Customer Reviews for

Dear Mr. Henshaw

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Reviewer/Publisher

I think it was very good and they should make another book or a sequel about it.

posted by 15678604 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Pathetic Literary Attempt

When I was in fourth grade, I had to read this book for a Gifted and Talented English class I was in and I absolutely hated it. A year ago, I figured i might read it again because it is a small novel and being in eight grade I thought I might enjoy it more. Unfortunat...
When I was in fourth grade, I had to read this book for a Gifted and Talented English class I was in and I absolutely hated it. A year ago, I figured i might read it again because it is a small novel and being in eight grade I thought I might enjoy it more. Unfortunately, I didn't. The writing was very basic, as was the story, and possesed no qualities that a good book should. I don't even understand reading this book for school because it promotes no qualities other than hoping for something and then being set up for disappointment. Honestly, if you have any regard for a good book, don't read this one. The story is terrible and you do not have to have a very large vocabulary to read it. Notice how all of the people who gave this book five stars just summarized it? Thats because there are no qualities that anyone could really enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Okay

    Wish their was a second

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Eh

    Ok but very short

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    It was just too... boring

    First of all I don't like why he kept writing to him. Some of the letters were really mean. Also this book was very monotone. The very worst of her writing. I had to read this twice in school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Not the best

    This book was fun and cute, but at times I fekt as if the story was lacking excitement. It is a gentle, easy read for beginners. I , personally would not read the book again. Also I felt as if the ending was sad and incomplete. I probaly won't reccomend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    Dear Mr. Henshaw Review

    In this story, a boy named Leigh Botts writes to a man named Mr.Henshaw. It doesn't tell his first name in the story. Leigh Botts has always written to Mr.Henshaw since he was in the third grade. It's funny how every time Leigh moves to a different grade he has to do the same work. He had to write to a writer in all his grades from third to sixth grade.

    Mr.Henshaw is a professional writer and Leigh Botts has read every one of his books. Leigh Botts wrote a letter to Mr.Henshaw about books that Mr. Henshaw had written called "Moose On Toast" and "Ways To Amuse a Dog." Mr. Henshaw did write back but with a typewriter. Leigh Botts sent Mr. Henshaw some questions and he never answered them until Leigh Botts wrote to him again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Didn't like it

    First of all, It was boring. They were all letters and hardly any plot. Half of the focus is about a lunch box. I would NOT reccomend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1