Customer Reviews for

Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    TO RILEY

    UR A PUS<_>SSY U DATED TWO PPL AT ONCE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    GO TO HYPERION RES ONE

    And have Fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Riley

    Speak of yourself bit<_>ch.plus who?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Raven to riley

    She looks at him and hisses bit.ch. se flies to him and whispers in ur ear. I am not he same raven u once knew. She bites ur ear softly and flies out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Riley to raven

    Thats it.im breaking up with you.im sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    All the books in the Alexandra Cooper series by Linda Fairstein are really good, and this book is no exception. Cooper gets into seemingly very dangerous situations and always survives. She is a very strong and likeable protagonist plus the reader gleans a lot of knowledge about New York City. I would highly recommend this series to everyone who enjoys reading entertaining, page-turning suspense, and highly intelligent characters. The detective named Mike also adds humor to this series so it is also funny at times. Overall, all these books are great reads no matter what one likes to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    P

    Predictable at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Loved it!

    Fairstein is great. Very entertaining and educating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Not Good

    First time I read a book by this author. Sorry, never again. I love mystery/ thrillers. This was just a bore. Struggled to finish it. Nothing likable about characters and the plot just wasn't there. Nothing happened until the end and the ending was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Love her stories

    I'm the type of reader that enjoys a good series. The characters in theses series are so touching and so heartwarming. I love every book in the series and am always checking to see when a new one is out, so that I can add it to my collection and spend a day full of none stop page turning excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Theater Thriller Is A Treat

    I confess what I enjoyed most about this mystery were the loving and well-researched descriptions of the Met and the City Center, where much of the action takes place. I didn't find any of the characters particularly likable, for some reason, but the story line is strong, if somewhat flawed by the silly cliffhanger ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Cute Mystery

    I picked this book up purely on the fact that the mystery took place at the Metropolitan Opera House where I once worked as a stagehand. I wanted to see for myself how factual and exact Mrs. Cooper had portrayed the backstage and I am happy to say she was right on!!! I am sad to say that story was bland and slightly exagerated. I was left with questions and fighting to stay awake as I struggle to turn the pages. If you're looking to pass some time away between old releases and new releases then I recommend grabbing a copy for yourself or you can watch American Idol to see whose been voted off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    One death, one rape

    The best investigative trio of Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace, both NYPD and Alex Cooper, Assistant DA, begin this story with the rape of two Canadian women who are attending a conference in New York. They had been drugged and raped while under the influence of the drug. Then they trio gets a call from the Lincoln Center¿s Metropolitan Opera House. A famous ballet dance has gone missing. Between trying to get the rapist for his crime and realizing how HUGE the Opera House really is, Alex and company have a big job ahead of them. First, they collect evidence from the rapist¿s home which shows the drug that was used. While waiting to get the rapist back from Turkey where he fled, they find the body of the dance. Now the question is who wanted her dead and why. Was it her husband who is miles away? Was it her agent or her sponsor? Any, of course, there is always the question of WHY. Linda Fairstein actually was a chief prosecutor in the Manhattan DA¿s office, Sex Crimes Unit, so she has first-hand knowledge of what she writes about. A story is always so much better when you can actually draw from real-life experiences and it shows in her writing. This is a great book, well written and one you shouldn¿t miss. The reader, Blair Brown, is clear but doesn¿t use ¿different voices¿ for each character. This makes it a bit hard to follow but you are still able to figure out who is who if you listen carefully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Booking Alex Cooper & her partners in crime!!!!!!!!

    THE BOOK OPENS WITH A VISIT TO THE ER WHERE ADA COOPER AND HER PARTNERS IN CRIME INVESTIGATE THE SEXUAL ASSAULT OF TOURISTS. AND THEN IT HAPPENED--A MURDER @ THE METROPOLITAN OPERA. WHO KILLED BALLET DANCER NATALYA GALINOVA, AND WHY? WAS IT JOE BERK? BRIGGS OR MONA BERK? CHET DOBBIS? ROSS KEHOE? RINALDO VICCI OR DR. SELIM SENGOR? OR WAS IT....? WAS THE HOMICIDE RELATED TO THE ATTEMPT ON LUCY DEVORE'S LIFE? THE PLOT THICKENS. AS THE INVESTIGATIONS CONTINUE INTO BOTH CRIMES, ONE OF THE SUSPECTS NEARLY GETS ELECTRICUTED STEPPING ON A MANHOLE COVER. AND TO TOP IT ALL OFF, ONE OF ALEX'S FRIENDS GETS ENGAGED, AND ASKS HER TO OFFICIATE AT THE CEREMONY ON THE VINEYARD. IT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULTY TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Boring

    Great plot but unfortunately page after page of the Met history & ballets make it very dull and boring to those of us not in the New York art scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine crime thriller

    As the assistant district attorney in charge of the Sex Crimes Prosecution Unit, Alex seeks to convict Dr. Selim Sengor for the drug facilitated rape of two Canadian women. Alex wants him denied bail since he could leave the country and return to Turkey but a judge who doesn¿t fully understand what rape is, lets him out on his own recognizance. --- While Alex works that case, she also investigates who murdered dancer Natalya Galinova with her detective friends Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace. At first they thought she walked out of the Metropolitan Opera House after having an argument with Broadway businessman, Joe Berk over a juicy role in one of the plays produced in his theatres since she is getting too old to play the younger parts. That hope is dashed when her body is found broken in a ventilation shaft, the victim of a homicide. A couple of days later Joe is almost electrocuted but the authorities determine it was an accident. Illegally gotten DNA points to Berk as a suspect but Alex has no probable cause to request it through channels. The closer Alex gets to closing out both investigations, the more she puts her life in danger. --- One of the very best qualities of Linda Fairstein crime thrillers is that it accurately reflects real life. Not every case comes to a satisfactory conclusion as suspects disappear before they can be convicted and judges don¿t always hand down a ruling that makes a prosecutor happy. Readers get a behind the scenes of dance in New York with all the petty jalousies and jockeying for position just as they learn that date rape drugs do not lessen the realities of the crime. Ms. Fairstein is a great storyteller who uses real life experiences to create a storyline that is realistic and which stars likable heroes battling criminals and at times the system. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2