BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Death, Taxes, and a French Manicure (Tara Holloway Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The first exciting Tara Holloway IRS investigative tale is an entertaining story

    IRS Agent Tara Holloway works white collar tax frauds. Her small town kick butt Texas attitude works great when dealing with violent Dallas offenders. Working a case with agent Eddie Bardin, she is forced to fire her gun at menacing felon Battaglia, shooting a box cutter knife from his hand. Thus in spite of her cut arm, she earns the rep of Annie Oakley.

    Tara's boss Lu "Lobo" Lobozinksi assigns her first solo task to investigate a granny complaint that ice-cream truck salesman Joseph "Joe Cool" Cullen failed to report his profits from selling illegal drugs to teenagers. Her other major inquiry is much more complex than a drug dealer. She scrutinizes the dealings of financier Michael Gryder and banker Stan Shelton, who appear to be running a Ponzi scheme. The problem is her best friend Brett Ellington is Shelton's landscaper.

    The first exciting Tara Holloway IRS investigative tale is an entertaining story that stars a tomboyish mascara wearing noir heroine who appreciates a French manicure. The story line is lighthearted fun as Tara works the Dallas beat along with other agents. Although some readers may dislike the wisecracking asides especially when facing danger; the story line is filled with humor and satire as the IRS does not care whether the gains are legal only that Sam collects its share.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I stumbled upon this book by accident but the title really caugh

    I stumbled upon this book by accident but the title really caught my attention! I enjoyed the characters because none are "too perfect" to be believable! A great mix of humor and mystery! I'm a big Stephanie Plum fan but Tara Holloway may be my new female detective! So glad I read it! It was a fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    FANTASTIC

    I had the good fortune to meet this author and get to ask her lots of questions. She was a delight. I loved this book and am half way through the second book in her serIes. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a book with a bit of humor, a bit of Intrigue and some action. It would be great for a book club which is where I found it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    From the first page to the last this was pure white trash. Not t

    From the first page to the last this was pure white trash. Not the kind that involves lawn implements, although a pink flamingo made a cameo appearance, but the kind that involves Kid Rock concerts, sucking on Buds, with half-naked women prancing around on stage and gyrating in cages with red thongs protecting the merchandise. Well, maybe not that extreme, but it felt pretty darn close, with red thongs and polka-dotted panties receiving more than just a cursory mention.

    Tara and Christina would make any redneck proud with sprayed hair at its fizziest max, derriere showing shorts, tube tops, spandex, and enough makeup for the stage. Both come with enough spunk and junk-in-the-trunk to chase away scam artists and pencil-thin drug dealers. The antics left zany in Pinky’s rearview mirror, the ice cream was always plentiful, and even the ones with money ended up being whores and miscreants.

    Britney and Chelsea proved to be the kind of women that made other trophy wives look good, with their ample, enhanced assets, bottled-blond hair, tight miniskirts, and enough drunken antics to rival certain childhood actresses, crotch flashing and yelling at the gardeners in nothing more than a pair of panties, after sleeping one off, notwithstanding.

    But the voice was what really made DEATH, TAXES, AND A FRENCH MANICURE work for me. The following is how the character first learns about sex (at the age of nine):

    I knew a little more about sex than most girls, what with growing up in the country and all. The first time I saw our neighbor’s Black Angus bull mount an unsuspecting heifer, my two older brothers explained it all to me.

    “He’s getting him some,” they’d said.

    “Some what?” I’d asked.

    “Nooky.”

    The mystery may have been a bit underdeveloped, the characters totally off-the-wall, and the frolics tipped my believability factor a bit over the edge, but Tara’s voice was friggin’ fantastic, and that’s most certainly why I kept reading. If you like your mystery romps trashy and larger than life (this is Texas after all), you may just find yourself enjoying this screwy read.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    The Arena Description

    A thick forest in the middle. The cornucopia is filled with small weapons fit for a cat. On one side, several lakes and streams flow but on the opposite , dry deserts are very likeable there. Please state your name and age. Then go to result to to confirm yourself.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Loved it!

    I found this series by accident. I have to say I love the first book, getting ready to read the second book, and I am sure I will buy the third one too! I usually read James Patterson style books. This was a great diversion, a happy quick read. Well worth the time and money spent! I love this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Will keep you laughing

    This is the first book I have ready by Diane Kelly and it won't be my last. I read a lot so I don't know how I missed this author. I really enjoyed the book: it was entertaining and made me laugh out loud. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    fun, quick read

    This was a good, light book to kill some time. It was easy to read and funny - a good break from the more intense murder-mysteries I usually read. I will probably read more from this author when I am in the right mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    loved the book!

    Especially loved it being from Dallas too. Fun read. Anxious to read next in series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A good quick read.

    I thought it was funny and a good quick read. But, did not like the way it ended. However, I do have the 2nd book in the series and, so far, it is funny, also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Easy read, funny

    Good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    A delightful cozy.

    This was a fun read and I look forward to more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Cracked me up

    I'm not usually a romance fan, but I liked this. Very funny with well drawn characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Loved reading this book

    I hope this author continues to write well and very quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    R

    A fun book,though having little suspence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Promising New Series

    Despite working for the IRS, Tara Holloway has interesting work and personal life. She goes undercover with to spy on a deadbeat taxpayer. Mix in humor, mutual attraction, quirky characters, and quick wit. Looking forward to next one, Death, Taxes, and Skinny Latte out soon. Try also Heller by JD Nixon for free; next 2 are out also. Also, No Such Thing as a Secret by Shelly Fredman; 3 others out another due.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Tara Holloway is my new best friend!

    I loved this book and the main character, Tara Holloway. She is fresh, funny & fiesty! The story and the character are full of surprises and that makes for such an enjoyable read. Can't wait for the next one in the series to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    great entertaining read!

    This is the first of what will be a great, entertaining series! If you like the Evanovich books, you will love this Diane Kelly book. It's filled with adventure, fun, a little romance and lots of entertainment! Well worth every cent :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Spicy and Sassy

    This was a spicy, sassy, fun read. Who knew there were Tax Cops who carried guns! Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3