing career. This collection contained attributed autobiographical materials. I eagerly await every piece that Munro authors whether it be a magazine piece or a complete book of stories. I hope that she writes forever!

posted by mbzych on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have to say that I am very disappointed after reading the first three short stories. All three were basically the same story. Young woman gets taken advantage of by a man. The stories had no depth. Frankly, I don't think that they were all that well written. None...
I have to say that I am very disappointed after reading the first three short stories. All three were basically the same story. Young woman gets taken advantage of by a man. The stories had no depth. Frankly, I don't think that they were all that well written. None of them left me wanting to read more. or to read the next story. They were no exciting or satisfying. They were just a story with no real purpose as far as I can tell. I don't plan on reading the remainder of the book. I gave the book one star but really I would say it did not even merit one star.

posted by 4002002 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Alice Munros' short stories are always exceptional including thi

    Alice Munros' short stories are always exceptional including this collection. There is a sense, unfortunately , that Munro may be winding down her writing career. This collection contained attributed autobiographical materials. I eagerly await every piece that Munro authors whether it be a magazine piece or a complete book of stories. I hope that she writes forever!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    an ultimate Alice Munro

    what a wonderful title, hits the right note and is a peak for Munro. She has been called the best of short story writers, and here she is again with her twists and views into ordinary/extraordinary lives.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have to say that I am very disappointed after reading the first three short stories. All three were basically the same story. Young woman gets taken advantage of by a man. The stories had no depth. Frankly, I don't think that they were all that well written. None of them left me wanting to read more. or to read the next story. They were no exciting or satisfying. They were just a story with no real purpose as far as I can tell. I don't plan on reading the remainder of the book. I gave the book one star but really I would say it did not even merit one star.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This book is a solid pass. It is not that the plot is confusing,

    This book is a solid pass. It is not that the plot is confusing, many good books have confusing plots and it adds to the fun. It is just that it is not well written at all. On top of that, the characters are just not engaging. If the girl were to die right now, I truly would not care. One of the few books I have bought this year that I'm on the verge of not even finishing. Bad. Don't buy. Pass.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    There's better books

    Short story writer of our time? No. The stories are kind of dry and depressing. With a lot of detail and not a lot of detail. I had a hard time with the charachters. Expected a lot more.
    Cheers.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    author with distinctive voice

    My book group read DEAR LIFE for this month. All of us found ourselves pausing after each story, taking it in, thinking about it afterwards -- so none of us were able to get all the stories read by the time we met.

    That we all were involved and moved by her stories, to the point where we could not simply move quickly to the next one, is a strong recommendation -- if you have not read Alice Munro's short stories, they are unlike any other author's work, and well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Strong

    Each story has a profound snippet of life and circumstance. I recommend to read only one story and stew on it for awhile before going on to the next. Very emotional for me. Each story had a sadness that sat in me for a few days. Alice Monroe dumps you into the lives of a few characters with few frills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Boring and hard to finish

    Almost all of the stories are about a woman being taken advantage of by a man. Its too detailed about the little things and not detailed about the big things like the characters. The endings feel rushed. Dont waste your time and money on this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Excellent

    Lovely stories. Recognize an old fashioned way of speaking. Very thoughtful and deliberate so you cant deny their importance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Thank you, once again.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Wonderful.

    A quieteness and revelation in each story that brings one closer to what it means to live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    An excellent book. The autobiographical stories at the end were

    An excellent book. The autobiographical stories at the end were particularly moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Test

    Test

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Meow

    Something scratches the door

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Lily

    (Opps! Sorry, had to find spot to be safe and so I couldnt be taken away by hunter.) Goes back home.~Lily

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Recommended

    These short stories ae fascinating. They are a little wierd but not too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    I expected more

    I found the stories rambling with no real plot and questionable points. I just didn't care about any of the characters. Maybe it was the writing style. Might not be too bad if you don't read the stories back to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes the truth is in the space between words, and things un

    Sometimes the truth is in the space between words, and things unsaid reveal more than the question and answers of conversation. Alice Munro’s Dear Life reveals lives, and their secrets, with that same sort of protective silence. Natural conversations, with natural pauses, create the sense of character, time and place. Too little, revealed, keeps the reader searching for more. Then one small slip and the truth will out; the actor slides himself between the lines; the mask falls aside; and what we thought we almost knew is changed... just like in real, dear life.

    The writing’s spare, convincing, and unemotional, with the tension of genuine need, and the beauty of Canada’s landscapes underneath. Wounded souls have lived through war or privation. Those who’ve kept their emotions reigned in take a step, make a decision, and move on. Betrayal might be ignored, trust broken and restored. Or else the one who cannot stand will find another place. And all these people, the invisible of their land, demand their space, their moment on the page.

    Sometimes what happens is so small, and its impact so huge, it takes a story to tell it. Alice Munro tells these short stories and lives with masterful precision, voice, and perception, as sure in telling her own past as in revealing the paths of others. Dear Life is a song of life, chance and hope, and a fine collection of intriguing people and stories.

    Disclosure: We chose it for our book group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Kyle

    Mybe we can skip the date.. ;) ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Some stories good

    I enjoyed only a couple of the stories - best were the ones in back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2