Customer Reviews for

The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud

Average Rating 4
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great, Meaningful book.

I loved this book - read it in one day. It is a pretty short book, but it is sweet and makes you grateful for the life you have. I recommend everyone to read it. I can't wait to see the movie!

posted by owloflouisville on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unique love story

cute love story, but way too predictable. The twist was obvious and so was the ending. the book is a simpler version of something that Nicholas Sparks would write.

posted by Amysmithers on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Great, Meaningful book.

    I loved this book - read it in one day. It is a pretty short book, but it is sweet and makes you grateful for the life you have. I recommend everyone to read it. I can't wait to see the movie!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved "borrowing" a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically "dead" for minutes before his heart started beating again--no one knows for sure, but this might be why Charlie lives the life he does. <BR/><BR/>For Charlie, now twenty-eight, taking care of Waterside Cemetery is more than just a job. He's able to help the inhabitants of Marblehead through their grief, care for the eighty-acres of land, live in the caretaker's cottage, and play baseball every night at sunset with his brother, Sam. Yes, the one who has been dead for thirteen years. Somehow, Sam and Charlie have a bond that has defied death, and the promise Charlie made to his younger brother that long ago night--"I'll never leave you"--has held, even though one of them is no longer alive. <BR/><BR/>Then one day Charlie meets Tess Carroll, a woman who builds sails and is planning for an around-the-world solo boat trip, at her father's grave. Immediately Charlie and Tess spark a connection, and quite soon realize that they may have found their soul mates. <BR/><BR/>Unfortunately, not everything is at it seems. It's actually hard to tell a lot about this book with giving away the spoilers that would ruin your enjoyment. Suffice it to say that THE DEATH AND LIFE OF CHARLIE ST. CLOUD is unlike any book I've ever read before--it's a character study of human nature, of brotherly love, of the ingrained desire in most people to help their fellow man. It's about miracles--sometimes the kind that half the world notices, and sometimes only the kind that an individual can discover on their own. <BR/><BR/>You won't go wrong with this uplifting, inspirational tale. I'll forever be glad I read this book, which reminds me in some ways of THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. Two great books, lots of miracles, tons of love.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    Touching Story!

    I downloaded this book when I saw the movie was going to come out. Still haven't seen the film, but the book is wonderful. Sherwood expresses the bond between those who have left us and we who remain behind with such beauty that at times it took my breath away. I put my nook down several times and just digested the idea of what I'd read, and was truly touched. The ending is especially poignant. A great story about moving on and letting go. Wonderful read - would be great for book club discussions.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I loved this book..........

    I read this book about 5 years ago, and I have bought and given away at least 20 copies of it. I give this book to everyone I know who has lost someone. It is such a hopeful book about life and the people who love you.
    I read all the time and this book is in my top ten books that I have ever read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unique love story

    cute love story, but way too predictable. The twist was obvious and so was the ending. the book is a simpler version of something that Nicholas Sparks would write.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Fabulous Story! Highly Recommended

    I couldn't put this book down. I read it in two days. It would have been one but my eyes were burning from crying! Absolutly moving, especially if you have ever lost a loved one and wondered if that butterfly flying circles around you was their way of showing that they are okay. Great, great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Couldn't put it down

    After finishing this story it is now on the list of my all time favorites. It was a unique story; not the kind that you find at the super market. The first page grabbed hold of my attention and didn't let go till the last word. This is a fantastic story that tells the strong bond that connects family together through the hard times. I cried and laughed and then cried and laughed some more. I loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    best book ever!!!!

    this book was great! it had a great plot and always keeps you on your feet. Im not always a big reader but i couldnt put this one down. I have to say that this is probably my favorite book. Charlie goes through a total change after meeting Tess Caroll. the beginnning is really sad and so is the end but this is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    This was a great book. I have been into reading books whenever I see a movie has come out so I can compare. I choose to read the book first now. This was a very touch story. Definitely makes you grateful for each day you have and cherish the people in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, quick read

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it in a weekend at the lake. The only thing that threw me a little was the sailing lingo, but I figured it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Brain Candy

    I was drawn to this book because of the summary. It turned out to be not so much about Charlie and his brother, but of a totally different matter.

