Customer Reviews for

Death Comes for the Archbishop

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you like "My Antonia" or "O Pioneers" you should read this one, too

I have come to love (and expect) the beautiful nature descriptions in Willa Cather's books and "Death Comes for the Archbishop" is no exception. Cather captures both the wonder and desolation of nineteenth-century southwestern US/northwestern Mexico borderlands in a bo...
I have come to love (and expect) the beautiful nature descriptions in Willa Cather's books and "Death Comes for the Archbishop" is no exception. Cather captures both the wonder and desolation of nineteenth-century southwestern US/northwestern Mexico borderlands in a book that also explores the life choices of a man devoted to serving God. The only stumbling point I encountered was that I expected more plot than was given (the novel is entirely character-driven) but once I adjusted my expectations I had no futher issues with the novel.

posted by Melissa_W on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The only reason I give the book three stars is that the prose is only a narrative. She never shows anything, only tells.... There is no action to speak of.

Death Comes to The Archbishop by Willa Cather, 1927.

The primary character is Bishop Jean Marie Latour, who travels with his friend and vicar Joseph Vaillant from Sandusky, Ohio to New Mexico to take charge of the newly established diocese of New Mexico, which has on...
Death Comes to The Archbishop by Willa Cather, 1927.

The primary character is Bishop Jean Marie Latour, who travels with his friend and vicar Joseph Vaillant from Sandusky, Ohio to New Mexico to take charge of the newly established diocese of New Mexico, which has only just become a territory of the United States.

At the time of his departure, Cincinnati is the end of the railway line west, so Latour must travel by riverboat to the Gulf of Mexico, and thence overland to New Mexico, a journey which takes an entire year. He spends the rest of his life establishing the Roman Catholic church in New Mexico, where he dies in old age.

The novel is notable for its portrayal of two well-meaning and devout French priests who encounter a well-entrenched Spanish-Mexican clergy they are sent to supplant when the United States acquired New Mexico and the Vatican, in turn, remapped its dioceses.

Several of these entrenched priests are depicted in classic manner as examples of greed, avarice and gluttony, while others live simple, abstemious lives among the Native Americans. Cather portrays the Hopi and Navajo sympathetically, and her characters express the near futility of overlaying their religion on a millennia-old native culture.

Cather's vivid landscape descriptions are also memorable. A scene where a priest and his Native American guide take cover in an ancient cave during a blizzard is especially memorable for its superb portrayal of the combined forces of nature and culture.

The only reason I give the book three stars is that the prose is only a narrative. She never shows anything, only tells.... There is no action to speak of. Ms. Cather sometimes covers years in one sentence, and other times writes paragraphs for one minute. The book reads easy and since I've traveled the areas described, I found it interesting.

posted by carlosmock on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The only reason I give the book three stars is that the prose is only a narrative. She never shows anything, only tells.... There is no action to speak of.

    Death Comes to The Archbishop by Willa Cather, 1927.

    The primary character is Bishop Jean Marie Latour, who travels with his friend and vicar Joseph Vaillant from Sandusky, Ohio to New Mexico to take charge of the newly established diocese of New Mexico, which has only just become a territory of the United States.

    At the time of his departure, Cincinnati is the end of the railway line west, so Latour must travel by riverboat to the Gulf of Mexico, and thence overland to New Mexico, a journey which takes an entire year. He spends the rest of his life establishing the Roman Catholic church in New Mexico, where he dies in old age.

    The novel is notable for its portrayal of two well-meaning and devout French priests who encounter a well-entrenched Spanish-Mexican clergy they are sent to supplant when the United States acquired New Mexico and the Vatican, in turn, remapped its dioceses.

    Several of these entrenched priests are depicted in classic manner as examples of greed, avarice and gluttony, while others live simple, abstemious lives among the Native Americans. Cather portrays the Hopi and Navajo sympathetically, and her characters express the near futility of overlaying their religion on a millennia-old native culture.

    Cather's vivid landscape descriptions are also memorable. A scene where a priest and his Native American guide take cover in an ancient cave during a blizzard is especially memorable for its superb portrayal of the combined forces of nature and culture.

