Customer Reviews for

Death Comes to Pemberley

Average Rating 3.5
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

recommended.

I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was...
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.

posted by yowen2010 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    Being a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice I was not expecting this to be as good as it was. It was a little predictable, but still entertaining. I only cringed once or twice when I felt like the author had misinterpreted the original.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT NARRATION

    With a dulcet mannerly voice Rosalyn Landor is the perfect actress to bring the writing of Jane Austen and P. D. James to life. Many will remember her for her television appearances in Rumpole of the Bailey and Sherlock Holmes in which she also so memorably captured the British sound. Her voice control is superb as she segues easily in conversations between Elizabeth and Jane - listeners have no doubt which sister is speaking. This is an extraordinary listening experience - do believe Jane Austen herself would approve.

    The story begins some time after the ending of Pride and Prejudice - long enough for Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet to become engaged, marry, have two children and seemingly have settled happily into life at Darcy¿s magnificent estate, Pemberley. The year is 1803, the eve of the grand Lady Anne¿s ball, and the Bingley¿s have come.

    Elizabeth is, of course, delighted to see her beloved sister, Jane, and the two are happily looking after final preparations for the ball when an unexpected visitor arrives - a carriage careens up the driveway carrying a woman who is screaming hysterically - none other than Lydia Bennet Wickham. She married a handsome rogue who was well paid to make a respectable woman of her. Now, her husband is soon discovered deep in the woodland, covered with blood, bending over the dead body of his dear friend, Captain Denny. Quite obviously, Denny has been viciously murdered (although we¿re treated to explanations from local medical experts), and Wickham is charged with the crime.

    There are many hidden secrets at Pemberley, including the life of Darcy¿s grandfather who built a cottage for himself in the woodland where he lived and died accompanied only by his faithful dog. Now, the only residents of the woodland are the Bidwell¿s, a family headed by a man who has served Pemberley with pride for many years.

    I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of Rosalyn Landor¿s narration.

    - Gail Cooke

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved

    I know the reviews have been so so......I can't say it was much of a mystery, but PD James writing style didn't disappoint and had me reading non stop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A Great Read! ~ But Beware...not a Romance!!!

    I am a reader of all things Austen and I truly enjoyed this novel. But beware - it's not nor was it intended to be a romance novel. Darcy and Elizabeth are a bit flat with each other, but this is about a murder mystery/trial NOT mushy stuff. It's sort of Sherlock Holmes meets Jane Austen. If that sounds good to you then you'll enjoy it!!! Want a good romance - Check out Echoes of Pemberley! Recommended below!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Enjoyable L'homage to Austen

    --and a good mystery!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    An essence of Austen herself!

    I must commend P.D. James on such a wonderful "sequel" to Jane Austen's classic "Pride and Prejudice". I have long been a fan of Austen and particularly "Pride" and to see the characters return and developed further is a wonderful surprise. It's almost as if Ms. Austen is back among us to further her great work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Ms. James captures the cadence of the language of the period. T

    Ms. James captures the cadence of the language of the period. The story captures the attention and the plot is well-developed. The main problem I have is with Col. Fitzwilliam. The way Ms. James portrays him, especially in regards to his growing feelings for Georgiana does not ring true. Overall though, Ms. James can join Carrie Bebris is offering readers a glimpse of what might follow after Jane Austen's story ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    3 1/2 stars

    Good read, always fun to revisit Darcy and Elizabeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Interesting

    I wasnt sure if PD James could pull this off, but i think she came close as a Jane Austen fan wasn'sure it was a good idea to try; I think she did a good job in her version of a sequel to P & P; however, I think she misread the relationship between D & E a little and it would have been more interesting to have them work Nick & Nora style to solve the murder. I would have given it 5 stars if Lydia & Wickham would received their comeuppance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Flashback to Jane Austen

