Customer Reviews for

Dearly Devoted Dexter (Dexter Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Totally twisted and sick, but fun beyond measure.

While working for a non-profit I wrote a VISTA grant that brought me in contact with five very bright and wonderful Type-A young people. When they heard me lamenting that I had come to the end of the Odd Thomas series, until another is written, they all recommended Dext...
While working for a non-profit I wrote a VISTA grant that brought me in contact with five very bright and wonderful Type-A young people. When they heard me lamenting that I had come to the end of the Odd Thomas series, until another is written, they all recommended Dexter. They told me he was like Odd but with a twist. Oh dear, what a twist he has.

If anyone had told me I would read a book about a serial killer, root for him, laugh at him and stay up late finishing the book, I would have thought that person to be as insane as Dexter.

Dexter actually works in the Miami PD Crime Lab as a blood spatter expert, oh yeah, is he ever. There are more crazy characters in all of these books including his "sister" from the foster family that raised him, police department denizens, a girlfriend that is a half-a-bubble off level, her two kids who are future serial killers in the making and the assortment of child molesters that Dexter dispatches via vivisection in each book while tracking down other killers. Dexter has no respect whatsoever for killers who do not clean up their crime scenes.

These books are pure escapist fare, but loads of fun. They are well written. One of the premium television channels has made a series out of them, but since I have not had a television hook up in my house since 1998, I will have to wait until they put them on DVD to see those. I might also add, they are not for the squeamish.

posted by BooCat on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lacking change from the first book

I didn't like it as much as the first book. But maybe that's because not much was added to the overall plot. It was completely drug out...almost like it just kept going and going and going....booooring. I expected more of a story about Doakes as well. It was kinda predi...
I didn't like it as much as the first book. But maybe that's because not much was added to the overall plot. It was completely drug out...almost like it just kept going and going and going....booooring. I expected more of a story about Doakes as well. It was kinda predictable at times. I did like it, but it was just too similar to the first book. I am hoping the 3rd book goes in a different direction because I can't take much more of the same stuff.

posted by smsnow1 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dearly Devoted Dexter

    I really like the TV show and the series is just as good. I was surprised in the first book to find that one of the main characters from the show didn't make it through the book and in Dearly Devoted Dexter another drastic change happens that was not on the show. It makes me like the book even more because even though I know most of the plot from watching the show, I am still surprised. It is violent so it isn't for everyone, but the code of Harry still stands and you can't help but root for Dexter to kill the bad guy because you want to see justice served. The story line flows well and you get more insight into Dexter's mind with his commentary. It is not a difficult read but you don't feel shorted and I am looking forward to continuing with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another amazing novel.

    I absolutely love how Dexter is getting caught up in family in this book. He shows characteristics of an actual human being, which gives a totally new approach on Dexter for the reader. For one minute you would think that Dexter will change his murdering ways and become a good boyfriend and role model for Rita's kid, he turns around and reverts to his "Dark Passenger". On the same note, the Dark Passenger's role in the story is defiantly interesting. The details Jeff gives the demon inside Dexter are beyond vivid. Somehow Jeff makes the reader urn for Dexter to be able to kill again, which makes the reader reflect on their own sanity. The author makes you sympathize for Dexter and the chains that he is being strapped under, preventing him from killing criminals. How Dexter explains his feelings makes yours intertwine with his, giving you, the reader, an excellent idea of how Dexter must be feeling, and also the same hunger that the Dark Passenger has throughout most of the book. The villain in this book works in a more terrible way than the Ice Truck Killer, which gives the story a more dark feeling. Though Dexter loses himself a couple of times in this book, he always comes back into self-realization of who he really is. The Dark Avenger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    You won't beleive that you are rooting for a serial killer

    The style of writing is light even when including murder. The character is his own straight man. Of course a serial killer that only hunts serial killers while working for the crime scene investigaters is a clever twist. Thedrama is intense and the charactors are interesting and sometimes fun. Really worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Dexter series

    I LOVE DEXTER! Jeff Lindsay makes you laugh at death.......could be a good thing :) Don't read this in a crowded room if you get embarrassed laughing out loud. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    "Dearly Devoted Dexter" is funny and morbid and grisly and enjoyable as hell. Funnier than the tv show because there is so much more of Dexter's twisted interior monolog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Second book of Dexter is wonderful!

    I love the Dexter series. The second book is great! I love how Dexter is " coming to life".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    Jeff Lindsay Does It Again!

    Dearly Devoted Dexter was just as much fun to read as the first book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Can it get any better

    No sane man can possibly understand the sociopathic mind quite like lindsay without stalking in the dark themselves. Pure and complete or impure and off-kilter genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Loved it

    I originally got into the Dexter series of books after falling in love with the TV series on Showtime. I first read Darkly Dreaming Dexter, and although the writing was sharp and the book was very enjoyable, I actually found the modifications they made to the plotline in the show more interesting. For instance- more time on secondary characters, fleshing out more of his relationship with Rita, the appearance of the ex-husband, and the way the Ice Truck Killer wormed his way into Dexter and Deborah's lives. The second book, which doesn't have any previous telling to live up to, is absolutly fantastic. A compelling storyline, lots of character development, and the same biting writing as before have made this book a must read. I highly recommend it to anyone ,especially those with a slightly dark sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Keeps Getting Better

    This installment was even better than the first. Having faithfully watched the Showtime series, it's even more fun having the visual of the character's (great casting) faces in my mind. This book promises an interesting storyline down the road. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Pleasingly Passes Personal Expectations

    Dexter does his usual, but the world around him gets more interesting. In this second offering, Lindsay unchains the comedy, and unleashes a 'killer' with a twisted method. I'm considering starting a fundraiser to get Lindsay some free therapy sessions. But my own dark passenger gets in the way. It wants more dexter. Though the end does contain a couple loose ends (WHAT HAPPENS WITH THAT RING! DOES HE THINK NO BODY WILL RECOGNIZE THE RING?)((If you know what I mean, you must agree with me)). Maybe Lindsay is saving it for the third book, due out in july. Well I know I'll find out as fast as possible. Lindsay has me hooked. Almost to the point where I'm afraid of what I'll have to do, to find similar entertainment without Dangerous Devious Dexter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    DEXTER is the MAN!

    I have read both Dexter novels now and I have to say.... I cannot wait for the next one!!! Bring it on!! These books are fantastic! Who would of thought I would be cheering for a serial killer? ( The Showtime series is great also!) Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Delightfully twisted

    I think this is one of the most bizarre things I ever read. The book is written from the point of view of a serial killer. But he isn¿t just your average homicidal maniac, he is a modern day Robin Hood, who delivers his own kind of justice to the murderers, rapists and pedophiles that slip through the cracks of the conventional justice system. He calls him self an artificial human and as much as you try, you just can¿t hate him as you know you should. Your internal sense of decency wants you to be revolted and sickened at his thoughts and actions, but then you realize that some small part of you really wants to applaud his vengeance. If you like a serious warp in your thriller, this is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Bring on more Dexter!

    I live in Miami, so I always get a kick when a book takes place here and I get to recognize landmarks. But I have never met a landmark like Dexter. Perhaps one of the cleverest premises I have ever come across, both 'Darkly Dreaming Dexter' and this book are both humorous, violent, and give us an insight into the sociopathic mind from the 'good' side. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12