Customer Reviews for

Death Angel

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

For Fans of the Anti-Hero

First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily eve...
First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily ever after' with the heroine, something sad happens to the anti-hero. He becomes reformed. Pretty much, he loses his bite which is what made him so fascinating in the first place! In Howard's latest, this 'declawing' is refreshingly absent which makes Simon aka the Assassin, one of the most compelling characters in Romance I've come across in a long time. When we first meet him at the beginning of the book, he's terrifying. When the heroine's drug dealer boyfriend offers him a bonus of $100,000 and he says he'd rather sleep with Drea one time, it's a big GULP moment. Something profound happens between them that afternoon that the Assassin can't quite shake off. So when Drea disappears with a big chunk of the drug dealer's money and Simon is offered the job of finding and killing her, he's conflicted about carrying out the hit. I'm not going to reveal too much more of the story, but when he believes Drea is dead and then discovers to his shock that she's actually alive, I can only describe his reaction as a total unraveling. It's an emotional body blow and one that forces Simon to acknowledge the possbility that miracles exist. At the end of the book, even though the emotional cost to himself is high, he eliminates an enemy to protect Drea, and you realize with satisfaction that this kitten still has claws. He might be in love, but he's still a cold-blooded killer. My only quibble, is that Drea and Simon spend a lot of time apart in the book. When they finally get together, there's maybe 40 pages left. I would've loved to have seen more of them together. When they are, though, it's explosive. Also, there's not a lot of dialogue. All of which I can forgive since Simon is so deliciously dark and complex.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What happened to Linda Howard?!

Can someone please tell me what happen to Linda Howard? She use to be one of my favorite authors until she started writing like crap. Her characters use to be likeable and her storylines use to make since, but now it's like she just putting out anything to meet her cont...
Can someone please tell me what happen to Linda Howard? She use to be one of my favorite authors until she started writing like crap. Her characters use to be likeable and her storylines use to make since, but now it's like she just putting out anything to meet her contract obligations. Her last three books (or more) have been horrible! I think this book is the worst! The female character is just plain studip and the storyline makes absolutely no sense! This book is filled with useless dialouge and an unstable plot! Her books have been so horrible lately, I don't even buy them anymore! I get them from the library on audio. If I had actually spent money on this book, I would have been very upset! What happened to the Linda Howard who wrote Dream Man, Mr. Perfect, Open Season, and Now You See Her? That's the author whose books I want to buy. I don't know why she decide to change her writing style, but she needs to go back to the way things use to be or she's going to loose alot of fans.

posted by Shaun71 on February 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    For Fans of the Anti-Hero

    First off, I'm a huge fan of the anti-hero in Romance. I love his contempt for following rules and ambivalence about doing the right thing. He's a survivor and looking out for number one is what he does best. Ruthless is his middle name. But en route to his 'happily ever after' with the heroine, something sad happens to the anti-hero. He becomes reformed. Pretty much, he loses his bite which is what made him so fascinating in the first place! In Howard's latest, this 'declawing' is refreshingly absent which makes Simon aka the Assassin, one of the most compelling characters in Romance I've come across in a long time. When we first meet him at the beginning of the book, he's terrifying. When the heroine's drug dealer boyfriend offers him a bonus of $100,000 and he says he'd rather sleep with Drea one time, it's a big GULP moment. Something profound happens between them that afternoon that the Assassin can't quite shake off. So when Drea disappears with a big chunk of the drug dealer's money and Simon is offered the job of finding and killing her, he's conflicted about carrying out the hit. I'm not going to reveal too much more of the story, but when he believes Drea is dead and then discovers to his shock that she's actually alive, I can only describe his reaction as a total unraveling. It's an emotional body blow and one that forces Simon to acknowledge the possbility that miracles exist. At the end of the book, even though the emotional cost to himself is high, he eliminates an enemy to protect Drea, and you realize with satisfaction that this kitten still has claws. He might be in love, but he's still a cold-blooded killer. My only quibble, is that Drea and Simon spend a lot of time apart in the book. When they finally get together, there's maybe 40 pages left. I would've loved to have seen more of them together. When they are, though, it's explosive. Also, there's not a lot of dialogue. All of which I can forgive since Simon is so deliciously dark and complex.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WTFudge!

