Customer Reviews for

Death Warmed Over (Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I. Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    A Fun Read

    There are a lot of different types of stories out there, but Death Warmed Over is hard to top. Kevin J. Anderson takes the classic detective noir story and populates it with zombies, vampires, werewolves, mummies and every other sort of ghoul and goblin. The end result is a fun story full of surprises.

    Heading into this book, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. I knew it starred a zombie PI in a world filled with monsters including werewolf hitmen. However the cover struck me as a little cartoonish and comical, so it was a bit of a surprise when I came across some of the adult oriented content in the novel. Amid comical characters like vampire interior decorators and a pair of witch sisters, one of which who was accidentally turned into a sow, you almost get the feeling that this could be a kid’s story. However there are some more mature elements like vampire porn, ZILF, zombie cougars, and BBV (big breasted vampires) that certainly let the reader know that this is not a kid’s book. There’s also some violence as people are sometimes torn limb from limb due to unfortunate encounters with the book’s monsters. In fact, at one point a troll nearly deep fried a kid as a tasty snack. It’s an odd combination but Kevin J. Anderson makes it work. By taking light hearted material and blending it with some darker stuff, he creates a believable mix that imitates the real world.

    The bizarre setting for the story is based on an event called The Big Uneasy. About ten years ago an event occurred that caused the dead to rise, spirits to linger, and vampires, werewolves and the like to pop up. The book doesn’t dwell very long on the details but instead focuses on the characters. Dan Chambeaux aka Dan Shamble is the main character. He’s a zombie private investigator and a partner in Chambeaux and Deyer Investigations. Since his death, he’s accumulated a healthy pile of unsolved cases. Through the story, readers will get to dive into that pile as they’re introduced to a wide variety of monsters and their peculiar circumstances. From persecuted undead clients to messy divorces where the spouse claims the person they married no longer exists now that they’re a werewolf. There’s a bit of mystery as the reader is left to wonder who killed Dan and how it might be related to his other cases. Plus each case also has it’s own questions which layers on an additional mystery factor. Yet the ultimate driving factor is the characters themselves. As much as I wanted to know who killed Dan, what I really wanted to know was what was going to happen to him? Was he going to survive? Was he going to catch his murderer(s)? And most importantly, would his friends survive as well?

    All in all it’s a colorful combination of entertaining elements. Part Chinatown, part horror comedy, Death Warmed Over is entirely fun. The characters are enjoyable. The story is well paced and decently balanced between humor, drama, and action. Yet at the heart, it’s a detective story so most of it is centered on dialog and plot progression as cases are solved, created, and linked together. I enjoyed it enough to give it a solid four out of five metal bikinis and recommend it to anyone who wants to shake up their normal reading diet with something a bit different.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A surprisingly nice read!

    A great twist to the age old hard boiled dective novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Great Book

    Very entertaining. So glad there are more books in this series. If you like P.I. books or zombie books you will love this book. If you like both it is quite a treat.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    Adorable story, it has a fun detective plot with a lot of unique

    Adorable story, it has a fun detective plot with a lot of unique characters that make it a very enjoyable read. I hope he continues this series as I would love to read more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    review

    I loved this type of storyline.Very amusing and loved the characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Death Warmed Over  (Dan Shamble, Zombie PI Series #1)  Kevin J.

    Death Warmed Over 
    (Dan Shamble, Zombie PI Series #1) 
    Kevin J. Anderson 
    Trade Paperback 
    Publisher: Kensington 
    Publication Date: August 28, 2012 
    ISBN-13: 978-0758277343 
    304 pages 
    Advance Reader’s Copy
         
         New Orleans has a tendency to spit out some odd and unsavory characters from time to time but when the undead, including zombies, vampires, werewolves, and a host of other distasteful characters infiltrate NOLA then it can only go from really bad to totally jacked. When the “Big Uneasy” occurred, a mysterious event ten years earlier that released every variety of nightmarish monsters into the real world, one P.I.’s investigative workload took an unusual turn for the bizarre. Dan Chambeaux, Zombie PI, and his ghostly, lounge-singing girlfriend, Sheyenne, take on some of the shadiest cases in the “Unnatural Quarter” including a resurrected mummy suing the museum that put him in their showroom for wrongful imprisonment, two hexed witches filing legal action against a publisher for not using “spell check” on its books of enchantments, and a skittish vampire with a stake phobia. Those cases pay the bills but of greater importance to Chambeaux is who turned him and why? And what’s with the bullet hole through the middle of his head? Twisted, hilarious, and completely entertaining Death Warmed Over is the perfect gift for that murder-mystery ghost-loving undead-zombie-detective-humorist fan in your life. You know who they are!

