Customer Reviews for

Death Angel

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

For Fans of the Anti-Hero

First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily eve...
First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily ever after' with the heroine, something sad happens to the anti-hero. He becomes reformed. Pretty much, he loses his bite which is what made him so fascinating in the first place! In Howard's latest, this 'declawing' is refreshingly absent which makes Simon aka the Assassin, one of the most compelling characters in Romance I've come across in a long time. When we first meet him at the beginning of the book, he's terrifying. When the heroine's drug dealer boyfriend offers him a bonus of $100,000 and he says he'd rather sleep with Drea one time, it's a big GULP moment. Something profound happens between them that afternoon that the Assassin can't quite shake off. So when Drea disappears with a big chunk of the drug dealer's money and Simon is offered the job of finding and killing her, he's conflicted about carrying out the hit. I'm not going to reveal too much more of the story, but when he believes Drea is dead and then discovers to his shock that she's actually alive, I can only describe his reaction as a total unraveling. It's an emotional body blow and one that forces Simon to acknowledge the possbility that miracles exist. At the end of the book, even though the emotional cost to himself is high, he eliminates an enemy to protect Drea, and you realize with satisfaction that this kitten still has claws. He might be in love, but he's still a cold-blooded killer. My only quibble, is that Drea and Simon spend a lot of time apart in the book. When they finally get together, there's maybe 40 pages left. I would've loved to have seen more of them together. When they are, though, it's explosive. Also, there's not a lot of dialogue. All of which I can forgive since Simon is so deliciously dark and complex.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What happened to Linda Howard?!

Can someone please tell me what happen to Linda Howard? She use to be one of my favorite authors until she started writing like crap. Her characters use to be likeable and her storylines use to make since, but now it's like she just putting out anything to meet her cont...
Can someone please tell me what happen to Linda Howard? She use to be one of my favorite authors until she started writing like crap. Her characters use to be likeable and her storylines use to make since, but now it's like she just putting out anything to meet her contract obligations. Her last three books (or more) have been horrible! I think this book is the worst! The female character is just plain studip and the storyline makes absolutely no sense! This book is filled with useless dialouge and an unstable plot! Her books have been so horrible lately, I don't even buy them anymore! I get them from the library on audio. If I had actually spent money on this book, I would have been very upset! What happened to the Linda Howard who wrote Dream Man, Mr. Perfect, Open Season, and Now You See Her? That's the author whose books I want to buy. I don't know why she decide to change her writing style, but she needs to go back to the way things use to be or she's going to loose alot of fans.

posted by Shaun71 on February 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    What happened to Linda Howard?!

    Can someone please tell me what happen to Linda Howard? She use to be one of my favorite authors until she started writing like crap. Her characters use to be likeable and her storylines use to make since, but now it's like she just putting out anything to meet her contract obligations. Her last three books (or more) have been horrible! I think this book is the worst! The female character is just plain studip and the storyline makes absolutely no sense! This book is filled with useless dialouge and an unstable plot! Her books have been so horrible lately, I don't even buy them anymore! I get them from the library on audio. If I had actually spent money on this book, I would have been very upset! What happened to the Linda Howard who wrote Dream Man, Mr. Perfect, Open Season, and Now You See Her? That's the author whose books I want to buy. I don't know why she decide to change her writing style, but she needs to go back to the way things use to be or she's going to loose alot of fans.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    For Fans of the Anti-Hero

    First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily ever after' with the heroine, something sad happens to the anti-hero. He becomes reformed. Pretty much, he loses his bite which is what made him so fascinating in the first place! In Howard's latest, this 'declawing' is refreshingly absent which makes Simon aka the Assassin, one of the most compelling characters in Romance I've come across in a long time. When we first meet him at the beginning of the book, he's terrifying. When the heroine's drug dealer boyfriend offers him a bonus of $100,000 and he says he'd rather sleep with Drea one time, it's a big GULP moment. Something profound happens between them that afternoon that the Assassin can't quite shake off. So when Drea disappears with a big chunk of the drug dealer's money and Simon is offered the job of finding and killing her, he's conflicted about carrying out the hit. I'm not going to reveal too much more of the story, but when he believes Drea is dead and then discovers to his shock that she's actually alive, I can only describe his reaction as a total unraveling. It's an emotional body blow and one that forces Simon to acknowledge the possbility that miracles exist. At the end of the book, even though the emotional cost to himself is high, he eliminates an enemy to protect Drea, and you realize with satisfaction that this kitten still has claws. He might be in love, but he's still a cold-blooded killer. My only quibble, is that Drea and Simon spend a lot of time apart in the book. When they finally get together, there's maybe 40 pages left. I would've loved to have seen more of them together. When they are, though, it's explosive. Also, there's not a lot of dialogue. All of which I can forgive since Simon is so deliciously dark and complex.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WTFudge!

