Customer Reviews for

Death Blows (Bloodhound Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Graphic novel philosophy

    Loved it, bringing in the philosophy of graphic novel novelists was inventive and interesting in this futuristic urban setting. Big fan - can't wait to read book 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A spectacular alternative urban fantasy police procedural

    Unnatural States of America NSA chief David Cassius the vampire yanked FBI profiler Jace Valchek from her United States of America realm to his to hunt for a human serial killer who murdered vampires and werewolves (See Dying Bites). Jace partnered with Charlie Aleph the Golem, still works for David as she agrees to remain here until she ends the reign of terror of Aristotle Stoker.

    NSA employee vampire Gretchen Petra's significant other Saladin Aquitaine was magically fried. His garb was that of the DC comic book character The Flash though superhero comics are banned in this USA. Part of the Bravo Brigade, Saladin is the first killed, but other comic book look alikes follow. Jace and Charlie have to switch gear to prevent another serial killer; this time acting like a super-villain.

    The second Bloodhound Files is a spectacular alternative urban fantasy police procedural. The action-packed story line soars from the opening scene and never slows down for even a respite as Jace investigates a comic book serial killer. Faster than a speeding bullet with a tongue in cheek feel that will remind readers of Jasper Fforde's works, fans will marvel over this delightfully charming tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Love or crush? (Part one)

    Highschool.<p> Rachel had finally made it. But she never expected it to be in a diffrent city. She had moved from up-state and didnt have a single friend for miles. Yep, this is her life, alone but confident. Rachel took a deep breath and crossed the street toward Jeffreson Highschool. Kids passed her laughing on skateboards and ignored rachel. She was ok with that, being the "i ha<_>te attention" girl. The minute she walked inside, the bell rang. So rachel broke into a run.<p> Rachel closed her math book at the sound of the bell ringing. Class was over. She gathered her supplies and stood up, her book falling to the floor. A boy with sandy blond hair and dark brown eyes knelt down and picked it up. Handing it to her, he spoke. "So your the new kid?" Rachel nodded and licked her lips. "Thanks," she said softly. The boy nodded. He pushed up his black glasses and held out his hand. "Im tyler treece, by the way." Rachel took it and smiled slightly. "Rachel Frost." Tyler smiled and they walked to lunch together.<p> Rachel had made her first goal. To make a new friend. Tyler was pretty nice, and rachel respected that he helped her. She sat alone at a table, a tray of pizza, an apple, a carton of milk, and a suger cookie. She had already eaten the pizza and was about to bite into the apple when tyler sat across from her. "Some guy took my normal seat. So i thought i could sit with you." Rachel nodded and they both ate in silence.<p> to be continued at next result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good

    For the most part I really enjoyed this book, not quite as much as book one but I did enjoy it. Only real problem I had was how accepting Jace was over being kidnapped from her own world. She mentions it a few times but backs down from it whenever she was told to. That's the only real issue I have with it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Mosskit

    Daddy?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Somewhat disappointed

    The first book was great and so I read this one.
    I admit I was a little disappointed, but still found volume 2 to be an alright read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Ok

    I liked the first book better. I'm not a big fan of comics and that's what this book was based on. I hope her next book is better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a new series and author for me. I will snap up anything from this author from now on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Made Me Wish for the Good Ol' Days...

    I liked this 2nd book of the Bloodhound series, mainly because I grew up reading and still love comic books. The references to comic books of old really made me nostalgic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Entertaining at places.

    Too much back and forth. Lost interest at several places but stuck it out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great new take on Vampires!

    I like vampire books. I have read good ones and bad ones. This is a great and novel approach to the vampire universe. I say universe as this is not on good old Earth but an alternate space where our heroine must solve crimes that originate back on Earth. She does this because by solving the crimes she can get back to Earth. She is rough and tumble and not afraid to shoot the baddies. And if you like your comics and graphic novels, they are here too. Speaking of baddies, they are the norm and humans are not. This book is complete by itself, and thank goodness because our local B&N can't seem to get the first volume. It is good enough that I will be ordering the first volume on line and hope that there are several more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Death Blows by DD Barant

    Second part of a new series. Titled the bloodhound files, referencing a character in the book. Tough, feisty with a bit of an attitude the main character takes you on the ride of your life. Set in an 'alternate' universe where humans are the endangered species, Jace (the main character) is magicked to this reality because of her extrodinary skills as an FBI profiler. Of course you'd have to read the first book in the series, but I'm hooked. Looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6