BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dearly Devoted Dexter (Dexter Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Totally twisted and sick, but fun beyond measure.

While working for a non-profit I wrote a VISTA grant that brought me in contact with five very bright and wonderful Type-A young people. When they heard me lamenting that I had come to the end of the Odd Thomas series, until another is written, they all recommended Dext...
While working for a non-profit I wrote a VISTA grant that brought me in contact with five very bright and wonderful Type-A young people. When they heard me lamenting that I had come to the end of the Odd Thomas series, until another is written, they all recommended Dexter. They told me he was like Odd but with a twist. Oh dear, what a twist he has.

If anyone had told me I would read a book about a serial killer, root for him, laugh at him and stay up late finishing the book, I would have thought that person to be as insane as Dexter.

Dexter actually works in the Miami PD Crime Lab as a blood spatter expert, oh yeah, is he ever. There are more crazy characters in all of these books including his "sister" from the foster family that raised him, police department denizens, a girlfriend that is a half-a-bubble off level, her two kids who are future serial killers in the making and the assortment of child molesters that Dexter dispatches via vivisection in each book while tracking down other killers. Dexter has no respect whatsoever for killers who do not clean up their crime scenes.

These books are pure escapist fare, but loads of fun. They are well written. One of the premium television channels has made a series out of them, but since I have not had a television hook up in my house since 1998, I will have to wait until they put them on DVD to see those. I might also add, they are not for the squeamish.

posted by BooCat on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lacking change from the first book

I didn't like it as much as the first book. But maybe that's because not much was added to the overall plot. It was completely drug out...almost like it just kept going and going and going....booooring. I expected more of a story about Doakes as well. It was kinda predi...
I didn't like it as much as the first book. But maybe that's because not much was added to the overall plot. It was completely drug out...almost like it just kept going and going and going....booooring. I expected more of a story about Doakes as well. It was kinda predictable at times. I did like it, but it was just too similar to the first book. I am hoping the 3rd book goes in a different direction because I can't take much more of the same stuff.

posted by smsnow1 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally twisted and sick, but fun beyond measure.

    While working for a non-profit I wrote a VISTA grant that brought me in contact with five very bright and wonderful Type-A young people. When they heard me lamenting that I had come to the end of the Odd Thomas series, until another is written, they all recommended Dexter. They told me he was like Odd but with a twist. Oh dear, what a twist he has.

    If anyone had told me I would read a book about a serial killer, root for him, laugh at him and stay up late finishing the book, I would have thought that person to be as insane as Dexter.

    Dexter actually works in the Miami PD Crime Lab as a blood spatter expert, oh yeah, is he ever. There are more crazy characters in all of these books including his "sister" from the foster family that raised him, police department denizens, a girlfriend that is a half-a-bubble off level, her two kids who are future serial killers in the making and the assortment of child molesters that Dexter dispatches via vivisection in each book while tracking down other killers. Dexter has no respect whatsoever for killers who do not clean up their crime scenes.

    These books are pure escapist fare, but loads of fun. They are well written. One of the premium television channels has made a series out of them, but since I have not had a television hook up in my house since 1998, I will have to wait until they put them on DVD to see those. I might also add, they are not for the squeamish.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    The first book was okay...but this one was so much better! The first book was kinda difficult to get through, leading me to think I might not enjoy the series bc of the fact that I had already watched all five seasons of the show before reading the books. But the second book completely changed my mind. This book kept me in suspense, excited to find out what would happen next. I can't wait to read the next five books in the series!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I love the Dexter series, they are so easy to read! They're fun to read and bring you a total escape. This one is very slow to get going, but really good once you get to the middle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Lacking change from the first book

    I didn't like it as much as the first book. But maybe that's because not much was added to the overall plot. It was completely drug out...almost like it just kept going and going and going....booooring. I expected more of a story about Doakes as well. It was kinda predictable at times. I did like it, but it was just too similar to the first book. I am hoping the 3rd book goes in a different direction because I can't take much more of the same stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The alliteration used in the title is intriguing and very creative.

    Dexter is a whole new kind of serial killer. One can't help but like him and his dark charm. Even though he kills, he only kills those who harm or murder others. In this way, he doesn't seem to be such a bad guy. The way he thinks and talks are so different then anyone else. His dark humor and twisted morals draw people in. Through this book, the reader can enjoy the morbid fun that is Dexter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy Crazy Crazy!

