Customer Reviews for

Death: A Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Death: A Life

    This is one of the funniest books I've ever read. Who knew Death had such an entertaining life? There are a few illustrations throughout the book that add to the funny factor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Death...A Life

    Hilarious!! Very provacative to traditionally religious people. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Death: A Farcical Review

    This is a great farce on Death and religion in general. It is NOT sacrilegious in any way. It is a fun frolicking look at how Death sees himself. The book begins at his birth, and takes a whimsical look at his own life, how he deals with his lot in life (excuse me, Death!) and how he finds a love, becomes "human" (or nearly so), how he deals with that loss, and how he relates to a rather psychotic Heaven (i.e. Jesus, God, and the angels). It is an easy read, and takes the entire philosophy of death, life, heaven and hell to and extreme never before investigated!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Find...Great Read

    I found this title in an airline magazine while traveling; the summary sounded very intriguing. The first page brings this book and Death, to life. If you have a sense of humor and are looking for an escape from everyday reality, this is a great read. George Pendle takes a highly renowned but little known figure and opens him up for inspection. Death has an adolescence, paternal problems, addiction issues, even a girlfriend. But, I think it¿s his love for puppies that made him seem almost human. Reading of Death¿s exploits throughout Creation and how his input helped fashion the world we called Earth will, at the very minimum, make you smile¿if not, maybe it¿s time you meet him personally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Must read!

    I have never laughed out loud reading a book before, hands down best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Excellent read!

    Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Macabre, thrilling, and hysterically well-written

    A beautifully irreligious book that mocks life, death, heaven, hell, God, Satan, the universe, humanity, inhumanity, and everything therein.

    A must read unless you have some logic-devoid attachment to some religious doctrine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it!!!!!!!

    My all time favorite!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    This isn't usually the type of book I would read, but I saw the cover and immediately picked it up. I read the back of the book and thought it was something that looked pretty good. It took me a little bit to get through the beginning, but the minute he meets the unicorn I was hooked. I was laughing out loud at more than half of the book. It's definitely something different but it was definitely a fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    This Book Should Take Over The World

    You're probably used to a book with only one storyline. Trying to push out of the ordinary with literature is something difficult. To give an extra "oomph" in a book is something rare. That's what every teen wants and every adult strives for: to stand out. Nothing stands out more than Death A Life.
    If you enjoy novels with love, pain, loss, but none-the-less humorous Death A Life is something worth reading for you. You'll feel strange emotions. You'll want to know what you're really feeling, with all the irony and pain, you'll never know if it's joy or frustration. The book gives you a chance to follow along with emotions and laughter. It's a book that is completely based on pain and sarcasm.
    This novel is an answer to that question. You want to know more about the mysterious creature that decides who stays and who goes in this world.This book gives insight to something almost every human being wonders about "Who is this Death we all know so well?" It even explains what God, all mighty Lord, was thinking when he created the world in which the living, well, live.
    The cover holds in the magnificent story of how Death grew up in Hell, raised by Sin, born by Satan. It tells how obscured his views were, ans how lost he was before the beginning of time; no purpose in his life. Death A Life shows how someone in Hell, and even taught the ways of Hell, could change. It showed how he could develop into someone else, with emotions and ideas.
    If you like the idea of a biography, something that answers your questions to life, death, and the exsistance of humans as a whole, you should pick of Death A Life. It's the most hilarious, sarcastic, sad, and ironic book ever. And, the novel is completely worth every second of your time. It's the farthest thing from boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    George Pendle has quite the imagination

    This book had me grinning, laughing and overall falling out of my chair the entire time I was reading it. In a few parts, even a bit touching with a twing of morbidness. If you can't take into account that Mr. Pendle has a warped sense of humor about life, death and the all powerful Jesus Christ, then I highly suggest you not read this because I guarentee that you will be offended. Shame. For those that can see the humor in everything, even if it is a bit taboo, then I suggest this book. :] Who would of thought that Jesus and 'God' had such a playful relationship; with God being a bit of a power mongler and Jesus as a youthful type trouble maker! Death, the main character is also a persona you can relate to; I know, strange but it's true. Pick it up, read through a few pages and if it piques your interest, read it. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    This book was among the funniest and most thought inspiring I have ever read.<BR/>I recomend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun

    I am usually not a huge fan of the 'Humor' genre of books. George Pendle really nailed this though. It's funny and it makes you think... If you have an open mind. I think this book makes more sense than what religious people believe in as far as death, creation and life are concerned. It shows that life isn't so serious. It's supposed to be fun and death is a huge part of what makes life fun.<BR/>It's really great. Give it as a gift and read it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2