    The only reason I give the book three stars is that the prose is only a narrative. She never shows anything, only tells.... There is no action to speak of. Ms. Cather sometimes covers years in one sentence, and other times writes paragraphs for one minute. The book reads easy and since I've traveled the areas described, I found it interesting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like "My Antonia" or "O Pioneers" you should read this one, too

    I have come to love (and expect) the beautiful nature descriptions in Willa Cather's books and "Death Comes for the Archbishop" is no exception. Cather captures both the wonder and desolation of nineteenth-century southwestern US/northwestern Mexico borderlands in a book that also explores the life choices of a man devoted to serving God. The only stumbling point I encountered was that I expected more plot than was given (the novel is entirely character-driven) but once I adjusted my expectations I had no futher issues with the novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    What just happened?

    Wow, when I picked this book out to read for my English book report I had no idea it was going to be this boring! I had it for a few weeks and only go to about page 65.. I had trouble remembering things i had just read. It was so painfully boring.. I had to read it and I know i had to, so i forced myself to do it. I thought it was a mystery (thats what i was told) i thought someone was gonna kill the archbishop and the rest was figuring out who dun it.. NOt! wow i will never read this book again.. yes it was a 'good book' in the way she wrote it.. but yuck i hated it!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Its a wonderful book deserving to be read by all

    I picked up this book by accident, thankfully so; it has become one of my favorites. This book gives us a glimpse of the goodness that can be found in humanity, it expresses our desire to strive for something higher than ourselves.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved the story, the imagery, and the characters. I found myself going back and rereading pages just to savor the descriptions. Cather is truly a poet. I'm a better human for having read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Our Book Club liked this a lot. It ranked sixth out of 40+ book

    Our Book Club liked this a lot. It ranked sixth out of 40+ books we've read in the past three years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Nexus

    A purple tom with red tipped tail and ears pads in, he has scarled covered eyes that are dark with malice. He wears a red coallar with black spikes on it. (Not bloodclan)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Attack ashclan

    Fire first res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Decent

    It truly wasn't that bad of a book to read, it wasn't boring at all. It wasn't an adventurous book but it was a book that was well written and had some deep underlying themes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    a wonderful story

    This book helped me understand other peoples way of living. It describes dignity and , kindness of people, beauty of nature and landscapes, and the enourmos diccipline it takes to be a good missionar in a remote country like New Mexico. It was an adventure to read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Deeper than plot

    Cather's outstanding use of imagery and setting propel the story to something that is beautiful. Most books today are action-packed plot-centered novels that are reminiscent of the books turned out in the fiction department of the Ministry of Truth in Orwell's 1984. This book is not meant to be centered around plot, but rather it is a series of snapshots in the life of a man stuck in an uncomfortable position as he rises above his circumstances. Moreover, Death Comes for the Archbishop, is a classic because of its timeless themes. I recommend this book to anyone who can think beyond a plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    couldn't Pick It Up a second time

    I got to page 66 and fell asleep, its a good book for insomniacs. the title Death comes for the Archbishop, i was hoping he would have ben murdered and the other priest had to solve the murder, no such luck. to say it was boring is an understatement!!! highly not recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    Death didn't come quick enough

    Easily the most boring book I have ever read. One word to describe it, painful. You can only describe peach trees for so long until you want to kill yourself from boredom. No real story line/plot, no character development, no excitement. The book is impossible to follow, one minute Latuor is Albuquerque, the next paragraph she is talking about Indians, then they priests are in another completely different city with a completely different story. Characters pop out of nowhere only to vanish just as quickly with no reference made ever again to them. This book was a complete waste of my time; I don't understand how anyone could find this book interesting/exiting or a masterpiece of literature.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Death came for me after I read this book

    This is by far the most boring book I've ever read. I admit it was a bit, A BIT, exciting, but it was difficult to get through the book. I couldn't help putting down the book just 5 minutes after picking it up. I don't recommend reading this book just to kill time because the book will just kill you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    An Assignment

    I had to read this book for an assignment, but even then, it was not bad. The psycological complexities and relationships between the characters and the nature around them is truly fascinating....if you can derive it from the text. Most do not look upon books like this in such a way, but if you do, it will truly heighten your enjoyment of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    Exciting but not

    I enjoyed the book but it was very hard to get into to. I do not recommend to read for leisure purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    Teenage Perspective

    Great review. I loved the book, and could hardly put it down. It got slow in a few places but other than that its wonderful. Pretty good considering the teenage attention span is so small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    The Mild West

    Charming tale of a priest and his life in the American West in the 1800's. I'm sure that if I knew more about the life of Ms. Cather, the book would get 5 stars. Epic in a television mini-series way, but proof that books are indeed superior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2