Customer Reviews for

The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud

Average Rating 4
( 622 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved "borrowing" a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically ...
When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved "borrowing" a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically "dead" for minutes before his heart started beating again--no one knows for sure, but this might be why Charlie lives the life he does.

For Charlie, now twenty-eight, taking care of Waterside Cemetery is more than just a job. He's able to help the inhabitants of Marblehead through their grief, care for the eighty-acres of land, live in the caretaker's cottage, and play baseball every night at sunset with his brother, Sam. Yes, the one who has been dead for thirteen years. Somehow, Sam and Charlie have a bond that has defied death, and the promise Charlie made to his younger brother that long ago night--"I'll never leave you"--has held, even though one of them is no longer alive.

Then one day Charlie meets Tess Carroll, a woman who builds sails and is planning for an around-the-world solo boat trip, at her father's grave. Immediately Charlie and Tess spark a connection, and quite soon realize that they may have found their soul mates.

Unfortunately, not everything is at it seems. It's actually hard to tell a lot about this book with giving away the spoilers that would ruin your enjoyment. Suffice it to say that THE DEATH AND LIFE OF CHARLIE ST. CLOUD is unlike any book I've ever read before--it's a character study of human nature, of brotherly love, of the ingrained desire in most people to help their fellow man. It's about miracles--sometimes the kind that half the world notices, and sometimes only the kind that an individual can discover on their own.

You won't go wrong with this uplifting, inspirational tale. I'll forever be glad I read this book, which reminds me in some ways of THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. Two great books, lots of miracles, tons of love.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unique love story

cute love story, but way too predictable. The twist was obvious and so was the ending. the book is a simpler version of something that Nicholas Sparks would write.

posted by Amysmithers on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Great, Meaningful book.

    I loved this book - read it in one day. It is a pretty short book, but it is sweet and makes you grateful for the life you have. I recommend everyone to read it. I can't wait to see the movie!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved "borrowing" a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically "dead" for minutes before his heart started beating again--no one knows for sure, but this might be why Charlie lives the life he does. <BR/><BR/>For Charlie, now twenty-eight, taking care of Waterside Cemetery is more than just a job. He's able to help the inhabitants of Marblehead through their grief, care for the eighty-acres of land, live in the caretaker's cottage, and play baseball every night at sunset with his brother, Sam. Yes, the one who has been dead for thirteen years. Somehow, Sam and Charlie have a bond that has defied death, and the promise Charlie made to his younger brother that long ago night--"I'll never leave you"--has held, even though one of them is no longer alive. <BR/><BR/>Then one day Charlie meets Tess Carroll, a woman who builds sails and is planning for an around-the-world solo boat trip, at her father's grave. Immediately Charlie and Tess spark a connection, and quite soon realize that they may have found their soul mates. <BR/><BR/>Unfortunately, not everything is at it seems. It's actually hard to tell a lot about this book with giving away the spoilers that would ruin your enjoyment. Suffice it to say that THE DEATH AND LIFE OF CHARLIE ST. CLOUD is unlike any book I've ever read before--it's a character study of human nature, of brotherly love, of the ingrained desire in most people to help their fellow man. It's about miracles--sometimes the kind that half the world notices, and sometimes only the kind that an individual can discover on their own. <BR/><BR/>You won't go wrong with this uplifting, inspirational tale. I'll forever be glad I read this book, which reminds me in some ways of THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. Two great books, lots of miracles, tons of love.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I loved this book..........

    I read this book about 5 years ago, and I have bought and given away at least 20 copies of it. I give this book to everyone I know who has lost someone. It is such a hopeful book about life and the people who love you.
    I read all the time and this book is in my top ten books that I have ever read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Couldn't put it down

    After finishing this story it is now on the list of my all time favorites. It was a unique story; not the kind that you find at the super market. The first page grabbed hold of my attention and didn't let go till the last word. This is a fantastic story that tells the strong bond that connects family together through the hard times. I cried and laughed and then cried and laughed some more. I loved this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    best book ever!!!!

    this book was great! it had a great plot and always keeps you on your feet. Im not always a big reader but i couldnt put this one down. I have to say that this is probably my favorite book. Charlie goes through a total change after meeting Tess Caroll. the beginnning is really sad and so is the end but this is a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    This was a great book. I have been into reading books whenever I see a movie has come out so I can compare. I choose to read the book first now. This was a very touch story. Definitely makes you grateful for each day you have and cherish the people in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book!