         Death Warmed Over, the first book in the Dan Shamble, Zombie PI series by Kevin J. Anderson is a rollicking, dark-humor, supernatural tale that I recommend for pulp, humor, detective, zombie, and murder mystery fans of all ages. (Mostly not for pre-teens, ‘cuz, you know, there’re zombies and mayhem and the unnaturally undead in here. Of course, just by saying this I know it’ll send them all flocking to the nearest library to check it out. If only that were true?) [If you are under 13 and reading this please forget that I wrote the last two sentences. K? BTW, there’s plenty of really excellent YA novels at the library.]

         File with: Zombies, the supernatural, zombie private investigator, murder mystery, even more zombies, undead, super-unnatural beings, flesh-eaters, pulp detective/true crime stories, Zombies vs. Vampires vs. Werewolves, a lot more zombies, New Orleans, witches, mummies, curses, and The Walking Dead.

    4 out of 5 stars

    The Alternative 
    Southeast Wisconsin

    Additional Reading:

    Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I. Series: 
    1. Death Warmed over (2012) 
    2. Unnatural Acts (2012) 
    3. Hair Raising (2013)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Robin Book provided by the publisher for review Revi

    Reviewed by Robin
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    When it comes to reading I think everyone finds comfort in a certain genre. I for one tend to jump out of that comfort zone once in a while as I find even my favorite authors I need to get away from to appreciate what they write. This happened to be the case when I decided to read Death Warmed Over.

    Even those this does have a bit of romance thrown in, it is more about a Zombie P.I. who along with his lawyer partner tries to solve a varying array of cases. Dan Shamble starts off trying to solve his own murder with that of the love of his life. She is a ghost and any kind of physical contact, embracing or even a kiss is somewhat impossible because she is a ghost. So for them past memories have to do. Bummer right?

    Dan’s clients are on the bizarre side. They range from monsters, vamps, werewolves, ghouls, goblins, even a mummy or two. His cases often entail finding a lost pre-nup for a werewolf who is trying to divorce her sleazebag of a husband. Or a frightened vampire that fears for his undead life. You see about ten years ago something called the ‘Big Easy’ happened bringing all these creatures out in the open.

    If you are looking for something to make you laugh this will certainly do that. This light hearted, fast paced story that adds a bit of realism to it makes you want to find a nice cozy chair and read on into the wee hours of the morning.

    A new series that is unpredictable to the end full of adventure, suspense and mystery. With just a little hint of romance… A great read for anyone who wants something outside of the box.

    I can’t wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommended -- fun, light read.

    I'm not a big fan of Zombie Apocalypse stories, but this isn't a Zombie Apocalypse story. It's a fun, light-hearted combination of mysteries and paranormal fiction. The hero is a zombie, his girlfriend is a ghost, they encounter vampires and werewolves ... and solve several mysteries along the way.

    The story is internally consistent -- magic is present, but the mysteries aren't "magically" resolved. The characters have personalities, problems related to their "conditions" ... etc.

    Anyway, I enjoyed this book. I'll be reading the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Very well written

    I loved every word. This story is really well written. I have tried to read other stories like this one, but they came off as immature and stupid. This story? Amazing and humerous. Well worth it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Are you kidding me? Another zombie book? Come on Barnes & No

    Are you kidding me? Another zombie book? Come on Barnes & Noble! How  a book that doesn't waste my time or brain cells? Free Fridays may have marketing potential, but lately your book choices are not worth the time it takes to log in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Different book

    This book is very unusual. I didn't hate it or love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I was looking for something "different" yet still a li

    I was looking for something "different" yet still a light and entertaining read. "Death Warmed Over" nailed it! Laugh out loud funny at times with a twist plot......great read. I am actually glad this is a series because I'll be hungry for more Dan Chambeaux after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great twist to the zombie genre

    This book was on my book club's list and not one that I would have chosen on my own. I was pleasantly surprised by the direction in which the author took the "unnatural" theme. It was a bit slow going at the beginning as there was a lot of information to absorb. Overall, I enjoyed the story and am already on book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Warmed me up from laughing!

    Great concept funny and strange. If Family Guy made The Walking Dead this might be it, yet this book is even better.

    Going to purchase the rest of the series, but you should really read this book its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    Good story line, funny and witty. Cant wait to read the rest in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2