    This book was not what I expected at all, which was not a completely bad thing. Overall it was a good read, however, there were a few "mystical" elements to the book, so beware all you logical and literal readers; it may make your rigid minds rebel! But, because I'm flexible and a great lover of Ms. L.H. in general, I even liked the unbelievable parts. The story was also very sweet. Kudos to L.H.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    *4/5*

    This book was different, but once it started rolling, it turned incredible! There's a certain evolution of the characters that's intense and real. I almost felt like I was intruding in on their lives at certain points. Linda Howard always knows how to put danger, and heart-pounding uncertainty into her books, and that's a big reason why I'm such a huge fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Much Better!

    I was seriously disappointed with most of Howard's work after All The Queen's Men...is she too old for passion? But this book is classic Linda Howard!! Worth the sleepless night!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Death Angel review

    Main characters were a surprise & a delight. Most main characters aren't that flawed, but it worked well in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Off beat characters

    The main characters are a little off beat for romantic suspense but the writing is so good it just doesn't matter. The plot goes from dark humor to believing in angels - just go along for the ride. This is good entertainment - if you are looking for reality, read a newspaper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I didn't think I was going to like this book at the beginning but I quickly got over my hesitation. The characters are different than your average hero/heroine but they grow and change throughout the book. It also was not predictable and I had to keep reading to see what happened. This is one of those books that sticks with me. I am new to reading Linda Howard and I have read several of her books and have not been disappointed yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of her best!

    Very Linda Howard. You will want to read all of hers. And you should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Different Linda Howard

    Linda Howard is one of the authors that I pretty much just pick up without reading the summaries so I wasn't sure what I was getting into when I started Death Angel. Like others have said it is different than others by her and in the genre. I think it's the first book that the "bad guys" were given a second chance and you wanted them to have it. Drea's afterlife experience was a little weird but I guess it was there so you could see just how much she wanted to change her life and get back to that place. Overall I really liked this book. There were a couple nights that I stayed up too long to continue reading and I think that makes it worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge Linda Howard Fan

    I've read most of Linda Howard's novels and I read some of them over and over. I love the dialogue between her characters. She sometimes gets caught up in the paranormal, and that's what happens in this story. However, the characters aren't the most likable in the beginning, so a paranormal event is the only way to transform the characters. I don't know if I'll be tempted to read this book over again, but it's worth a read. Those that do enjoy paranormal fiction may really love this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Enjoyable, quick read

    Likable characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Death Angel, by Linda Howard

    Didn't care for the death experience, found it hard to believe after that point.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Linda Howard is great

    I really did enjoy this book. It was a very comfortable read. Linda Howard is one of my favorite writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked the first half

    Did not care a whole lot for the second half. It was like reading two completely different books. Plus there was not much sex in this one and for some reason Drea really got on my nerves. I really hope that 'Burn' will be a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Really outdid herself...different but still amazing

    These characters are edgy and at times difficult to like but you end up loving them. The evolution is amazing and mesmerizing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    DARK AND SURPRISINGLY GOOD.

    This story is a little different and a bit of a surprise for this die-hard LH fan. Without giving away the plot, I can say that the story is very dark (reminded me a little of "Son of the Morning" and "Cry No More") and heartbreaking. For the first time Howard has a story where none of the main characters are intrinsically good and without major moral deficiencies. It really became a story about the redemption of a couple of very tortured souls. While LH gives you some of her patented hot moments, there are some surprising twists and turns, and it ends up going in a totally different direction than expected. This is both good and bad. Death Angel makes you think, but if you are looking for your typical hot and sexy crime thriller about the cop and the damsel in distress, Death Angel is not for you. I was not disappointed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    loved this book

    This is Howard at her best. I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Excellent !

    I found this story of Howard's to be one of her most creative ones. Both protagonists in the story are flawed but manage to find one another through a mystical moment. I was drawn from the opening of the book all the way to the end. Drea and Simon are two unforgettable characters, and I was not ready for their story to end :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    OK But Not Great

    Linda Howard is one of my favorite authors so I was very excited to read this latest book. The book was everything that I had expected, until I reached the afterlife part. I agree with some of the other reviews, the first half of the book was great, but the second half leaves a lot to be desired. Once I reached the part of the book with the car accident the story then just got a little too far-fetched for me and I was bummed about it. I still feel the book was enjoyable, but not one of the author's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    As always a great read

    Excellent book again Ms. Howard has written a winner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3