Customer Reviews for

Death Benefit

Average Rating 3.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

engaging

In “Death Benefits,” Robin Cook explores what happens when medical breakthroughs damage one’s financial assets—and who wins this dangerous game of science against money.

The main character is Pia Grazdani, a fourth year medical student at Columbia University, who’s ...
In “Death Benefits,” Robin Cook explores what happens when medical breakthroughs damage one’s financial assets—and who wins this dangerous game of science against money.

The main character is Pia Grazdani, a fourth year medical student at Columbia University, who’s interning with Dr. Tobias Rothman, a renowned molecular geneticist who has just uncovered the way to naturally grow artificial organs.

His breakthrough promises to be life-changing, as Wall Street investors Edmund Matthews and Russell Lafevre are miserable to find out. Their company LifeDeals depends on buying life policies from sick people for cheap, and then making money when they die. But it just so happens that the majority of the policies they bought are from diabetes patients, whose lives are likely to be greatly prolonged should Rothman’s artificial organs make it to the market. And so Edmund and Russell turn to Dr. Jerred Trotter, the biggest investor in their little company—and the most rich.

Meanwhile, some suspicious things start occurring at the lab. Pia strongly feels that she can trust no one except her mentor, Dr. Rothman. But a series of events leave her hanging on for her life, and risking her career investigating what appears to be a great cover-up.

Overall, this was a very engaging mystery. Though the first couple of chapters spend a little too much time explaining the science behind the breakthrough, don’t let them mislead you. Once the storyline really starts, it never lets you go.

posted by Alla_S on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

So much profanity! I have always enjoyed reading Robin Cook's b

So much profanity! I have always enjoyed reading Robin Cook's books because they are intelligently written and engaging to read. The story line in this book would have been much better were it not for Cook's perpetual use of the 'F' word. I feel like he is too smart ...
So much profanity! I have always enjoyed reading Robin Cook's books because they are intelligently written and engaging to read. The story line in this book would have been much better were it not for Cook's perpetual use of the 'F' word. I feel like he is too smart and too talented a writer to have to stoop to using vulgar language in his books. I hope this was a one-time thing and not a new trend. Very disappointing. As a side note, I would have given this book 4 stars if it had not been riddled with profanity.

posted by jtm1 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    So much profanity! I have always enjoyed reading Robin Cook's b

    So much profanity! I have always enjoyed reading Robin Cook's books because they are intelligently written and engaging to read. The story line in this book would have been much better were it not for Cook's perpetual use of the 'F' word. I feel like he is too smart and too talented a writer to have to stoop to using vulgar language in his books. I hope this was a one-time thing and not a new trend. Very disappointing. As a side note, I would have given this book 4 stars if it had not been riddled with profanity.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    engaging

    In “Death Benefits,” Robin Cook explores what happens when medical breakthroughs damage one’s financial assets—and who wins this dangerous game of science against money.

    The main character is Pia Grazdani, a fourth year medical student at Columbia University, who’s interning with Dr. Tobias Rothman, a renowned molecular geneticist who has just uncovered the way to naturally grow artificial organs.

    His breakthrough promises to be life-changing, as Wall Street investors Edmund Matthews and Russell Lafevre are miserable to find out. Their company LifeDeals depends on buying life policies from sick people for cheap, and then making money when they die. But it just so happens that the majority of the policies they bought are from diabetes patients, whose lives are likely to be greatly prolonged should Rothman’s artificial organs make it to the market. And so Edmund and Russell turn to Dr. Jerred Trotter, the biggest investor in their little company—and the most rich.

    Meanwhile, some suspicious things start occurring at the lab. Pia strongly feels that she can trust no one except her mentor, Dr. Rothman. But a series of events leave her hanging on for her life, and risking her career investigating what appears to be a great cover-up.

