Customer Reviews for

Death Note: Another Note (Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    Awesome spin off!

    When I first picked up the book, I was expecting a poorly english-translated spin-off from an excellent show, but by the end of the book i was blown away. The characters were strong and the point of view was an interesting twist. This is definitely something i would read again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    My Daughter...

    Is in love with both the manga and anime series of Death Note and asked for this novel. It arrived last night and she is already half-way through it. She laughs, exclaims things she figures out before the character, and jumps up and down in excitement. I HIGHLY recommend this book to all fans of Death Note, both new and old alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    death note fan!!!!

    After I watched the movie L:change the world i was sooo sad that the series was over. and what happeened to L and watari really pissed me off but when i found this book i really felt that story wasn't over. this book really gives you more insight on what kind of character L is.<BR/>he is my favorite charater in the series and i was overwhelmed by how direct and thrilling the voices in the book made me. if u like death note. i promise you'll love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Awesome!

    Another Note is without a doubt my favorite book and the best book I have read in a long time. I would definitely recommend it to anyone--even if you aren't a fan of the series. It's done Death Note proud. ^-^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    At firstI was debating whether toread Death note or not. If your

    At firstI was debating whether toread Death note or not. If your having that same problem, let me help you solve it; READ IT!!!! It was perfectly paced and it left me
    breathless. Its amazing the way NISIOISIN makes you conect to the characters. You grieve with them, laugh with them, and sometimes just want to punch them in the face. If your wondering whether to get this book, again Im telling you that its a great buy. Its crime, mystery, romance, and horror all mixed into one, its the package deal! I hope this helped and if you get it(which you should) enjoy! But I bet you will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Death Note - Worth your time

    Im very picky with books. Don't get me wrong, I love reading and books are great, but there are very few books out there that can keep me interested without getting bored after reading the first twenty pages.
    I've seen the Anime series and it was amazing! It's well thought out and the whole plot was great! Props! I'd have to admit, I bought the book at borders and it was pricey, but it was worth it. After reading the book, I couldn't wait to share it with my equally obsessed anything dealing with anime friends, and they went nuts about it. Just like the series I gave it two thumbs up and I'd give it more if I had extra thumbs. The characters were fun, and some I can relate to which was great. It allowed the story (although it was fiction) to be seen in this realistic point of view, and god forbids that some maniac decides to commit the same crime as Beyond Birthday. I bought the book a while back and I've finaly found the time to re-read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I loved this book!

    I love the Death Note Series and I thought that this spin off did it justice. The characters are well written and Ryuzaki is hilarious in his own strange way. If you love Death Note you'll love this book and even if you don't know what Death Note is you'll enjoy Another Note.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must For the Fans!

    I was curious if this novel would follow religiously in DeathNote's footsteps. In the end I was very pleased! The riddles Beyond Birthday left at each of the crime scenes were well thought out. The intricacy of each of them was profound and perplexing. I would highly recommend this to fans of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    This book is so good

    This book was amazing and i loved it so much. the characters were well wrote out and it was just amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    misora hotter than ever

    this is one of the best books in the whole series i have read all of them and seen the complete anime but this book is still soo great believe me this book is worth reading if u are a dn fan u would have it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    The Great L

    Death Note: Another Note, The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases by Nisiosin is a great book, even though it was made after the Anime-Manga TV Show Death Note. This book tells a story of what happened before L was after Kira. And what Near and Mellow were doing at the time when L was chasing Kira. Naomi Misora is included in this book helping L out on a case that he couldn¿t do on his own without her help. For most of us who watch this show, we don¿t really know much about L except for the fact the he is the world¿s greatest detective that solved over 3,500 crimes all on his own. On this case, The Los Angeles BB Murder Case, he needs the help of an FBI agent named Naomi Misora. She was suspended from her duties as an FBI at the time, and L thought that she could help because she thought differently than all the other agents. L needed Naomi because he was challenged by BB (Beyond Birthday), the Murderer. They were both raised up in the famous Wammy¿s house, where young children with amazing intelligence were raised. The challenge from BB was to see who would win with the case. L if he actually caught BB or if BB got away with the murders. Of course in the end L ends up winning but what is so interesting about this book is the way Naomi Misora and the help of another stranger that comes and joins the challenge unsolved the mystery which was so hard that not even the police could actually solve. With three murders in all, the first victim was Believe Bridesmaid and he was killed by strangulation after being drugged. The second victim was Quarter Queen. She was beaten to death, with her skull caved in from the front and eyes torn out. The Third victim was Backyard Bottomslash who was killed by being drugged then body parts taken away with death of loss of blood. Now the Fourth victim is what Naomi Misora have to prevent and catch the murderer too. To find out how this all turns out, you¿ll have to read the book! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes Anime, Mystery, and Detective Stories with a hint of gore on the side. If you also like solving mysteries this also takes you in step by step to solve the mystery with excitement. I personally enjoyed this book because I am a huge fan of Death Note, and I love reading Fiction and Detective novels. I hope if any of you choose to read this you¿ll have as much fun as I did. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Terrific book

