Customer Reviews for

Death Cloud (Sherlock Holmes: The Legend Begins Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sherlock Holmes for a new generation

DEATH CLOUD, by Andrew Lane, is a great beginning to a new series which explores the life of Sherlock Holmes as a fourteen year old boy.

Mystery books rarely enter my TBR pile, but when asked to review a Sherlock Holmes novel I could not resist. I always enjoyed the ...
DEATH CLOUD, by Andrew Lane, is a great beginning to a new series which explores the life of Sherlock Holmes as a fourteen year old boy.

Mystery books rarely enter my TBR pile, but when asked to review a Sherlock Holmes novel I could not resist. I always enjoyed the characters in the original works and I was interested to see how much of that Lane put into his new novels. The character of Holmes, even as a young teen, was a pleasure to read. Holmes was a very curious boy but his sleuthing skills were magnified with the help of his side-kick, Matty, and American tutor, Amyus Crowe.

Lane molded a young Sherlock Holmes and created a character that you can visualize turning into the classic character. Crowe taught Holmes how to ask the right questions to get satisfactory answers. The relationship between teacher and student was refreshing and added the importance of education. I also enjoyed the relationship between Matty and Sherlock. They were from different social backgrounds but their commonality in crime-solving made them quite a pair. Although I do admit I missed the absence of Watson! But, my favorite character had to be Virginia. Where Holmes is a male icon, Virginia is definitely a strong female-icon. Her 'American' ways were exploited to make her desirable to Holmes, but she definitely gave him a run for his money!

Overall, I think this series is a great introduction to the classic character of Sherlock Holmes to a younger generation. Lane created fabulous characters and a great mystery. I look forward to the next one!

posted by kittydanza on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Do me a favor

Do me a favor and ask publisher for e-book.

posted by 488309 on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Spectacular Murder Mystery

    Death Cloud by Andrew Lane was an exhilarating book! Featuring a young Sherlock Holmes at age 14 and his friends, several murders, a very creepy bad guy with an evil plot, some romance, and whole lot of action. I loved this mystery! Sherlock was depicted exactly as I would have imagined him to be at this age! I enjoyed seeing how the talent he already had and the skills he learned would turn him into the famous detective so well known. I also enjoyed seeing the word "deduced." It's probably my new favorite word.

    Sherlock's tutor Mr. Crowe quickly became one of the best characters. Between the random bits of intelligence he was always giving, and the fact that he helped me understand a story problem that long has confused me, it was almost inevitable. Here's the problem, a small taste of some of the problems and mysteries in this book:

    Three men decide to split the cost of a thirty shilling hotel room. Each fellow pays the manager ten shillings. The next morning the manager realizes he made a mistake in that a special rate was being charged on the room because of construction on the hotel. He sends a bellboy to give back five shillings. The men are so pleased they decide to each keep a shilling and give two to the boy as a tip. So each man ends up only paying nine shillings and the boy makes two. But, nine times three is twenty-seven shillings, and when you add the two shillings the boy got, it's still only twenty-nine. Where did the missing shilling go?

    Not taken exactly from the text, I took out all the dialogue of them thinking it out, but it's from pages 120 and 121. That problem has tortured my poor head since middle school and I actually squealed when the answer was explained! I leave you, dear reader, to the awful pondering that follows this story. But, unlike the evil classmate who posed this story to me, I've given you a way to find out the answer. Read Death Cloud!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    this book was definitly one of my favorites! it exceded all of my expectations and was schocking! 5 out of 5 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their insights. A great

    I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their insights. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Inspiring; Flawless

    Andrew Lane has successfully made a series that is a perfect introduction to young Sherlock Holmes. Lane's ingenious use of elements in all his books explain wonderfully how Sherlock comes to know detective skills and other useful aspects that line up flawlessly with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's works. Lane's books will make you think about the world in new and exciting ways, learn fresh vocabulary, hold your breath in anticipation, laugh out loud, and cry alongside the characters. The entire series leaves you awash in awe. Finally you will have the pieces of the puzzle you have been waiting for; an amazing explanation that brings closure to Doyle's works: also an inspiring beginning. I applaud Lane's creativity and ingenuity. You won't be disappointed; you will receive more than you could ever hope for. Enjoy, my fellow readers in these great works of literature, truly art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Sherlock!

    The best book ever its worth reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Gr8

    Do they have a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Read this book

    Amazing book compliments to the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Cool book

    Read it it has adventure and mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Whokit to thunderstar

    Can i join thunderclan?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Thunderstar

    Thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Store

    Store

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Amazing!

    This is one of the best books I have read. I read all the original stories and after finding these, I immediately wanted to read them. Lane does a great job of keeping these books true to form and introducing a lot of the things in the original stories (his love for bees, playing the violin, etc.). Filled with fast paced action and adventure, The Young Sherlock Holmes series is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I just finished this its 8:10 in the morning

    Seriously! Anyway im bella. This is definitly more than five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great book

    This was an awesome book full of action and I can't wait to read the rest of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    The appentices den.

    This is the apprentices den. Like the warriors den, it has many nests.





    ~•|Swiftstar|•~

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Amazing

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Aby

    Just kidding...i can magicly post in the fourth rest aain.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Turkey

    Really really really really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Willowsong

    Proced please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    L&K

    Keep going!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2