    Overall, this was a very engaging mystery. Though the first couple of chapters spend a little too much time explaining the science behind the breakthrough, don’t let them mislead you. Once the storyline really starts, it never lets you go.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Not his best, but still, not bad

    I always enjoy Robon Cook's books and like the not-so-subtle way he injects a message into every one. This time he looked at a financial scheme that involved buying life insurance policies, paying people a fraction of the death benefit so they could make use of the money before they died. These were then packaged and sold as commodities, similar to the way mortgages were traded. I liked the concept, but thought the story dragged a lot. In addition, some minor story teases that I thought would be resolved at the end were just left hanging. And the ending was abrupt, and didn't really close out the story; I don't understand why, as a better, more satisfying ending shouldn't have been too difficult. Not a bad book, but if this was the only one of Cook's that I had read I'm not sure I'd be looking for more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Bad choice

    This book is nothing like the liner notes that are published for the Nook. I even went so far as to use the Nook search feature and search for the names of the characters mentioned in the liner notes. They're not even mentioned.

    In addition, in the initial character introduction, Mr. Cook describes a key player in such a way as to cause confusion. I'm now reading the book to try to figure this out rather than for the enjoyment of reading.

    I won't read another by this author.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I am a M.D. & have been a Robin Cook fan since day #1. I hav

    I am a M.D. & have been a Robin Cook fan since day #1. I have read all of his books, some good, some great, some not so good. This is a typical "Cook Book" from start to finish. Difficult to put down once past the 1st 50 pages. A must read for science genre fans, now that Michael Crichton is gone. If you are a 1st time reader of Dr. Cook, one could not go wrong by picking this as 1st endevour. I can't wait for his next book. I hope other readers feel the same as I do-enthralling, entertaining, exciting & informative as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4 the Love of $$$.

    Another murder mystery, suspense thriller in the medical field is delivered by Robin Cook with "Death Benefit." *Great storyline. *Engrossing protagonist. *Fast paced once you arrive at chapter forty-one; a non-stop adrenaline rush of action. *A real eye-opener to the shady side of global health-care and the medical research area. *Death for dollars is the order of the day.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I went on this site to see if I might want to read this book. W

    I went on this site to see if I might want to read this book. Why do you continually publish many,many "reviews" by Anonymous that say "No text was provided for this review." Since that is not a review, why do you print it? I don't know where else to send this, since it is not a review, but I would appreciate a response. And it asked for a rating when I just said I didn't even get it yet.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    great read

    excellent hard to put down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhahaaahaaaaaahhaaaahahahahaaahaaahahaahhahahhahahahahahaaahaahahahhghhhgfddddddfbnnnmjvhgvvjgddyyhbhhyyhgc¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿¿??¿¿¿¿¿¿¿??¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿??¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿eeeeeweetg¿¿?¿¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿pt¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿w¿¿¿

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Why are you asking for a review?

    This book has not been published yet!

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I'm not sure how to rate this one. It was ok. I think that I was

    I'm not sure how to rate this one. It was ok. I think that I was more interested in the research/medical project that was behind the main story line than I was in the mystery of the murders. This was my first book of Cook's, I was very impressed with the level of knowledge that went into it. And I hope there is a grain of truth in the work being done. It would almost make the murders of these men 'worth it' to know that their work was being carried on (and yes, I know it's a work of fiction!) I'm also not sure how I felt about the second story line, the insurance scam. At first, it seemed out of place, to have these two guys keep popping up. They never really fit into the flow of the story. Then at the end, they were neatly wrapped up with everything else, but that part too, also seemed to not fit in right. As I said, it was just ok, but I would read another by the author, just for the medical references/research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Edge of your seat entertaining!

    Fast reading, good character development...a fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    I loved both books coma.+ siide effects,they are excellent i lov

    I loved both books coma.+ siide effects,they are excellent i love his writing andii'e bought bookd.he's the best..blrs your hrart.linda smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great medical mystery!

    Another Robin Cook medical thriller, well laid out with a perfect ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Death Benefit

    Excellent. I give it 5 stars. Could not put down until I finished reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As good as he ever was. Robin Cook is the master of medical thr

    As good as he ever was. Robin Cook is the master of medical thrillers. Very enjoyable and all to possible in this day and age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Worst Robin Cook book ever!

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    What the heck

    What the heck is with these reviews of kit and tom write a damn review enough w these personal ads


    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3