    NisiOisiN did a terrific job capturing the Death Note atmosphere in this novel, its definitely worth owning if you are a fan of Death Note!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    One of the best spin offs ever

    Although it was short it was still one of the best books I've read in a while. With the purposefully novice Mello writing in an correcting himself. Its filled with the sarcastic humor the morbid DN fan loves, the gore the hardcore love. A right amount of soft but powerful words the fluffy fans adore and the confusing riddles the mindtwisters need. It also gives an indepth look on the characters and their quirky personalities, Naomi's slightly cautious behavior, and L's slight arrogance. Not only that but so many twist and turns your always on your toes, even to the point your trying to figure out the serious: 'Why is Ryuzaki hiding under that bed?' or the humorous 'Why is that man practicing laughs?' I'd recomend reading it twice though, its even better the second type around. One of the best I've read in a looong time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Awesome

    I totally LOVE the book. It's awesome. And I love Beyond,which is good. It's good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I adore Death Note, by far this book left me wanting to read mor

    I adore Death Note, by far this book left me wanting to read more. It's gore, suspense,thriller,spar/fighting. and horror. Everything I love in a book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I loved Death Note. Once I had watched the entire anime series,

    I loved Death Note. Once I had watched the entire anime series, I ordered all of the Black Editions of the manga from here. While I was looking for them, I stumbled across this novel titled &quot;Death Note: Another Note.&quot; I bought it. Read it in two days. Read it again. Loved it. Don't think that just because it isn't by the original creators means it won't be good, because it is definitely on-par with suspense, mystery, intrigue, and a surprisingly well-orchestrated climax, complete with a devastating action sequence that's more enthralling than you could imagine.

    What I mean to say is, buy the book. It's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Book Chat Review

    Death Note Another Note: The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases is a light novel adaptation of the series written by Nisio Isin. It is based on the graphic novel series Death Note written and drawn by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata that ran from December of 2003 to May of 2006 with 12 books in total. The story follows two characters from the original story, L, the infamous detective who has solved thousands of cases alone, and Naomi Misora, a Japanese-American FBI agent, stationed in Los Angeles. As L guides Misora through the crime scenes using technology as their only form of contact, an unexpected character appears. His name, Rue Ryuzaki-a name readers of the original manga would be sure to recognize.
    As the story develops, Misora then figures out that the case has a much more subliminal message from the killer and in order to figure out why, she must put her life in danger. Isin does a good job of creating twists and turns, describing the cunning detail to which the killer attends to, such as wiping off the fingerprints of every single object in a victim's room, as well as leading the reader through the plot of the story in the narrative voice of another character of the series, Mihael Keehl, more commonly known as Mello. Later on in the book, after L tells Misora exactly who the killer is, Mello explains everything, creating an entirely different plot that deviates from the original. I definitely recommend this book to any avid reader of the original Death Note series, as well as fans of dark, mystery novels. Although there is a significant amount of gore, it is not too descriptive, but more than enough to send chills down one's spine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Interesting Twist

    So, I was with my friend, and she decided to buy this journal of DeathNote, of which I am an enormous fan of. I was reading, and this book is narrated by Mello, one of the anime,manga's antagonist, and in his narration, he presents an interesting behind the scenes twist, in this different case, called The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases; a fascinating look at how L met Miss Takada, this takes place sometime before, or after the Kira cases, it never really reveals that, but I suppose since in the anime Miss Takada, engaged to Raye Penber, she meets him after Raye dies, and before she dies, obviously, but, of course, this journal is a complete spin-off of the original.
    Have fun, best wishes,
    Sincerely
    A fellow Death Note fan girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!!!!

    the story is awesome!!!!!!!! the fact that Naomi Misora never found out that it was L the whole time is my favorite !!!! ^^ i love when L asks if Ryuzaki is "cool" and Misora says he's creepy and pathetic &gt;_&lt; LOL!!!!!!!!.....It's funny how Misora describes Ryuzaki's movements as ones from horror movies and would make a small child cry ^^ and she has nightmares about him crawling on the floor &gt;_&lt; LOL!!!!!! and the whole case and how the clues to the next victim are set up and figured out are awesome!!!! i love this book! and L too!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good

    This was a really good book. I wasn't sure how the manga turned novel thing would work out but it did. With all of the little L quirks fans of the series have come to expect and a really interesting plot with twists and puzzles to keep the reader guessing. I read it in two days. I recommend this book to all Deathnote fans out there and anyone who likes a good murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3