BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Death by Cashmere (Seaside Knitters Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Any knitter would love this book

I give this book 5 stars. It is wonderfully written and keeps you interested throughout. I couldn't put it down. I would highly reccomend this books to anyone that loves knitting mysteries and enjoys the ocean view concept.

posted by jkkelly35 on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Realizing she was not cut out to be a lawyer, Izzy Chambers quits her job to open up a knitting shop in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts where she spent summers as a child. Her Aunt Nell lives there and is one of her biggest supporters while some other ladies like retiree Bir...
Realizing she was not cut out to be a lawyer, Izzy Chambers quits her job to open up a knitting shop in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts where she spent summers as a child. Her Aunt Nell lives there and is one of her biggest supporters while some other ladies like retiree Birdie and lobster fisherwoman Cass are her best customers. They all bond and meet once a week as the Seaside Knitters.-------------- Angelina Archer lives in an apartment above Izzy¿s store. She is working on a project for the local museum on quarries and land deeds. One night she goes on a date with Cass¿s brother and ditches him a public argument ensues with Tony Framingham, son of the town¿s matriarch. The next day Angelina is found dead in the nearby breakwater. Most people prefer to assume a tragic accident occurred, but an autopsy revealed her blood contained a drug that paralyzed her making it impossible for Angelina to swim to safety. The Seaside Knitters sisterhood investigates finding dirty dark secrets long buried by the paragons of a Cape Cod town.------------- This is a character driven amateur sleuth starring four likable female friends who work the homicide one stitch at a time. The quartet each deals separately with a segment of the murder pattern until they seamlessly sew their respective puzzle pieces together. However though this is a refreshing outlook it also takes away from the intensity of solving the case as more than half the book is done before the knitters merge their clues. Mindful of Monica Ferris¿ Minnesota Crewel World and Maggie Sefton¿s Colorado House of Lambspun fans will enjoy DEATH BY CASHMERE.----------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Realizing she was not cut out to be a lawyer, Izzy Chambers quits her job to open up a knitting shop in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts where she spent summers as a child. Her Aunt Nell lives there and is one of her biggest supporters while some other ladies like retiree Birdie and lobster fisherwoman Cass are her best customers. They all bond and meet once a week as the Seaside Knitters.-------------- Angelina Archer lives in an apartment above Izzy¿s store. She is working on a project for the local museum on quarries and land deeds. One night she goes on a date with Cass¿s brother and ditches him a public argument ensues with Tony Framingham, son of the town¿s matriarch. The next day Angelina is found dead in the nearby breakwater. Most people prefer to assume a tragic accident occurred, but an autopsy revealed her blood contained a drug that paralyzed her making it impossible for Angelina to swim to safety. The Seaside Knitters sisterhood investigates finding dirty dark secrets long buried by the paragons of a Cape Cod town.------------- This is a character driven amateur sleuth starring four likable female friends who work the homicide one stitch at a time. The quartet each deals separately with a segment of the murder pattern until they seamlessly sew their respective puzzle pieces together. However though this is a refreshing outlook it also takes away from the intensity of solving the case as more than half the book is done before the knitters merge their clues. Mindful of Monica Ferris¿ Minnesota Crewel World and Maggie Sefton¿s Colorado House of Lambspun fans will enjoy DEATH BY CASHMERE.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Great book!

    I enjoyed reading the book. It kept my interest and had wanting for more.
    I also loved the size of the book. Big enough for me to read the writing easily and yet light enough to carry easily.
    Would love to read more books from this author and about the characters in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Any knitter would love this book

    I give this book 5 stars. It is wonderfully written and keeps you interested throughout. I couldn't put it down. I would highly reccomend this books to anyone that loves knitting mysteries and enjoys the ocean view concept.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    So So

    I thought this book was good at developing the characters. I had no trouble mentally picturing the sea side town and the characters. However, I thought things moved slowly. I was interested in what was going to happen but I didn't walk around with it clutched to my chest as I do some novels. I think it's great for older readers as the personal interaction and language are very tame.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    As a knitter I was anxious to read this book. The book cover wa

    As a knitter I was anxious to read this book. The book cover was inviting and the quaint town of Sea Harbor, Massachusetts caught my fancy. This book is light reading with a weak mystery. I was confused at first because I thought the story would be told from Izzy's point of view. It was not. It was told from her Aunt Nell's point of view. The characters were likeable but they fell a little flat. I did enjoy the descriptions of the yarn and the yarn shop. There seemed to be a lot of dialogue..... a little annoying after a while. I liked the sub plot of the lobster poachers. All in all I did like this book. I think I was just expecting something over the top. Seaside town, knitting and murder seems like such a fantastic pairing. I will try the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Too repetitive.

