Customer Reviews for

Death Comes to Pemberley

Average Rating 3.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

recommended.

I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was...
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.

posted by yowen2010 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Decent, but forced. Missed an oppurtunity.

    James accomplished a great imitation of Austen's writing style, but missed an oppurtunity to allow a strong female character to shine. Elizabeth seemed pushed aside and dependent on the men folk to sort out the sordid mess. I felt that there was a juicy story, but the novel was so uncomfortable with the situation it did not want to bother any one with the morbid details and wanted to quickly find a solution that did not besmirch the name of any one important.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    stick to writing mysteries

    I expected more from P D James. She captured the mystery part but not the characters. The pert Elizabeth was too domesticated and Darcy was just efficiently dull.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    This is not our Lizzy...

    I am a fan of Pride and Prejudice "sequels" and I read a lot of mystery. I enjoyed this book on neither count.
    The story could have taken place on any manor in any place at just about any time. I can honestly say that I almost didn't care at all about the mystery - I only kept reading to get to the next scene with Darcy and Elizabeth. There are few and the characters are just about absent. Elizabeth has none of her passion and Darcy none of the affection that we want and expect.
    The mystery aside from Darcy and Elizabeth is only so-so. The ending should be a complete surprise, but like I said, I only mildly cared. I have read "Children of Men" but I don't think I'll pick up anothe PD James unless it falls in my lap.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Pretty good...

    I was disappointed until i got to the last third of the book or so. The story line is much more interesting in the end (which i suppose is often the case with a good mystery, but this still seemed lacking). I also missed Jane's humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Mildly enjoyable but the storyline felt labored - also not enoug

    Mildly enjoyable but the storyline felt labored - also not enough Elizabeth and too much Mr. Darcy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Ok

    I enjoy books pertaining to the Pride and Prejudice characters. The mention of two couples from "Emma" was a nice touch. I love reading love stories, mysteries-pertaining murder, a who done it but this story was different for me. It touched on the current lifes of the characters but not enough to understand was going on. How did they arrive at this point where someone murdered Denny? The 'why' was addressed almost at the end of the book. Too much of the legal process was covered and although the three male characters who discovered the body did not believe Wickham did it; no one was out looking for the real murderer, not very realistic. All who have read Pride and Prejudice and books written about these characters know that Dacry is a man of action who would not stop at anything to help if he believed it was needed if Wickham. Maybe it just me, but I would not read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Just okay. The book was good, there just wasn't enough substance

    Just okay. The book was good, there just wasn't enough substance to it. I kept waiting for some plot tension or suspense, but it never came about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Entertaining, but not Austen.

    To keep it short and sweet, this novel was definitely entertaining, the plot surprising and twisting, but it doesn't hold the magic of Pemberley. Our cast of characters are dark and each action is made with sense and unfeeling. Not a real drama or climax, just the factual telling of murder and all that follows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Frankly not too fond of all her books just certain ones

    Therefore as am not a strict austin reader am not that pickey. Frankly for her age is very good that she can go into a different era and this may be one of her last unless she has held back a novel like christie isnt she 90? if collect all her novels as i have sayer and heyer mysteries then get this in hard cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Yyyytumiq

    Vbnfuiaeeededudrrruppi. q

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    The characters were not the beloved characters of Jane Austen.

    The characters were not the beloved characters of Jane Austen. They were Ms. James interpretation of these characters. To me, the actions and thoughts of the characters did not jibe with what I believe her characters would have thought and done. Her attempt at writing in the style of Jane Austen came out stilted and awkward. The mystery was interesting, as is always true of Ms. James' work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great for James AND Austen fans!

    I love P.D. James. I've never been a huge Jane Austen fanatic. "Death Comes to Pemberley," while a good story, is written in "Austenish," a writing style that I just can't get too excited about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Recommended!

    I enjoy this novel. It starts out a bit slow - mostly because the author is explaining Jane Austen's novel Pride & Prejudice to the readers that may not have read P&P and no very little about the relationships of the characters. It picks up around chapter four with the introduction of newer characters. But that's really as far as I am going to go - no spoilers here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    The night before the Lady Anne ball there is a murder on the Woo

    The night before the Lady Anne ball there is a murder on the Woodlands of Pemberley estate. Elizabeth and Darcy are having a family dinner when the are informed of the murder, and Darcy,the Colonial and the lawyer form a search party. They are surprised to find Darcy's brother-in-law leaning over the body. This is a great storyline and the characters are well developed. P.D. James has done it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    It was good unto itself.

    Once you leave the expectation behind that this story will be a true continuation of P & P, this was an okay story. Because, truly, no one can be Jane Austen but Jane Austen. But the author did produce a good story along the guidelines she was given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Okay read

    I enjoyed most of the book, but was a little disapointed with the last quarter. It left me wanting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    A Little Too Predictable

    A fun read, but I sorted out the crime midway through the book. Loved having more insight into Darcy's psyche. And loved the characters, as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Good

    Interesting could of been a little better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    good but not as riveting as i had hoped.

    It is fun to be immersed in the world of pemberly though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5