Customer Reviews for

Death Trap

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great True Crime Read

If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this b...
If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this book.

posted by Laurenne_Lucille on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good reading if you like True Crime

This was a sad story but the book is well written. The story was tragic and probably could have been avoided, had the courts been on the husband's side. The wife was extrememlly abusive to him and to the children by making them pawns. To believe the children aren't s...
This was a sad story but the book is well written. The story was tragic and probably could have been avoided, had the courts been on the husband's side. The wife was extrememlly abusive to him and to the children by making them pawns. To believe the children aren't suffering emotional damage is remarkable.

posted by deedge on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great True Crime Read

    If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    PHELPS IS ONE OF THE BEST IN TRUE CRIME

    Death Trap should be at the top of your true crime list. While I have enjoyed all of M. William Phelps' books, I personally believe this is his best one yet. The author makes the criminals seem more like us and less like monsters. This makes his stories scary.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Good reading if you like True Crime

    This was a sad story but the book is well written. The story was tragic and probably could have been avoided, had the courts been on the husband's side. The wife was extrememlly abusive to him and to the children by making them pawns. To believe the children aren't suffering emotional damage is remarkable.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great Read

    What this family went through, especially the children, was just tragic, and, against what many children are taught. The ex-wife remarried a police officer helpinf her in this horrific crime of such cruelty, that it made me feel angry and want to finish the book to see justice for the two who murdered a happy, young couple in cold blood. This is a book true crime buffs like me won't reget reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Great read!

    I enjoyed learning about this tragic event and cant understand how people can allow such behavior. Seems the writing was on the wall. I hope people learn to prevent this senslessness, not just family and friends but also the judicial system. So many people failed this young, happy couple and the children.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A fascinating story by an often-biased author makes for an engulfing read

    This book's description intrigued me while browsing on my NOOK so I purchased it and was almost immediately taken hostage by the story, the characters involved and an interesting and, at times, very apparent dislike and disgust for Jessica McCord by M. William Phelps. I'm usually impressed by an author's ability to objectively approach such cases, portraying what are usually undoubtedly guilty criminals as innocent until proven guilty. It was clear almost from the initial description of this book's villainess that, in this case, the author was not going to be offering the reader any reasonable doubt. This trend continues throughout the book until almost the very last word. It's not completely unimaginable to think that, after researching such a disturbing, horrible and senseless crime, the researcher would be shocked by a criminal's behavior but in this case, the shock and disappointment almost seems personal and appears to be unprofessional until the end of the book. Here, Phelps describes his conversations with the parties involved and it becomes very apparent that Jessica McCord would not cooperate and, in fact, attempted a last-ditch effort to proclaim her innocence. It's not hard to surmise Phelps found this to be insulting and he lets us know about it. Normally, such biased writing towards anyone, even a cold-blooded killer, would turn me off. The sheer gall of Jessica McCord and her ability to manipulate those around her (to the point of perjuring themselves), however, leads me to believe that the author, during his research, uncovered someone so obviously culpable while continuing to believe their own lies. If anything, this bias creates another layer to this story which will leave you stunned.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I knew Alan & Terra...

    They were close friends of a close friend. This story is a personal one, and a heartbreaking one. The facts are accurate, but the story telling is mediocre at best. As with any true crime story, there is little room for legitimate embelisshments, yet this story really doesn't need any as it stands on its own. You'll wonder what drives someone to be so mean, so crazy, so hateful, and unfortunately this story will resolve none of those questions for you. Read the book and ask yourself at the end "What would you do if you were in the shoes of each involved party--if you were Alan, if you were Terra, if you were Jeff, if you were Naomi?" We can't bring Alan and Terra back, but maybe we can prevent history from repeating itself.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    This is the first book I've read written by M. William Phelps.

    This is the first book I've read written by M. William Phelps. It was so incredibly sad but a great read for true crime readers. Most books get bogged down in court scenes. This book flowed perfectly. I will definitely buy more of his books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    This is a true page turner

    I have watched M. Williams Phelps on his TV show, Dangerous Minds and was intrigued about his story telling ability when he's using a true story. This is my first Phelps book and it is a truly horrific story. Despite that, it kept my attention and I could hardly put it down. The only negative I can think of is his "flashbacks in time" which sometimes made it difficult to follow. However, if you enjoy thrillers, you won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great - But Disturbing - Book!

    This book is well written, includes the facts about what happened. Was an easy, quick read, enjoyable (considering the topic) and informative. The idea that a woman can have this much power over men is disturbing and disgusting that she would choose to use it this way. Unfortunately, there are people in the world like this, and at least this book shows that people do get what they deserve, even if it has to come to something like murder. The writing style is unusual and something I haven't read before, but overall a great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Recommend!

    I am from Birmingham so I am partial to this true story. Additionally, I worked with Roger Brown and this is an accurate depiction of the individuals with whom I am familiar.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very detailed

    As reading this book....it was a little slow at first, but then again I am a stay at home mom with little ones. Getting towards the story of the couple who were the victims and why they had to go through what they endured....it was very sad and nonsense. The author explains this situation in depth and the whole story comes together. Once reading, you end up turning the pages to find out more. This story is very interesting and gets your mind thinking of how in the world do people end up doing what they do. All in all....if you like reading true stories, I would recommend this one. THANK YOU?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Very interesting book!

    Well written, well organized, incredibly researched. Summarized the trial well so it wasnt repetitious and boring like some TC books do to fill up pages. Terrible story but facsinating read. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    An Eyeopener

    A tragedy of a story, yet the book depicts the mindset of a narcissistic person and what they can be capable of with the manipulating, self-absorbed world in which they live.  As long as people with such mind sets exist, where no one else matters, no one else suffers, and the world revolves around their need to win and get everything their way, then sad events such as this one will happen.  For the family and friends whose lives will never be the same, you are victims, along with Alan and Terra.  Alan's ex-wife has no conscience, no remorse, or regrets.  The book does a good job of portraying this type of individual's behaviors.  The patterns of her behaviors were apparent early on, beginning with setting her sights on Alan and getting pregnant in order to get what she wanted. It is despicable what she was capable of doing because of the rage that exists within her.  The consequences of her actions were not something she thought about, that was apparent when reading the book.  An enlightening look into the narcissistic personality!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo Mr Phelps! You are still the master of true crime story te

    Bravo Mr Phelps! You are still the master of true crime story telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good read

    One of those hard to put down books. If you are a true crime fan then this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good

    Good book but no pictures as noted

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Vampires........

    SUCK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    The Devils Servants ~ Map and Directory

    Map: <br> (We 'live' in an abandoned hotel) <p> 1. First Level <br> 2. Second Level <br> 3. Map and Rules <br> 4. Third Level <br> 5. Roof <br> 6. Bios <br> 7- all: Dungeons and Rooms<p> Rules: <p> 1. The First Level is where we never go, unless entering, or exiting. <br> 2. Second Level and Third Level are the common areas. <br> 3. The Dungeons are for 'food', and the Rooms are just hotel rooms you can use for your own. <br> 4. No godmodding. <br> 5. Vampires has bleach white teeth, black half way down their fangs. Our eyes are fully blood red without whites or anything. When we feed, our vains become visible and our eyes turn black. <br> 6. We kidnap at Mandy's Cafe, and bring them here. When we do that, we don't be obvious about being a vampire. <br> 7. Potato. <p> Ignore that last one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    LOVE

    Go on now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5