Customer Reviews for

Death Comes to Pemberley

Average Rating 3.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

recommended.

I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was...
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.

posted by yowen2010 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    recommended.

    I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    James and Auten: You can't go wrong

    This was a terrific sequal and tells us what James thinks happened next. Add a mystery and you have a winner! I'm read most of James and all of Austen. In fact, have reread much of both. James captured the spirit of Austen with a Jamesian plot. One of the few books I have read cover to cover is almost one sitting.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Cant wait!

    6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Jane Austin and P. D. James

    Since I am an avid Jane Autin fan, I had to have this book. It was delightful and had a good blend of Austin and James. Fun to read. James captured all the Pride and Prejudice characters. I think Jane Autin would be pleased. No apology needed by Ms. James.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Leaders den

    The smalest of the dens. Vines almost cover the entire entrance.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Love!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Typical PD James

    Started as a difficult read in the prologue but as the story continued it turned into a charming and intriguing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    James last hurrah is different

    A remarkable book and change of direction for the 90 year old author could this have been a lay away book for her old age she did an essay ln jane austin as a mystery writer much earlier 1980? Mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    If you love Jane Austen then you will love this book.  After Pri

    If you love Jane Austen then you will love this book.  After Pride and Prejudice you think that Darcy and Elizabeth will have a happy ending.  If you have ever wanted to know what happens next this beautifully written novel continues the story.  P. D. James keeps you turning the pages and makes you feel like you are back at Pemberly.  I really enjoyed this novel's murder mystery.
       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Austen fans must read

    If you love Pride and Prejudice you will P. D. James continuation of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Superbly done!

    P.D. James never fails to produce work that is superb. You will enjoy the meld of Austin's PRIDE AND PREJUDICE with James' mystery. It is not neccessary to read Austin's work first - James brings you immediately into the story of Darcy and his lovely wife, Elizabeth. A fine mystery and enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Flat

    Many writers have used Austen as a basis for their craft. This one falls very flat. The plot has little suspense and it is difficult to relate to the characters. Mr. Darcy's characterization is particularly bad. Skip this one. True Austen fans will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Great writing!

    As a huge Jane Austen fan, this was thoroughly enjoyable. Good mystery and great writing - James does a good job of mimicking the polite, old fashioned Austen style. Recommended reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    completely satisfying

    I love how PD James keeps the characters intact. Definitely recomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Lenn

    *completly tears the place apart* WHY? WHY DID I HAVE TO DO IT?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Amazing Book! First P. D. James book I have ever read and thouro

    Amazing Book! First P. D. James book I have ever read and thourougly enjoyed it, i couldnt put it down! I also recommended it to all the Austen lovers in my family!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    Great story line. Highly recommend it!

    My Nook Color version was missing 2 pages so I had to read around that part of the story, I really did enjoy this book. The author was able to dissect the characters in a direction that was both enthralling and mysterious. I highly recommend this for any Jane Austen fan. They will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    This is the only way to do it right

    There have been many books capitalizing on the popularity of Pride and Prejudice. I have read many of them, and until this book, I have not liked a single one of them.
    P.D. James does it right. Her writing style is not stilted. She keeps the characters as they were in the original, and the novel puts Elizabeth and Darcy into believable situations and conversations for a newly wed couple. Lydia and her husband are a major factor, and they behave as you would expect them to. This book is new--not zombies, not a hackneyed copy of the original with new names--and it works. I really enjoyed it, and I'm happy that P.D. James is publishing again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Anything but dull. James is an excellent writer and the twists

    Anything but dull. James is an excellent writer and the twists and turns of the text keeps the pages turning. At first keeping up with the character's names was challenging but the complexity of story lines and well crafted sentences kept my interest until the end. This is my second novel by her and I intend to read all she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    F Ashely

    I luv this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5