Customer Reviews for

The Death Cure (Maze Runner Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(761)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Great conclusion to the trilogy

I was gifted the first two books of this series for Christmas and quickly devoured them, which resulted in high expectations for The Death Cure. Fortunately, I was really pleased with the third and final installment in this trilogy by Mr. Dashner. Granted, there were mo...
I was gifted the first two books of this series for Christmas and quickly devoured them, which resulted in high expectations for The Death Cure. Fortunately, I was really pleased with the third and final installment in this trilogy by Mr. Dashner. Granted, there were moments in the middle where the book seemed to drag a little given the rapid pace established earlier in the series. However, I did not feel it significantly detracted from the overall story. This was a great read and for comparison purposes, I would rank it slightly above Mockingjay, the final book in The Hunger Games series.

posted by hewitt on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

That's it?!

I have raved about this series to everyone and i could hardly wait for the conclusion. This last book was a huge let down. It felt like the author didn't know how to wrap everything up for the conclusion. It was boring and slow. There were moments between the characters...
I have raved about this series to everyone and i could hardly wait for the conclusion. This last book was a huge let down. It felt like the author didn't know how to wrap everything up for the conclusion. It was boring and slow. There were moments between the characters and the employees of wicked where thomas wasn't running for his life and actual answers could have been given. Instead, i feel like i just read a whole lot of nothing. If the author didn't know how to conclude the story he should have waited. I feel like i just ran in circles like a chicken with its head cut off. Not my idea of a good time.

posted by 10232722 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    That's it?!

    I have raved about this series to everyone and i could hardly wait for the conclusion. This last book was a huge let down. It felt like the author didn't know how to wrap everything up for the conclusion. It was boring and slow. There were moments between the characters and the employees of wicked where thomas wasn't running for his life and actual answers could have been given. Instead, i feel like i just read a whole lot of nothing. If the author didn't know how to conclude the story he should have waited. I feel like i just ran in circles like a chicken with its head cut off. Not my idea of a good time.

    49 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great conclusion to the trilogy

    I was gifted the first two books of this series for Christmas and quickly devoured them, which resulted in high expectations for The Death Cure. Fortunately, I was really pleased with the third and final installment in this trilogy by Mr. Dashner. Granted, there were moments in the middle where the book seemed to drag a little given the rapid pace established earlier in the series. However, I did not feel it significantly detracted from the overall story. This was a great read and for comparison purposes, I would rank it slightly above Mockingjay, the final book in The Hunger Games series.

    38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Extremely disappointing!

    This was an extremely disappointing ending to a semi-ok series. A friend recommended this series to me after reading the Hunger Games. It took me a while to get into this series but they kept telling me it gets better. Once the series finally got better I think it just got horrible! The ending of this series was a complete let down! The writer left so many loose ends, it felt like he just got bored with writing this and wanted to complete it. How can you just leave it with a ¿happy ending¿? Why can¿t you tell us more about their memories!? Who is Brenda? What about the chancellor?! You bring in all these characters and try to develop them but fail. UGH I¿m still frustrated!
    It¿s unfortunate, but I will not recommend this series to anybody unless they are looking for a book that teases that it¿s good and then leaves you hanging. My series of choice is still The Hunger Games.

    27 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wow.

    James Dahner is a master of playing with the human mind. He toys with the fear we all have as humans; the end of the world. In The Death Cure, we get to experiance Dahners thrilling version of the end of the world. As you know of course the Flare is making all who are not immune go slowly crazy, and the worst part is they know it too, yet another fear of the human mind.
    I envite a person of high school age and above to engulf themselves in Thomas, Minho, and all the others who find themselves competing against WICKED, story. Dashner is a brilliant writer and this book appeals to all.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    To amazing

    I have also read the first to books and the maximum ride books and they all are truly phenomonal.i strongly encourage anyone who sees this to read the maze runner series.

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    can't wait

    I love the maze runner series. So fantastic. Can't wait to read the next book.

    19 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Death cure.

    Excellent start.bit slow, but that is what pulls it together. I HAVE READ THE SERIES, and it is a series you will not put down.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The ending is not good enough for the trilogy

    i liked all the maze runner books tons but i hate the ending of this book. I personally think teresa better than brenda. So naturally i hate the ending of the book.

    12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Makes me angry

    The first two books were amazing. I loved them both. They were filled with excitement and they kept you reading until you finished the entire book. This book wasn't exciting and did the opposite of making me want to continue reading. I had enough of it and stopped reading half way into the book. Thomas's decisions and lack of understanding of what Theresa did for him just makes me incredibly angry. Everything is dragged on and on and honestly, it's just very boring. I had to skip over some parts because of all of the useless information. Skip this book. Don't waste your time on it.

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put this book down.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great series

    I liked the whole series. It had great characters and it was very suspenseful. Must read!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Disappointing

    First of all, terrible title. There is no cure for death, since it is not a disease, and that is not what they are trying to cure.

    Dashner has great ideas in this series, but executes them poorly. There are so many questions left unanswered, and they are the most intriguing, suspenseful questions in the story (What was Thomas' perception of WICKED before The Maze? Why did he help them? What were his memories that they blocked from him? And why was that necessary?). I hope these get answered in The Kill Order, though I'm doubtful I will read it.