    I have read all three of the dexter book s and I also love the show. I can't wait to see what Jeff writes next. The story about Dexter and his life show how similar it is to anyone else in the world, trying to fit in and deal with the world around us. I hope therwe will be another book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wild macabre perhaps insane South Florida police procedural

    Miami-Dade police forensics lab blood spatter analyst Dexter ¿the Avenger¿ Morgan obsesses in euphoria when he slices and dices a person, but he also is selective in who he carves up choosing the dregs of society, and psychopaths especially serial killers. He recently notched number forty, homicidal pedophile photographer Steve Reiker and eagerly awaits his next victim..................... A serial slicer Danco apparently leisurely over a few weeks surgically removes extremities from his victims who he keeps alive as he slowly mutilates them one body part at a time. When a still alive Salvadoran Manuel Borges is found, he has no body part hanging off his torso the medical examiner estates he underwent at least a month of torture as some of the slits left by the carved off body part healed. Dexter admires this newcomer to the slice and dice game, but also decides to stop this rival although some DC outsider Kyle Chutsky claims lead until he is abducted and loses a finger with more to follow. Now Dexter goes hunting to find the killer....................... As with DARKLY DREAMING DEXTER, DEARLY DEVOTED DEXTER is a wild macabre perhaps insane South Florida police procedural starring a psychopathic hero who enjoys the finer things in life, eviscerating serial killers. How crazy Dexter is comes out loud clear when unlike his peers and his adversary in the police department who are horrified by Danco¿s work, the Avenger recognizes a fellow artisan albeit one that he must stop. Readers expecting a High Noon showdown between two professional slashers will enjoy the duel when it occurs but will wait for quite a while as Dexter the sleuth investigates................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Love it

    They just keep getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    If you love the TV Series, you will LOVE the books.

    The TV series is loosely based on these books, but there is soooo much more here. And very different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    addicted to dexter

    i've been into the show for a while, but just started the books, the first one was'nt great, but this one, simply amazing. i can't wait to finish the series, i'm only on the third one now, but from the sounds of it this one is shaping up to be the best... they so should of used dr.danco in the show, would of been great :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Great book.

    It is nothing like the show (what book is?) But it was still a good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Excellent

    I started to watch Dexter on showtime like many people. Then I learned that it came from this series of books. I was a little afraid to start them, because I thought that they would ruin the show for me. But I was very wrong. Because the book series and the Showtime series are both so different from one another. The difference is what is so interesting. And makes reading and watching the shows both entertaining. Because they are so different from one another. Jeff you have hooked me on your Dexter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Another good book

    This is a better and more disturbing book than volume one of the Dexter series. The most demented killer in this book is not Dexter, surprisingly. This is not a novel for people with a weak stomach. It gets over-the-top gruesome in this installment.

    There are more scenes where Harry whispers "the rules" into Dexter's ear when he desperately needs his help. Strangely enough, an additional resource for Dexter comes to him in the form of his dark passenger, especially when other killers are involved. I really like the way that the author allows us unfettered access to the mind of a killer of killers in many varied situations.

    The descriptions of the need to kill and the release felt after a "play-date" seem similar to those described by real serial killers. These true to life comparisons make Dexter a more believable character. It also has the effect of making it all the more dark and disturbing, too. But, that is one of the main attractions to the Dexter series.

    It is a great series, so far! I highly recommend it to those with a strong constitution. Dexter is becoming more well developed as a character in each installment. I will definitely be reading more.

    -AvidReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Another Great Read

    The second book was better than the first...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Good read. On to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Gotta love Dexter!

    As i watch this season of Dexter, i feel like i understand him more having read books one and two. Though they are very different than seasons one and two, Dexter is still Dexter. Just exposed more by the written word. On to book three......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Dark and Humorous As Usual, Lindsay Just Gets Better.

    After Lindsay set a superb foundation in the first novel in the series, it's no surprise that the second book improves so well on the series. With more insight into the protagonist's mind, and an incredibly menacing enemy, Dearly Devoted Dexter expands on the character and manages to keep the reader interested(and sometimes disgusted) throughout.
    The briefly mentioned detective from the first book, Sgt. Doakes, has taken an interest in Dexter. Tailing him and watching him wherever he goes, Dexter can find no time to tend to his "Dark Passenger". To lead him off the trail, Dexter spends all of his nights with his girlfriend Rita. This causes conflict within Dexter, and he must balance the two lives he leads. To top it off, an associate from Doakes's past comes back and attacks people in Miami, using unimaginable methods to get what he wants.
    Lindsay's writing has only improved since we last saw it; Dexter is wittier, darker, and much more intriguing as a character this time around. Our always alliterative narrator is just full of hysterically funny observations and insightful musings about the population that surrounds him.
    How much this next point matters to other readers I have no idea, but it was incredibly important for me. The villain in this novel, especially compared to the first novel, is incredibly menacing and quite possibly the most evil person I've ever seen in literature. And while he might not have been explored as much as I would have liked, his methods of revenge are sure to stick with you after the book is closed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Love the Books... just as much as the show!

    Started reading the books because I was sick of watching the Dexter series rerun. I love how Mr Lindsay have Dexter such a lively and hilarious sense of humor. I also love that the storyline is so different from the television show. Good series, that will make you laugh and biting your nails until the end. Easy-read, great for lounging by the pool, vacation reading or before bed book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    MAMA!!!

    This book seriously gave me nightmares! I started it 2 days ago and had nightmares the last 2 nights. I just finished! This book grabbed me 292 pages ago and would not let go! I am on my way to pick up the 3rd now! The twists and turns in this book makes you deliciously dizzy!! Wish me luck and pray for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Hooked

    Fellow bookseller ar B&N recomended the series, have really enjoed thse first two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21