BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Death Benefits

Average Rating 3
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short story!

I mistakenly thought this was a novella. Instead it was a short story. But this is DeMille! So it was great even though close to the end I guessed how it would end. Anything DeMille is good.

posted by scduckett13 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Waste of $2.00

Terrible story Good news is that it was only 16 painful pages Dont waste your time or money

posted by 5342706 on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Waste of $2.00

    Terrible story Good news is that it was only 16 painful pages Dont waste your time or money

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    A

    Not worth it. A very short predictable story. Disappointed.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Does not meet expectations!

    I have read all of DeMille's books and while this is a short story it failed miserably. If this had been my first writing to have read by this author I would not have bothered with anything else. Very disappointing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Ripped Off by B&N

    DeMille and B&N should be ashamed of themselves for charging for this 16 page "short story".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Waste of money

    Love all his other books but am very disapointed with this one. It took me less than five minutes to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Super short!!

    Not worth it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Too Short Story

    I was disappointed in that Death Benefits was a mere 17 pages. Nelson DeMille has been known to weave an interesting and great tale. This was duped! Where does it say that it is 36 pages. Most were for the sample of The Panther.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Predictable

    If you didn't notice, this is only a 36 page "book". It's predictable and I had it figured out in the first few pages. Disappointing read from my favorite author Nelson DeMille.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Story is only 16 pages long- not recommended

    Very diappointed, Mr.DeMille! For 1.99, I bought a shallow short story and a 21 page extract of your next book, which will be free, anyway. I will borrow your books from the library from now on as I feel cheated!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Major rip off

    I can't believe this, what a disappointment

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Short story!

    I mistakenly thought this was a novella. Instead it was a short story. But this is DeMille! So it was great even though close to the end I guessed how it would end. Anything DeMille is good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    PROBLEM

    Love the author, but bought the book to find it was only 34 pages. Totally don't get it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I bought this book as I LOVE the writing of Nelson Demille. I w

    I bought this book as I LOVE the writing of Nelson Demille. I was not happy that I had spent $1.99 for 16 pages of writing, I felt like I had been totally ripped off.
    I have certainly learned a valuable lesson, that is to research Nook books better so I am not ripped off again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Sabrina

    "She sure seemed to know you."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Death

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    ecsc

    Short read, predictable ending, even tho it was good to clear your mind for or from an indepth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    An interesting short story with a not unpredictable ending.

    An interesting short story with a not unpredictable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Empty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent read

    It is short but quite a good read. Reminded me of "NO COMEBACKS'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great short story

    Another DeMille triumph. The story starts out being pretty straight forward and then, at the last minute, takes several great twists for a shocking ending. Loved it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3