    In the end, this series accomplishes nothing and leaves us just as confused as the Gladers when they first started this adventure.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    OMG!!!!!!!!!CANT WAIT ANY LONGER!!!

    I have been waiting forever!! I just hate it wen authers leave a cliff hanger and u have to wait forever for the next book to come out.if u havent red this series yet u should! This an awesome series

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Unaware of his surroundings, Thomas opens his eyes warily, only

    Unaware of his surroundings, Thomas opens his eyes warily, only to see white. White everything. The walls, the floor, the ceiling. Thomas had lost his orientation of nighttime and daytime. This seemed to last forever, until one day/night, Janson-a.k.a. "Rat Man"- walks in and lays it all down to Thomas. "The Trials are over Thomas. You're immune to the Flare, always have been always will be, and you now have the option to get your memories back". After all WICKED had put him through, after all his struggles with these "Trials", they expect Thomas to believe them? But WICKED is depending on the Gladers and Group B to help them form a cure for the Flare. What are Thomas and his friends to do? Save themselves? Or submit themselves to potential torture to attempt to save the human race? Boy. What. A. Book. Absolutely an outstanding read. Written so descriptively that the entire book seemingly plays out in your head as you read. I especially enjoyed how the bonds between friends loosen to nearly a thread, only for them to be brought together again. The vocabulary contained in the novel will most likely not trouble anyone above grade six, keeping it a pretty quick read, even for a 300+ page book. Recommendations include, but are not limited to readers of: Fantasy, Action, Strong relationships, and Dystopian novels.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Wow

    Loved it! Great conclussion, the trilogy keeps getting better and better! I recommend the books to young adults and adults, not children, too many deaths. This is a book that kept me reading, I couldnt stop! Amazing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    I love this book

    I will give this book a 4 out of 5 but it is coollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    A must read

    If you have not read the maze runner trilogy well READ IT!!! This is a must read.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite the ending I hoped for...

    The Death Cure is the final chapter of Dashner's dystopian Maze Runner trilogy. Though I enjoyed the first two books, my liking for the third pales in comparison to previous installments. I was hoping for something really climactic and I feel cheated because all I'm left with is a bunch of unanswered questions. How was mapping their reactions to the trials going to create a cure? To what extent were Thomas and Teresa involved with WICKED? Why was Thomas so much more important? I don't always need my endings to be tied up in a pretty little bow, but Dashner places so much emphasis on certain things that, by the end, you expect to get those answers. Another problem I had with this book is that I found most of the main characters to be one-dimensional and flat. Thomas is annoying and weak, Brenda is underdeveloped and Teresa is dull. Clearly Dashner has some issues with writing multifaceted lead characters, particularly with regard to women, which is a shame because his knack for writing engaging sidekicks is quite good. Let's just say, my love for Newt and Minho was enough to let me get over my issues with the rest of the cast. These guys are the two whose fates I genuinely cared about and they are the ones I was really rooting for. It just sucks because Dashner puts them through the ringer and no one made it out unscathed! Overall, I really enjoyed the series though this book was my least favourite of the three. As a whole, I think the series could've been parred down to either one really long book or made into two, because so much happens that wasn't necessary to the main plot. And I know it sounds like I hated The Death Cure, I didn't. There were heart-pounding moments that kept me on the edge of my seat. It was an appropriate locale to end the book, bringing the series around full circle. Perhaps the best thing about the book is that Dashner gets you thinking about right versus wrong and how the answers aren't always in black and white. You start to wonder, does the end really justify the means? Is either force justified in their extreme actions? To The Death Cure's credit, I will say this--- it leaves you pondering those thought-provoking questions long after you finish reading.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Please note- there are a few SPOILERS in my review. I loved rea

    Please note- there are a few SPOILERS in my review.

    I loved reading the Maze Runner and while my interest started to wane with the Scotch Trials I was still excited to read the Death Cure. While Dashner does try to answer some of the questions regarding "the flare" - I don't think he provided answers that were in depth enough to satisfy me. Many of the characters remained flat and undeveloped to me and I wished that Dashner would have gone into more detail about their regained memories. I also didn't care for the cliche triangle between Teresa, Brenda, and Richard. Not to mention that Richard just seemed become attached to Brenda to quickly. Overall, Dashner's writing just seemed to become lazy to me - It's like he got caught up in his own maze-like (lol!) writing and didn't know finish the series so he decided to rely on cliches such as the return to the maze and the showdown with rat man. Also, what a misleading title given the events in the book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great but ending was twisted and confusing. Very unexpected and not appreciated.

    The book was excellent, except that it was so confusing until I finished the book. Terrible ending. Thats my point of view. I really expected, and wished, that Theresa's and Brenda's fate swiched. We don't even no much of Brenda! Theresa is more fit for him! Should have been so much better and more realistic and understanding that Brenda was the one who... you-know-what-to-those-who-finished-the-book. So much for an excellent serie with a twisted ending... :'( great book, but once again, bad ending.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 58