    Liked the environment, wanted to know the good people in the story, but way too much reviewing of internal thoughts or concerns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not much of a mystery

    This book wasn't much of a myster or even much of a story. It started out pretty well, but there just wasn't any excitement or nail-biting scenes or anything. The ending was lame. The book was just dull all around. The only reason I gave this book 2 stars was because I managed to finish the book at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    A Real Winner

    Wonderful characters and a good story line. This one will have you guessing to the end. I also highly reccommend all the seaside knitter books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book follows Izzy Chambers and her friends as they find out

    This book follows Izzy Chambers and her friends as they find out Angie Archer has been found dead in the water tangled up in lobster trap of a friend of theirs. 




    Izzy Chambers settled in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts after being a lawyer and leaving it behind to open a knitting shop.  Above her shop is an apartment where Angie Archer lives.  When Angie is missing one night people begin to wonder where she is but she turns up short enough, granted not alive.  Now the residents are trying to figure out if she committed suicide or was she murdered?  If she was murdered to who had the most to gain by her death?




    There are in this book so many people that could have had something to gain by her death.  Was it her boyfriend or a guy who thought politeness was love?  Or a angry wife realizing her husband was in love with her?  Or a worker in the town who some thought was very weird?  There are so many possibilities, but the real truth really flames up the situation!




    In this book we also meet Sam who is an old family friend of Izzy Chambers who is in need of an apartment and Izzy offers up Angie's old apartment. Angie looks to have spent time working on something for a kind old man of the community.  Uncovering long ago buried secrets.




    I loved meeting all the local neighbors and learning about them and their connection to Nell, and Izzy.  It was a great adventure to read about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this book and have purchased the second in the series. These are not the most difficult mysteries to read but an enjoyable read with easy to get to know characters. I look forward to the full series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Great first in a new series

    I picked up Death by Cashmere on a whim. I like polite mysteries (as in the main characters use their minds and are typically normal, every day people, just like Nell in this book), and I am a fan of mysteries set in small towns, where everyone knows everyone. Death By Cashmere and the Seaside Knitters fit that perfectly.

    I am not a knitter. I know nothing about knitting except that it takes two giant needles, so you do not have to be knitter to enjoy this. Yes, they do talk about knitting a lot and yes, much of the action is set in a knitting shop, but the knitting is really just an explanation as to why two young women (in their late twenties, early thirties) would hang out with 80 year old Birdie (she is not a grandmotherly type by any means) and middle-aged Nell. Nell is actually the main character, despite the description of the book being all about Izzy, Nell's niece. There are lots of colorful supporting characters. The descriptions of Sea Harbor make me wish it was a real place because I would love to visit and have dinner on the Endicotts' back deck on a Friday night with a martini made by Ben (Nell's husband, a sounding board for many people in town, and throughout the series he often provides insights that the knitters need to solve the murders), lots of friends and of course, discussing the latest murder in the town. I love the relationships between the women, which is very real and loving. Nell and Izzy are a very close aunt and niece, and Nell often refers to Izzy as the daughter she didn't have.

    It's a great beach read, and each book in the series is just as great as the first. The book is just good. Buy it. You won't regret getting to know these fabulous characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I loved this book. I have read the whole series and am in love

    I loved this book. I have read the whole series and am in love with Sea Harbor. I don't knit or crochet, but the items that are being made just add to the warmth of the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Good read

    I am a knitter and a mystery buff. I enjoyed this book so very much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    If you want long tedious descriptions of meals, read this.

    Wow. A little plot, a lot of food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    highly recommended if you like murder mysteries that are not gory and you are interesting in knitting or crocheting.

    What a great way to write a murder mystery! I love to knit/crochet so I don't mind the detail about how knitting. I epecially enjoy the camaraderie of the characters in the book. Also, just when I thought I figured out "who did it" the author threw in another clue..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Fun read

    Interesting story and relateable characters kept me turning the pages...be sure to catch the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I love knitting and everything about knitting so I figured I would give this book a try. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I became very engrossed in the mystery. It was a little slow going at first but then it grabbed my interest where I couldn't put the book down. I thoroughly enjoyed all the characters and have already ordered the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Excellent

    Looking for a good book to curl up with on a cozy day? This book is full of Capeside charm and murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Get caught up in the net of mystery and intrigue; untangle the web of coverups and lies; witness how life and death is knit together in the first book of a wonderful new series by Sally Goldenbaum.

    Sea Harbor is a tightly knit fishing village with a cast of characters that come to life, leap off page into our hearts, and quickly become the reader's newest friends. When thievery and murder comes to call, the Thursday Night Knitters (my name for them) band together to discover the truth of what really happened to their not-so-proper friend, and who is poaching local lobster traps. Follow them as their quest for answers leads only to more questions, veiled threats, injured innocents, and more murder.

    Ms. Goldenbaum has taken three of my favorite things...mysteries, yarn, and knitting...and woven them together in a story that I can really sink my teeth into. She has created a townful of characters that the reader cares about, placed them in situations that are believable, and given them a mystery to solve that is not out of the realm of reality. Highly recommended...and looking forward to book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Wonderful setting

    You'll want to knit and visit this place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4