Customer Reviews for

Death Comes to Pemberley

Average Rating 3.5
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

recommended.

I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was...
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.

posted by yowen2010 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Complete waste of good reading time

    This book was extremely disappointing. 3/4 of this book is an overview of Pride and Prejudice without any substance of its own.
    It is a complete waste of good reading time!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    If you love Jane Austen, don't read this book!

    I've always known that no one could replicate the beauty and wit of Jane Austen's work and I have avoided all modern-day reworking or additions to her novels. But after hearing an interview with P.D. James and a review of the book on NPR I decided to give it a chance. I should have known better. I do believe that any true Austen fan will be greatly disappointed. James' portrayals of the characters we love and loathe from 'Pride and Prejudice' bear little similarity to the ones that Jane created in the original. And the attempt to tie-in the Knightly's from 'Emma' and the Eliot's from 'Persuasion' was just too outrageous.

    This is the only book I have read by P.D. James and she may well be brilliant at telling other stories but she should have never taken on Austen.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Terrible

    It took me over a month to have the motivation to even finish this book. I love Austen's characters, however, they are completely unrecognizable in this novel. No wit whatsoever and entirely joyless.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    disappointing

    I typically avoid the many pride and prejudice inspired novels but gave this a try becausr I have liked other books by James. This was exremely disappointing. The author spends way too much time recapping the original novel and it continues throuh to the end, even in the epilogue. The plot is uninteresting and slow without any compelling mystery. Not worth a read.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    It was good in the beginning

    But by the time the trial began, I was ready to close the book. I did not care who did it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No!

    Cinderella should never have grandchildren or arthritis. A story well told ends when it ends. PD did literature a grave injustice.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    terrible

    the worst

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Foxylady

    I didn't quite enjoy this book. It dragged on way too long and frankly was told in the same manner as a newspaper article rather than a novel. I love P&P and this book is an insult to the characters , Elizabeth has no voice at all, and the quintesiential Darcy comes across as a self-involved ass. Wickham is portrayed as a charming, wronged man and there were way too many other unimportant people and worst of all the author managed to take the romance out of one of the most romantic couples ever created! BOO!


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Don't bother !

    I was very disappointed at the slow pace and flimsy story line. Pick something else......

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book so boring, I confess I couldn't finish it. Whi

    I found this book so boring, I confess I couldn't finish it. While the author does a good job of capturing the vernacular of the time, the writing lacks any of the wit and social satire for which Jane Austen was so rightly praised. Still worse, the plot lacked any semblance of suspense for me. I simply didn't care whodunit. Reading P.D. James Author's note on this site, I can only say she should have heeded her own advice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Unlike a fair amount of the other readers I had no issues with t

    Unlike a fair amount of the other readers I had no issues with the way the author took P&P and worked with it to create somewhat of a sequel. However, I did have two issues: 1) The overview that I read before purchasing the book made it seem that Wickham was the one that was murdered, not Captain Denny...and let's be honest, who cares about Denny?, and 2) There seriously was no mystery over who killed him. I had my suspicions the entire time and was gravely disappointed that the murderer was someone you never even met in the book and was only alluded to a few times. To me most of the fun of a mystery is trying to guess who did it and this book wasn't fair to the reader, there's no way you could have guessed. Seriously, the author could have picked a way better murderer. I wasn't impressed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Blah

    Not well thought out. Way too much personal(character) thoughts and too much passed brought up. Conversations between charactets was limited and the story between darcy and elizabeth was poor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    stupid

    STUPID

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Bored and Disappointed

    "This was extremely disappointing. The author spends way too much time recapping the original novel and it continues throughout, even in the epilogue. The plot is uninteresting and slow without any compelling mystery. Not worth a read."

    I agree with the above previous post. I am an Austen fan and as such should not be bombarded with the recapping of Pride and Prejudice. If you have not read the original then why even consider reading the "follow-up".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    PD James wrote this?

    Not being a fan of most additions to classics, I gave this some real consideration before buying, but after hearing a PD James interview on the radio, decided to give it a go. She is such a wonderful writer that I thought she could pull it off, but she could not. In order that the book could be read by modern readers with no Austen experience, everything from Pride and Prejudice is rehashed and explained until you can't bear any more. Near the end characters from other Austen novels are brought in and briefly affect the story in very nonsensical ways. I'm sorry to be so hard on Miss James, but it was truly awful. Here we are holding our breath to see what happens between Dalgliesh and Emma, and we are given this poor substitute. Let's hope the next book runs true to form.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Terrible!

    Where to start? Thrre is no coversations just narratiionn with quotation marks around the words. Exammple. "Didn't your husband meet him at your solicitor's office?" The answer wasn't yes or no with details about why each was there but a rambling discourse on who everybody is (as if the two speakers don't know as they see each other all the time) and where their families are from and how the children are rapturous to be around him for TWO PAGES The voice is no different than the marrator and no personality is developed. This is truly a dreadful book and inspired me to write my first review. PD James is one of my favorite authors: just because the theme requires different linguistic style shouldn't stop voice and character development . I agree. Hard to believe pd wrote this twaddle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    Don't waste your time with this book. A nightmare for the true Austen fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Another of those British books that go on and on.  I gave up on

    Another of those British books that go on and on.  I gave up on page 100 because there we too many characters to follow any longer.  And i just didn't care who killed Denny.  Sort of well written nonsense. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I am a member of a Book Club and, "Death Comes to Pemberley

    I am a member of a Book Club and, "Death Comes to Pemberley" is the book we were given to read for this month. Since "Pride and Prejudice" has always been a favorite of mine, I was looking forward to reading, "Death....." but, unfortunately, I can't tell you just how dreadful I thought the book was. The storyline was contrived, the conclusion basically nonsensical and, overall, I'm sorry I took the time to read this book. One of my Book Club ladies agrees with me wholeheartedly! AnnieT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Disappointed - Expected more from PD James

    I expect actual detecting in my murder mysteries; there was absolutely none in this book. Only long tortured explanations that were offered only after the murder is already solved.
    I very much enjoy James' other mysteries with Wimsey but what was the publisher thinking in letting this through?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3