Customer Reviews for

Death Trap

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great True Crime Read

If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this b...
If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this book.

posted by Laurenne_Lucille on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good reading if you like True Crime

This was a sad story but the book is well written. The story was tragic and probably could have been avoided, had the courts been on the husband's side. The wife was extrememlly abusive to him and to the children by making them pawns. To believe the children aren't s...
This was a sad story but the book is well written. The story was tragic and probably could have been avoided, had the courts been on the husband's side. The wife was extrememlly abusive to him and to the children by making them pawns. To believe the children aren't suffering emotional damage is remarkable.

posted by deedge on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great True Crime Read

    If you love true crime this is perfect for you. The story is so crazy that when I first heard about the case I could not quite accept it as reality, but the author really brings these people to life. Though I was left with unanswered questions, I highly recommend this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A fascinating story by an often-biased author makes for an engulfing read

    This book's description intrigued me while browsing on my NOOK so I purchased it and was almost immediately taken hostage by the story, the characters involved and an interesting and, at times, very apparent dislike and disgust for Jessica McCord by M. William Phelps. I'm usually impressed by an author's ability to objectively approach such cases, portraying what are usually undoubtedly guilty criminals as innocent until proven guilty. It was clear almost from the initial description of this book's villainess that, in this case, the author was not going to be offering the reader any reasonable doubt. This trend continues throughout the book until almost the very last word. It's not completely unimaginable to think that, after researching such a disturbing, horrible and senseless crime, the researcher would be shocked by a criminal's behavior but in this case, the shock and disappointment almost seems personal and appears to be unprofessional until the end of the book. Here, Phelps describes his conversations with the parties involved and it becomes very apparent that Jessica McCord would not cooperate and, in fact, attempted a last-ditch effort to proclaim her innocence. It's not hard to surmise Phelps found this to be insulting and he lets us know about it. Normally, such biased writing towards anyone, even a cold-blooded killer, would turn me off. The sheer gall of Jessica McCord and her ability to manipulate those around her (to the point of perjuring themselves), however, leads me to believe that the author, during his research, uncovered someone so obviously culpable while continuing to believe their own lies. If anything, this bias creates another layer to this story which will leave you stunned.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great - But Disturbing - Book!

    This book is well written, includes the facts about what happened. Was an easy, quick read, enjoyable (considering the topic) and informative. The idea that a woman can have this much power over men is disturbing and disgusting that she would choose to use it this way. Unfortunately, there are people in the world like this, and at least this book shows that people do get what they deserve, even if it has to come to something like murder. The writing style is unusual and something I haven't read before, but overall a great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Recommend!

    I am from Birmingham so I am partial to this true story. Additionally, I worked with Roger Brown and this is an accurate depiction of the individuals with whom I am familiar.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    An Eyeopener

    A tragedy of a story, yet the book depicts the mindset of a narcissistic person and what they can be capable of with the manipulating, self-absorbed world in which they live.  As long as people with such mind sets exist, where no one else matters, no one else suffers, and the world revolves around their need to win and get everything their way, then sad events such as this one will happen.  For the family and friends whose lives will never be the same, you are victims, along with Alan and Terra.  Alan's ex-wife has no conscience, no remorse, or regrets.  The book does a good job of portraying this type of individual's behaviors.  The patterns of her behaviors were apparent early on, beginning with setting her sights on Alan and getting pregnant in order to get what she wanted. It is despicable what she was capable of doing because of the rage that exists within her.  The consequences of her actions were not something she thought about, that was apparent when reading the book.  An enlightening look into the narcissistic personality!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Great True Crime Read

    Phelps continues to improve with every book he writes. He has become my number 1 true crime author (sorry Ann Rule).
    Book was quick paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Very good read.

    I thought this was a pretty good Phelps book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2