Customer Reviews for

Death Magnetic

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Addendum

I've already posted a review on this album, but I've got to tell you, the more you listen to this album the more you'll love it. It's the best thing they've put out since Justice (it's better than the Black album and definitely WAY better than anything after that). My...
I've already posted a review on this album, but I've got to tell you, the more you listen to this album the more you'll love it. It's the best thing they've put out since Justice (it's better than the Black album and definitely WAY better than anything after that). My personal faves are Broken, Beat & Scarred...Cyanide...and The Judas Kiss....but all the tracks are good. Definitely go buy this CD!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

terrible album by metallica

terrible from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by DarkLotusICP4life on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Addendum

    I've already posted a review on this album, but I've got to tell you, the more you listen to this album the more you'll love it. It's the best thing they've put out since Justice (it's better than the Black album and definitely WAY better than anything after that). My personal faves are Broken, Beat &amp Scarred...Cyanide...and The Judas Kiss....but all the tracks are good. Definitely go buy this CD!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the best metal band since black sabbath

    this band is the best of the best finally this new albums shows off the early years of metallica this band is the best of the best this album also introduces us to a new metallica instrumental which metallica has not made up another instrumental since cliff passed away this album is full of awesome guitar solos also awesome guitar riffs thanks metallica for doing another instrumantal

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TAKING BACK THE CROWN!!

    This is the album that Metallica fans have been waiting for. From the first note to the last it's in your face, brutally fast, and amazing. Some will say James doesn't have the voice he used to. Maybe he doesn't, but he has been singing his brains out for almost 30 years, and it's still one of the best voices in metal. This might end up being Metallica's finest hour. At the very least, they just ripped the metal crown out of everyone elses hands and rammed it down their throat! This will be the best album you'll buy for a long time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    terrible album by metallica

    terrible from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this band is alot more orginial than nickelback

    after i heard alot bad things about a band called nickelback and how many people bashed on their latest effort dark horse i came across this cd i went to barnes and noble picked it got come put onto my itunes library i also bought master of puppets kill'em all and ride the lightning but i had to listen to this album first because its their latest cd wow all the songs are awesome trujillo shows off his bass talent kirk doing solos again its just wow this band is just great they made it thru the 80s and they have got alot of talent the next metallica cds i have to pick up are st anger the black album load and reload i love death megnetic<3333333 the best tho

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Its no that good, but its better than St. Anger

    I listened to a few of these songs and their not good. They have been going downhill ever sence the black album. its better than St. Anger though, but still not even close to as good as their older stuff

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally!

    I got the digital download yesterday afternoon from the Mission Metallica website and I'm stoked! I've only listed to the album in its entirety once and I love it. Don't let St. Anger dissuade you from buying this - Death Magnetic is much better from both a lyrical and musical standpoint. I personally LOVE James Hetfield's voice...and no lie, I think it's better now than it was 20 years ago. Fans have been waiting for this album for around 5 years - don't miss out on it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this album is going to be super sweet

    i saw the track listing for this album and i can just tell this album is going to be alot better than st anger and its going to be just as hard and as heavy as early metallica cds i beileve this album is going to be just as heavy as both the black album and reload and just as heavy as kill'em all ride the lightning and master of puppets and ...and justice for all

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Is Metallica too old for metal?

    After hearing one of the cuts off the new album, (the Day that Never Comes) , I was pleased to not hear the tingy piccolo snare that Lars used on St. Anger. However, being a fan of the Old School Metallica, I must say that Death Magnetic (from what I've heard) is a long awaited return to thought-invested Metallica. James Hetfield's voice is definitely not what it used to be, but he is pushing 50 soon. I also was very pleased to actually hear some guitar solos on the new cut. Nevertheless, I am anxiously awaiting September 12th and hope that I will not be thoroughly dissappointed. Metallica has now been around for at least 25 years, so I can't expect too much, but they just better add some freakin sustain to their guitars!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    back and rocken hard

    i herd two tracks from this cd/ the day that never comes and cyanyde. great tracks kind of has the old metallica feel to them cupple of the tracks i herd has a feel of there classic 1988 cd and justice for all. looking forward to picking up this cd when it hits the stores so i can pop in on the stereo crank it up and listen to it in its entirtty.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's about time!!

    All I can say is Thank you Rick Rubin. This is the album these guys should have done a long time ago, instead of continuing with Bob Rock. There are still a few songs that remind me of the Load time period, but this album starts out great and loses some steam as you get to the end, but it's still good. This a big step in the return of Metallica, as I had already given up on them, but gave this album a chance because of Rick Rubin and luckily it delivered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally!!! They're back!!!

    I have been a huge fan of Metallica since high school. i have listened and bought all of their albums except Re-load and St. anger, with St anger being the lowest point for the band. Metallica is considered to be metal gods, and the metal gods are back with a vengeance. for those of you who are still skeptical, think of this new album as a mix of &quot ride the lightning&quot and &quot Justice for all&quot . i consider this album to be a major comeback, and among the best of the band... not the best, but close. go buy it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Holy Crap!!!

    This baby was totally unexpected! When I'd heard early word of a return to form with Rick Rubin at the knobs, I like many, was unmoved. However, this record hits you like a ton of lead straight outta the gate. The speed is back. The gallup is back. The power is back. Something happened in the Metallica camp since St. Anger because they sound like an entirely different band. They sound like Metallica again. This is probably their most ferocious album since Master of Puppets. It really is a pleasure to hear these guys doing what they do again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They are definitely back!!!

    I'm so glad that the day finally came and the CD is here!!! For those of you that like old school metallica, then you are not going to be dissapointed. I'm relieved that it dosen't sound anything like St. Anger, specially the ringing that Lars had on the drums is gone, although the album wasn't that bad. Death Magnetic reminds me of Ride the Lightning a little bit, maybe some will disagre, but anyway it sounds awesome, heavy and great. I'm a picky person when it comes to music and I'm definitely pleased with my purchase.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Long Time Coming

    This is the best Metallica album in years. Loud. Fast. Dark. New and fresh and yet strangely vintage at the same time. This is a prime example of why Metallica are the greatest Gods of rock.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    When you see it, buy it

    This album is not one you need a second look at. the first time you listen to it you know its metallica at their best. Dont hesitate buying it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    metallica broke up in the begining of 2010!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    metallica officialy broke up in 2010!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    robert trujillo has left metallica for good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    metallica called it quits this album is the last album for the band because metallica broke up in 2010 at the end of the world magnetic tour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! recently metallica wanted pete wentz to be their bass player they even asked mcrs bassist to be their bassist as well in a recent interview james hetfield of metallica stated in the interview that metallica is no more because they stated robert was stealing the spotlight from the other members in the band during music video shots radio interviewers etc etc etc etc kirk hammett is sad that metallica broke up in 2010

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    metallica is no more they broke up in 2010

    robert trjuillo metallicas new bassist has officially left metallica due to creative diffences with both lars and james kirk recently told kerrang magazine that he just lost another brother and he was crying during the whole interview kerrang magazine asked robert why he left metallica he said both lars and james were pissing him off thats why he left metallica in 2010 metallica are currently on a search for a new bassist they stated they want jason newsted back in the band but it may not happen jason still is talking to lars and james about him wanting to come back to metallica jason newsted stated its posssible that he might return to metallica

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome album by the gods of heavy metal music

    awesome album by the gods of heavy metal music!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4