Customer Reviews for

Death Comes to Pemberley

Average Rating 3.5
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

recommended.

I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was...
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.

posted by yowen2010 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Pretty good...

    I was disappointed until i got to the last third of the book or so. The story line is much more interesting in the end (which i suppose is often the case with a good mystery, but this still seemed lacking). I also missed Jane's humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I can't believe I read the whole thing

    The language pulled me in during the sample read, so I decided to give this a try. But dear Jane, I'm so sorry I betrayed you! I lost my pride as well as my prejudice! Whatever made me think anyone else could succeed your original work? Death came to Pemberly painfully and much too slowly. It needed to be put out of its misery about two hundred pages sooner. If you are looking to be truly reminded of Austen's genius, reread her books. If you are looking for an absorbing murder mystery full of intrigue, you won't find that here either.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    stick to writing mysteries

    I expected more from P D James. She captured the mystery part but not the characters. The pert Elizabeth was too domesticated and Darcy was just efficiently dull.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book so boring, I confess I couldn't finish it. Whi

    I found this book so boring, I confess I couldn't finish it. While the author does a good job of capturing the vernacular of the time, the writing lacks any of the wit and social satire for which Jane Austen was so rightly praised. Still worse, the plot lacked any semblance of suspense for me. I simply didn't care whodunit. Reading P.D. James Author's note on this site, I can only say she should have heeded her own advice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Unlike a fair amount of the other readers I had no issues with t

    Unlike a fair amount of the other readers I had no issues with the way the author took P&P and worked with it to create somewhat of a sequel. However, I did have two issues: 1) The overview that I read before purchasing the book made it seem that Wickham was the one that was murdered, not Captain Denny...and let's be honest, who cares about Denny?, and 2) There seriously was no mystery over who killed him. I had my suspicions the entire time and was gravely disappointed that the murderer was someone you never even met in the book and was only alluded to a few times. To me most of the fun of a mystery is trying to guess who did it and this book wasn't fair to the reader, there's no way you could have guessed. Seriously, the author could have picked a way better murderer. I wasn't impressed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Blah

    Not well thought out. Way too much personal(character) thoughts and too much passed brought up. Conversations between charactets was limited and the story between darcy and elizabeth was poor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Mildly enjoyable but the storyline felt labored - also not enoug

    Mildly enjoyable but the storyline felt labored - also not enough Elizabeth and too much Mr. Darcy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A disappointment

    Too much rehashing of what we already know about the characters. Doesn't seem possible, but the DArcys were actually dull. This was certainly not we have come to expect from P. D. James.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Not Highly Recommended

    I did not enjoy the simplistic style of the author's writing. The events are plainly stated with little detail and basically no dialog. It doesn't do Jane Austen justice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    BETTER TITLE THAN BOOK

    I love Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice and looked forward to reading this continuing story. It was long, and at times I found it hard to stay focused in my reading. What should have taken just a couple days to read took weeks. Boring, drawn out, and a let down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    stupid

    STUPID

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Bored and Disappointed

    "This was extremely disappointing. The author spends way too much time recapping the original novel and it continues throughout, even in the epilogue. The plot is uninteresting and slow without any compelling mystery. Not worth a read."

    I agree with the above previous post. I am an Austen fan and as such should not be bombarded with the recapping of Pride and Prejudice. If you have not read the original then why even consider reading the "follow-up".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Interesting start, but disappointing second half

    I've read Austen, and some James. The combination sounded interesting, and the book gets off to a good start. But halfway through, it seems to completely lose its way, and turns into the haves vs the havenots. This battle is raging in a much more interesting way on our streets right now! Sadly, the whodunit here is completely unbelievable, farcical in fact, so the story goes nowhere. The only character the reader can care about - Wickham - turns out to have selfish and biased motives like the rest, so we stop caring. Solve this one, Ms. James - the reader buys this book hoping for at least a good yarn, then just gets a good yawn, and decides never to buy another one of your books. Whodunnit? Certainly not you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Lacked emotion

    I was so looking forward to this book and was pretty disappointed with it. As a crime novel it is decent but there are barely any scenes with Darcy and Elizabeth (and hardly any Elizabeth at all). It lacks emotion and rehashes too much...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Ok

    I enjoy books pertaining to the Pride and Prejudice characters. The mention of two couples from "Emma" was a nice touch. I love reading love stories, mysteries-pertaining murder, a who done it but this story was different for me. It touched on the current lifes of the characters but not enough to understand was going on. How did they arrive at this point where someone murdered Denny? The 'why' was addressed almost at the end of the book. Too much of the legal process was covered and although the three male characters who discovered the body did not believe Wickham did it; no one was out looking for the real murderer, not very realistic. All who have read Pride and Prejudice and books written about these characters know that Dacry is a man of action who would not stop at anything to help if he believed it was needed if Wickham. Maybe it just me, but I would not read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Boromg Boring

    The characters have lost all their spark and personality. I didnt like how the author had Elizabeth and Darcy keep apologizing for the misunderstandments in Pride & Prejudice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    PD James wrote this?

    Not being a fan of most additions to classics, I gave this some real consideration before buying, but after hearing a PD James interview on the radio, decided to give it a go. She is such a wonderful writer that I thought she could pull it off, but she could not. In order that the book could be read by modern readers with no Austen experience, everything from Pride and Prejudice is rehashed and explained until you can't bear any more. Near the end characters from other Austen novels are brought in and briefly affect the story in very nonsensical ways. I'm sorry to be so hard on Miss James, but it was truly awful. Here we are holding our breath to see what happens between Dalgliesh and Emma, and we are given this poor substitute. Let's hope the next book runs true to form.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved

    I know the reviews have been so so......I can't say it was much of a mystery, but PD James writing style didn't disappoint and had me reading non stop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Jane Austin and P. D. James

    Since I am an avid Jane Autin fan, I had to have this book. It was delightful and had a good blend of Austin and James. Fun to read. James captured all the Pride and Prejudice characters. I think Jane Autin would be pleased. No apology needed by Ms. James.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Well, I felt like it started out strong and I was interested and

    Well, I felt like it started out strong and I was interested and into it, but it lost me at the end, it was so disappointing. There was such promise and I felt like the author took the unfortunate, taudry,boring way out...if you're an Austen fan, maybe just skip it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18