Customer Reviews for

Dear Mr. Henshaw

Average Rating 4
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Reviewer/Publisher

I think it was very good and they should make another book or a sequel about it.

posted by 15678604 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Pathetic Literary Attempt

When I was in fourth grade, I had to read this book for a Gifted and Talented English class I was in and I absolutely hated it. A year ago, I figured i might read it again because it is a small novel and being in eight grade I thought I might enjoy it more. Unfortunat...
When I was in fourth grade, I had to read this book for a Gifted and Talented English class I was in and I absolutely hated it. A year ago, I figured i might read it again because it is a small novel and being in eight grade I thought I might enjoy it more. Unfortunately, I didn't. The writing was very basic, as was the story, and possesed no qualities that a good book should. I don't even understand reading this book for school because it promotes no qualities other than hoping for something and then being set up for disappointment. Honestly, if you have any regard for a good book, don't read this one. The story is terrible and you do not have to have a very large vocabulary to read it. Notice how all of the people who gave this book five stars just summarized it? Thats because there are no qualities that anyone could really enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Reviewer/Publisher

    I think it was very good and they should make another book or a sequel about it.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Okay

    Wish their was a second

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Pathetic Literary Attempt

    When I was in fourth grade, I had to read this book for a Gifted and Talented English class I was in and I absolutely hated it. A year ago, I figured i might read it again because it is a small novel and being in eight grade I thought I might enjoy it more. Unfortunately, I didn't. The writing was very basic, as was the story, and possesed no qualities that a good book should. I don't even understand reading this book for school because it promotes no qualities other than hoping for something and then being set up for disappointment. Honestly, if you have any regard for a good book, don't read this one. The story is terrible and you do not have to have a very large vocabulary to read it. Notice how all of the people who gave this book five stars just summarized it? Thats because there are no qualities that anyone could really enjoy.

    12 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    OMG!

    I felt so bad for Lee.The book is sad if you don't like sad stories you should not read the book.I still like the book.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great

    I loved this book

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Great book

    I like that it is funny and not boring. I have to read for school and its not that bad.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    deer mistr hanshaw

    hey whats up thanks this book is magical amazing fun and active specal thanks too mcklu mommy dada and arik

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Love it

    I read this book in 3rd grade i loved it but its esay i recamed it to 2nd and 3rd graders

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Awesome

    I liked the book but the ending is sad. : (

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Eh

    Ok but very short

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Dear Mr. Book Review

    Dear Mr. Henshaw, by Beverly Cleary, I give five star rating because the realness of the book. Leigh is my favorite character because what happened in the book to him really explains to the reader what happens in the everyday life of a kid. Like having all of the good stuff out of your lunch everyday. Also possibly having your parents divorced. Or not even having any friends. I Like Leigh¿s mom a lot too. She was so about everything he does. Like a real mother should do. Dad was okay but he was so in love with his truck for me to like him a lot. Another reason I gave the book five stars is because of the plot and the flow of the story. I liked Leigh¿s story, ¿A Day on Dad¿s Rig.¿ I was glad he got to go to lunch even if it was with Angela Badger. It was also kind of cool how he made an alarm inside of his lunchbox. He made some friends by doing that. I was happy for Leigh when his dad came home. Especially with Bandit. It was sad though because his mom and dad would not get back together. Well, that is why I gave this book five stars.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Good but could be better

    Ive read this book and its good it gets a little cheesy at the end but otherwise its ok

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Good read

    This book is great for kids

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great Book!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Dear Mr.Henshaw

    Love baeverly clearly books

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Okay i guess

    Well its okay but not great. I read it in fourth grade and i thought it was fine in a bad way

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Dear mr henshaw

    You suck from nelson

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Awsome

    It is awesome book. Mr. Henshaw has a better relationship than his own dad does.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Anoynomus

    AWFUL!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    love it

    i love this book. i coulnt take my eyes off of it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10