    P. D. James has managed to combine my two favorite things....murder and Darcy! I have to admit to being a little skeptical at first but....nothing ventured, nothing gained...and a gain it was! Ms. James has managed to keep the characters as we know them but add the twist of mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Enjoyable and a fun read, though not as clever or exciting a sto

    Enjoyable and a fun read, though not as clever or exciting a story as the usual PD James books. Buying this book did motivate me to go back and re-read Pride & Prejudice, however--had forgotten what a wonderful book that is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    I have always enjoyed the characters from Pride& Prejudice,

    I have always enjoyed the characters from Pride& Prejudice, so I was glad to find a book that followed those characters further into their fictional futures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Not her best one

    A bit confusing until I got used to who's who. I missed Adam Dagliesh. I prefer her mystery in which Adam is the inspector. An okay read which I would recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    If you are a fan of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, the

    If you are a fan of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, then this novel will not disappoint. There are multiple Austen spinoffs, but this one, along with Laurie Viera Rigler’s Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict, are a fun read. Having never read a P.D. James novel before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. There was some definite apprehension on my part that it will not live up to the original spirit. Those trepidations were soon gone, however. At first, it was a bit strange to read about my favorite characters from P&P, but they were handled with respect and care.

    A ball was one day away from being held at Pemberley. But Mr. and Mrs. Darcy had to cancel festivities due to a murder on the premises. Many of the characters from P&P came alive again, in the spirit of Jane Austen’s original vision. It was fun to read about Bingley, Jane, Georgina, Colonel Fitwilliam and even Lydia and Wickham. Even the Gardinars and Mr. Bennet had small parts. The only downfall was not having Kitty in the mix. I thought she could have been used to further the plot without complicating it. Especially since she was influenced by Lydia’s behavior while growing up.

    I applaud P.D. James for a job well done. Death Comes to Pemberley was written by a great mystery writer, who was able to add suspense, new characters and yet remain true to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    P.D. James is a Genius

    P.D. James dlearly loves Pride & Prejudice and knows it inside out. To adapt her writing style to Jane Austen's writing style is like Meryl Streep's acting out a new character down to the mannerisms, speech and accent. Great imagination and fantastic means of filling in the reader as to what has happened in the past six years and what happened years ago (the stuff the Jane Austen did not fill us in on). Her mystery novels are spectacular though somewhat difficult to read if you are in a busy place like an airport. This novel could be read easily anywhere and anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    enjoyable read

    This book was a pleasant surprise. Alot of the other Austen-sequels I’ve read have left something to be desired, and I was slightly leery of the concept of a mystery set at Pemberley. The first chapter moves a little slowly through a review of P&P, but after that I haven’t been able to put it down. The mystery plot is period-appropriate and makes for an entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Enjoyable

    While I love Austen, I hate mysteries but my mom recommended this book. I admit it was an enjoyable book but not something I usually would pick to read on my own. It is entertaining and I would recommend it if you love Pride & Prejuidice and need something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    A good read. PD James fans will like this

    Heard about the book on NPR. Like Jane Austen, like P.D. James. Thought I'd try it. Well written in the Austen style with a taste of James. Also gives one a sense of how justice was served in Austen's day. Not great literature but still very good. Suggest you read it and decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Easy Read

    Easy to read and didn't try to hard as some authors do when emulating Jane Austen, enjoyed the premise very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Surprising Jane

    I think even Jane would be pleased. It was really the author that enticed me to even consider the book. PD James is an 'excellent' mystery writer with many kudos justifiably attributed to her, but I didn't realize how adept she would be at 'imitating' Austen's style. This book is a kind of a best of both worlds - the world of mystery and the world of Austen (yes, she does have her own world). A fan of either genre will not be disappointed. Since I don't want to give anything away let me simply say that James follows the characters developed by Austen witout missing a beat. She also captures the flavor of the time. And she wraps this all in a excellent mystery worthy of her talent. Death Comes to Pemberley is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4