    This book was not what I expected at all, which was not a completely bad thing. Overall it was a good read, however, there were a few "mystical" elements to the book, so beware all you logical and literal readers; it may make your rigid minds rebel! But, because I'm flexible and a great lover of Ms. L.H. in general, I even liked the unbelievable parts. The story was also very sweet. Kudos to L.H.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    *4/5*

    This book was different, but once it started rolling, it turned incredible! There's a certain evolution of the characters that's intense and real. I almost felt like I was intruding in on their lives at certain points. Linda Howard always knows how to put danger, and heart-pounding uncertainty into her books, and that's a big reason why I'm such a huge fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Wow

    It really caught me by surprise but i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Check it out!

    Death Angel was very entertaining and had such a unique twist to the characters that I was captivated nearly from the first line. A page turner that will keep you on your toes to the fascinating end. Linda Howard, you did it again! Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    YEAH!!!

    I am sucker for action/romance. The crash... AMAZING. This book is the book that will cause me to pick it up just because it was written by Linda Howard. This is one of my top 5 EVER most favorire books. I own it in hardcover and I am going to add it to my nook library for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    A Must Read!

    From the first chapter Linda Howard grabs your attention. I couldn't put the book down and it's been a long time since I have read such an attention getter. I am now searching for another book by Ms. Howard and hope it is just as exciting. If you love the action packed, exciting love story then this is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Hold Everything!

    This is the book you want to take on vacation, read during a snowy day, read when it's raining, whenever! Loved it. It's not often when a book captivates me from page 3. Loved the characters and once I started reading, I couldn't put it down! Thank God I had the day off! Definitely a must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Much Better!

    I was seriously disappointed with most of Howard's work after All The Queen's Men...is she too old for passion? But this book is classic Linda Howard!! Worth the sleepless night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Death Angel review

    Main characters were a surprise & a delight. Most main characters aren't that flawed, but it worked well in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Howard doesn't disappoint

    I have become quite the Linda Howard fan, she is creative and can pull an interesting and unique story with each book. This one does not disappoint. There is a nice twist in the middle that keeps the story interesting. I really come to like the characters, especially as she keeps them each true to themselves. And, I always like the more steamy, love scenes...again, no disappointment there either! Worth the time to read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another disappointment. I cant believe that Linda Howard is writing these books, they are nothing like her earlier works.

    I will no longer pay hardcover prices for her books. She has always been one of my favorite authors but her last 3 books have been very unbelievable with no character development and hastily put together plots

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Off beat characters

    The main characters are a little off beat for romantic suspense but the writing is so good it just doesn't matter. The plot goes from dark humor to believing in angels - just go along for the ride. This is good entertainment - if you are looking for reality, read a newspaper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    WRIITE ON LINDA!!!!!!!!!

    Thank God!! I was getting worried. I love all Linda's books but the last one or two made me a little nervous. (Don't get me wrong, they were ok) Thought I was losing my favorite 'MUST BUY' author. BUT, this was fantastic. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. I had to read it straight thru. Thank Goodness it wasn't a work day. Simon is the total anti-hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Loved it. Very sexy and romantic. But the ending disappointed me

    Loved it. Very sexy and romantic. But the ending disappointed me. I wanted them to be able to have kids together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awful

    I love Linda Howard but this book was just terrible. She immediately falls in love with someone she meets once, is brain dead for AN HOUR with no vitals then bounces back, somehow gets psychic future telling abilities but never really utilizes them for anything meaningful. It was decently written but the plot was lame, sorry .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I didn't think I was going to like this book at the beginning but I quickly got over my hesitation. The characters are different than your average hero/heroine but they grow and change throughout the book. It also was not predictable and I had to keep reading to see what happened. This is one of those books that sticks with me. I am new to reading Linda Howard and I have read several of her books and have not been disappointed yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Abridged/Romance: For a smart woman, this chick made some ba

    CD/Abridged/Romance: For a smart woman, this chick made some bad
    decisions. First, what I read on the back of the box really was not a
    synopsis of the storyline. The story is about a “smart” woman, with
    emotional scars, who somehow gets to be the girlfriend of a NYC
    druglord. The o-so-smart woman is biding her time to bankroll her
    departure. After a tryst with her druglord’s boyfriend’s assassin, she
    runs off. Trysty assassin really floated her boat and apparently his
    (this is HEA, but you have to jump through hoops to get there).
    Assassin is dispatched by BF to kill thieving girlfriend, but is killed
    in a car accident with assassin watching her die, taking her ID and
    computer. Jane Doe miraculously lives and builds a better life for
    herself as a Jane Doe. My whole thing is, when assassin comes back to
    find her alive and she sees him, she runs scared. When he says he’s not
    going to harm her, she doesn’t ask the most important question, “Can I
    have back my f-ing computer!” I don’t care that it was a WallyMart
    computer; give me back my laptop! This may be a better book than
    abridged CD, but I really don’t see it. I'm giving it two stars because
    it is listenable, I don’t recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Absolutely hated thisbook!

    I love her first books but so-so on later books.....this one was awful! I kept reading in hopes it would get better....never did!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7