    It was okay, and I would consider it a simple, light read. Something to take along for a car ride or while waiting for an apppointment. Definitely nothing hard about the characters, the dialogue or the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Atmospheric & Touching Love Story

    The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud is a fiction novel that attempts to answer the question, "What happens when you die?" Charlie St. Cloud was in a tragic accident near Marblehead, MA as a teen with his kid brother, Sam. Charlie barely survives, but Sam doesn't make it. The brothers had made a pact to stay together, no matter what, so as an adult, Charlie lives in a cottage near the woods. He meets his brother every day at sundown to play catch in the forest. But one day, Charlie meets a young sail-maker named Tess. They quickly begin to fall in love. Tess has been planning a trip to sail around the world. Charlie has to make the ultimate decision between his brother and pursuing the woman that he loves. The setting is beautiful and atmospheric, the magical realism of the spirits crossing over for a rest stop between this life and the afterlife is poignant and the writing is quite good. I allowed myself to willingly suspend my disbelief and my eyes were misty at the conclusion to this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Lasting promise

    wonderful book. Drives home that old saying of last thing you say to someone could be the last you say. It reminded me that theres only one life for each of us and make an adventure for yourself. I plan on giving a copy to everyone I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Do You Believe in Miracles?

    When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved 'borrowing' a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically 'dead' for minutes before his heart started beating again--no one knows for sure, but this might be why Charlie lives the life he does. For Charlie, now twenty-eight, taking care of Waterside Cemetery is more than just a job. He's able to help the inhabitants of Marblehead through their grief, care for the eighty-acres of land, live in the caretaker's cottage, and play baseball every night at sunset with his brother, Sam. Yes, the one who has been dead for thirteen years. Somehow, Sam and Charlie have a bond that has defied death, and the promise Charlie made to his younger brother that long ago night--'I'll never leave you'--has held, even though one of them is no longer alive. Then one day Charlie meets Tess Carroll, a woman who builds sails and is planning for an around-the-world solo boat trip, at her father's grave. Immediately Charlie and Tess spark a connection, and quite soon realize that they may have found their soul mates. Unfortunately, not everything is at it seems. It's actually hard to tell a lot about this book with giving away the spoilers that would ruin your enjoyment. Suffice it to say that THE DEATH AND LIFE OF CHARLIE ST. CLOUD is unlike any book I've ever read before--it's a character study of human nature, of brotherly love, of the ingrained desire in most people to help their fellow man. It's about miracles--sometimes the kind that half the world notices, and sometimes only the kind that an individual can discover on their own. You won't go wrong with this uplifting, inspirational tale. I'll forever be glad I read this book, which reminds me in some ways of THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. Two great books, lots of miracles, tons of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    I'LL BE BACK

    Charlie, must get back to reality and let the past rest. It was a tragic accident that caused sam's death but charlie must live his life to the fullest. All charlie should have is memories of the good times he and sam had and how much they had in common, especially the love for the boston red soxs.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    I read alot of books

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read, I just bought my 20th copy to give to a friend, whenever anyone I know loses someone that they loved, I give them a copy of this book... It is one of my favorite all time books. It is warm and funny and charming. The characters are so well defined. I cannot say enough great things about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Easy Read, Great Read.

    We were in Germany for 10 days when I found The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud on a table outside our guest house room apartment thing. It was the only book there in English and I snatched it immediatly. But I had to finish it before we left the next day, so i kicked it into overdrive. The best book I've read since Speak! It had great twists and very emotional. Read this book, and you will believe in miracles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good

    Awesome book, i couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    The deaths and lifes of charlie st cloud

    Te most awesomest book and movie ever other then twilight saga.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I am going to read the book after I watch the movie

    I saw the movie when came out and today I just saw that the movie was a book. So I am going to read the book after I saw the movie. Kourtney Cox loves Zac Efron!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32