Customer Reviews for

Death Notice (the Northland Crime Chronicles, Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Must read....

    Very well written , good premise ... easy to read ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Fast Paced Unpredictable Thriller!

    As soon as I saw that Alicia Dean had a new book out, I grabbed it, which was a wise move on my part! This is a well-crafted fast paced thriller with memorable characters. I immediately liked Monroe and enjoyed living her story to the point that I felt like I met her. Several times during the story, I thought I'd figured out who the killer was. I hate to admit that I was wrong, even though the clues were all in there. But, unpredictability is one of the things I love most in a novel. A complicated romance always piques my interest, and there's a great one in here with plenty of sizzle. The concept and plot were also intriguing with the killer turning in obituaries for the victims before they die. I'm a picky reader and Alicia Dean always amazes me. I'm on the lookout for her next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

        Monroe Donovan thought her life couldn't get any worse.  Her

        Monroe Donovan thought her life couldn't get any worse.  Her best friend Josie hadn't been around in a couple weeks.  Her ex was being quiet about the promotion he promised her and now she was getting crazy obituaries for her column.  Who would put the wrong date on an obit? Monroe wasn't sure but she would soon find out. 
       Detective Lane Brody had enough to deal with in his personal life. He didn't need all the weirdness his job brought in too.  Someone is murdering people at random, or are they? It's hard to tell but clues are stacking up and Lane wants to put an end to it.




        This book will keep you spellbound.  Twists and turns make this a wonderful mystery you'll love. The story is solid and the characters are terrifically defined.  I recommend this book! HIGHLY!  Alicia Dean knows how to add just enough to make you wonder, did this person do it?  I can't wait to dive into another of her books!  Mystery, love and craziness makes for a book to keep you in your seat!




         I found no issues in this one.
        
         I gave this one a resounding 5 books out of 5 books because I didn't want it to end!!  ~Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~ 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    A real page turner! Someone is sending journalist Monroe Donov

    A real page turner!

    Someone is sending journalist Monroe Donovan obits for her newspaper column. Not unusual except the date of the first death is two days hence. Must be a mistake. Another notice arrives, again with the wrong date. Then, Monroe discovers both people died on the date in the notices. In the course of investigating the murders, Detective Lane Brody meets Monroe. While the attraction is mutual, neither can act on it. Separately, they discover clues but only when they work together can they hope to find the killer.

    I read this book in one sitting. I couldn't put it down. Alicia Dean weaves a suspenseful story of betrayal and murder with enough humor to make Death Notice an entertaining edge-of-the-seat thriller. The main characters are flawed people with complicated lives, which makes them all the more appealing. Monroe's match-making colleague and her slightly wacky family provide comic relief while her protection of her fragile childhood friend evokes sympathy. Great read. Can't wait to start the next book in the Northland Crime Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Really enjoyed this gritty Romantic Suspense.

    Really enjoyed this gritty Romantic Suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Take notice of Death Notice!

    I just finished reading "Death Notice," by Alicia Dean, and, wow, am I impressed!

    One of the things I loved most is Alicia's relatable characters. I felt as if I really got to know each person well, and really cared what happened to them. I also loved the references to songs, television programs, and recording artists that I recognized. This personalization made me feel right at home within the pages of Death Notice--I wanted to nudge the person next to me and say, "Hey, I know this song!" (And I would have...but the only one next to me was the dog.)

    With the perfect amount of suspense to tingle the spine, and romance to flutter the heart, "Death Notice," like Monroe's beloved coffee, is a delicious blend.

    I recommend this book to all readers, and can't wait to read the sequel, "Death Offerings."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Great read

    It was very easy to read and kept my interest. I look forward to the next one where hopefully the romance between Monroe and Lane will develop. Good sexual tension, now ready for the next step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1