Customer Reviews for

Death By Hollywood

Average Rating 3
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    An absolutely brilliant satire. I'm not much of a TV viewer -- at least, not of the shows that Bochco writes scripts for -- but this novel totally rocks; Bochco is brilliant. Great story, clevery dialogue, and funny, funny, funny. By the time I hit Chapter 6, I'd sent a copy off to my daughter. Her comment back: "I stayed up half the night reading. It's like eating peanut butter straight out of the jar." This is not a novel for readers who are offended by 'language'or graphic descriptions of sex, or for those who anticipate that the book is a straightforward murder mystery. It is a book for readers who appreciate style, form, ingenuity, humor, and keen insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Really exciting

    this is not like any other book it is soooooo hard to put down, and you think like any other book that you would get to a really exciting part and then it would get slow. not with this book. you would get to an exciting part and then next would be an even more exciting part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Great Book!

    I am surprised at all the negative reviews this book got. I really loved it. I read it in one sitting in less than 4 hours. It was funny, yes vulgar too but that's part of the fun. It had me till the very last page. I highy recommend it to anyone who has a few hours to kill and doesn't mind the bad language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Book Blues

    I purchased this book because of the author¿s television successes. Unfortunately, Bochco¿s demonstrated writing abilities for the small screen do not translate to the printed page. I wish that I had obtained the book from a library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Mysterious funny, page turner

    I loved this book. It was funny and shocking. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Was Excited to Read...Disappointed

    I read alot of mystery/thrillers and when I came to find out he wrote a book after being a fan of every TV Show I was so excited. The story was good but the language was way out of line. I don't mind some raw language but this was over the top. Would look elsewhere first before reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    Don't waste your time

    I bought this book because of the Author's name. Well don't waste your time. Bochco should stick to TV. Poorly written, in fact confusingly written. Does not gain your interest at all. Great idea just written really bad. I am so disappointed because the story line sounded so good! Oh well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    LOVED IT

    Yes, I will admit, this book is a light read. It won't change your life. You really won't learn anything from it. But guess what--I still loved it! I found it to be very well written. I couldn't put it down and I finished it in one day. Very fast paced, colorful book. I tend to read books that are much more emotional, deep and dramatic, but this was a nice, fresh break from my normal reading pattern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Ridiculous

    One of the most boring, ridiculous books I've ever read. I felt like it was just a long and boring ride up and down Hollywood Blvd. I think Mr. Bochco reads too many Jackie Collins novels. A Typical Hollywood smut

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    What a Hoot!

    I greatly enjoyed this tale of Hollywood murder, greed, and immorality. One drawback is that it's hard to find anyone in the story to like - I gather this is a reflection of Mr. Bochco's sour take on people in the entertainment world. I kept erupting in laughter at some of his hilariously nasty one-liners. I recommend not taking it all too seriously; just go along for a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Waste of time

    Hated this book, the language was horrible. I got it from the library on tape, glad I didn't pay for it. I had to turn off the tape whenever my kids were in the room. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Glad I didn't pay for this one!

    Got it from the library on audio. I think it is worse hearing it. The vulgarity was horrible. The first 1/2 was better than the 2nd half. I am glad I didn't sit and waste time reading it, I listened to it while cleaning the house. I'd never recommend this to any of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Murder ¿ Hollywood Style

    Screenwriter Steven Bochco, co-creator and executive producer of 'Hill Street Blues,' 'NYPD Blue' and 'L.A. Law' has turned out a book that only he could write. A book by a screenwriter about a screenwriter that is a sexy romp through the Hollywood scene that includes among it¿s cast, a screenwriter on the skids, a trophy wife, a murdering actress, a blackmailer and, of course, the literary agent who tells us the story in a way that had me laughing the night away. Screenwriter Bobby Newman is drinking too much and his career is on a downward spiral to nowhere, when one night, while spying on his neighbors with a high powered telescope, he sees a couple in the naked throws of passion in a house across the canyon. When finished they fight and the woman bashes the man¿s brains in with an acting award. Instead of calling the cops, Bobby decides to write a screenplay about it and he does his research by getting close to both the movie actress killer and the Colombo type cop investigating the case. I found his agent-narrator's jokes witty and funny. The plot was a twister, the characters entertaining, the ending satisfactory. What more can you ask from a book? I give it five stars because the second I finished it, I started it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    DEATH BY HOLLYWOOD Amazingly Poor

    Luckily I got this from the library and didn't pay for it. If I had, I would have been livid. First, it was printed about 4 inches wide--hardly anything to it. Secondly, it was a rehash of old agent jokes and euphemisms from 'NYPD Blue,' such as 'pop a chubbie' and 'get hit in the seat' (in prison). The plot was mundane, the so-called twist not in the least twisty. I think Bochco got this published on his name only. For one thing, almost every sentence contains a clause in parentheses. Just say it the way you want to--if you are capable of it--and don't keep adding little things in. My advice, if you insist on sufffering, get a couple of root canals instead of reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Decent plot

    I'd say a good airport read, Bochco is a TV writer - his book reads like a TV show - which is cool, but once you get into this mode, even the plot becomes predictable. His use of explicit language is somewhat excessive and at times sours the reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1