    In a snug New England fishing village, Charlie St. Cloud tends the lawns and monuments of an ancient cemetery where his younger brother, Sam, is buried. After surviving the car accident that claimed his brother's life, Charlie is graced with an extraordinary gift: He can see, talk to, and even play catch with Sam's spirit. Into this magical world comes Tess Carroll, a captivating woman training for a solo sailing trip around the globe. Fate steers her boats into a treacherous storm that propels her into Charlie's life. Their beautiful and uncommon connection leads to a race against time and a choice between death and life, between the past and the future, between holding on an letting go -- and the discovery that miracles can happen if we simply open our hearts.

    Charlie suffers the lose of his younger brother, separation from his mother, and a dead-end job all for the reason of keeping a promise. A promise he made to Sam, his brother, when they both died in a car wreak. Yet, Charlie was brought back to life by a paramedic that fateful night for a second chance at life. A new life he has no idea what to do with. Since he already crossed over once, he's know graced with the ability to see the newly dead. For thirteen years, he remains a fixture in Marblehead, Massachusetts by working at the Waterside cemetery. "Now twenty-eight, Charlie had spent his adult years looking after the dead and the living of Waterside. He had sacrificed greatly to keep his word to Sam. He had given up on big dreams . . . " (pg. 47) But, that all changes when the appealing minor celebrity in town, Tess Carroll, walks into his life. After a sweet love affair blooms between the two, tragedy strikes in a why that could tear them apart forever. Yet, Charlie is determined to not give up on Tess, even if that means breaking his promise with Sam.

    You may be one of those people that saw the tear-jerking trailer on TV about the movie Charlie St. Cloud and thought . . . lame, but you'd be wrong. I actually watched the movie on the big screen first (loved it!) and went out and grabbed the book second. Books are always better than their movie adaptions and this is one that doesn't falter on that fact. I enjoyed the sweet connection between Tess and Charlie and the book just extends on their relationship. I have the say, the brother connection was adorable in the movie, but Sam's character in the book gets more evolved and Tess gets a lot more interaction as well. Overall, I kept wanting more from everyone when I finished The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud. It was really enjoyable, sweet, and had just the perfect touch of silliness to make this a great summer read.

    Likes: I wish my town had a Bella Hooper "The Woman Who Listens".

    Dislikes: This book points out the fact that too many good people die a little when they lose someone they love. Which is a sad, but true fact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Do You Believe in Miracles?

    When Charlie St. Cloud was fifteen years old, a tragic accident that involved 'borrowing' a neighbor's car, a trip to a ballgame, and an encounter with a semi-trailer on a bridge led to the death of his three years younger brother, Sam. In fact, Charlie was technically 'dead' for minutes before his heart started beating again--no one knows for sure, but this might be why Charlie lives the life he does. For Charlie, now twenty-eight, taking care of Waterside Cemetery is more than just a job. He's able to help the inhabitants of Marblehead through their grief, care for the eighty-acres of land, live in the caretaker's cottage, and play baseball every night at sunset with his brother, Sam. Yes, the one who has been dead for thirteen years. Somehow, Sam and Charlie have a bond that has defied death, and the promise Charlie made to his younger brother that long ago night--'I'll never leave you'--has held, even though one of them is no longer alive. Then one day Charlie meets Tess Carroll, a woman who builds sails and is planning for an around-the-world solo boat trip, at her father's grave. Immediately Charlie and Tess spark a connection, and quite soon realize that they may have found their soul mates. Unfortunately, not everything is at it seems. It's actually hard to tell a lot about this book with giving away the spoilers that would ruin your enjoyment. Suffice it to say that THE DEATH AND LIFE OF CHARLIE ST. CLOUD is unlike any book I've ever read before--it's a character study of human nature, of brotherly love, of the ingrained desire in most people to help their fellow man. It's about miracles--sometimes the kind that half the world notices, and sometimes only the kind that an individual can discover on their own. You won't go wrong with this uplifting, inspirational tale. I'll forever be glad I read this book, which reminds me in some ways of THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN. Two great books, lots of miracles, tons of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    I read alot of books

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read, I just bought my 20th copy to give to a friend, whenever anyone I know loses someone that they loved, I give them a copy of this book... It is one of my favorite all time books. It is warm and funny and charming. The characters are so well defined. I cannot say enough great things about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Easy Read, Great Read.

    We were in Germany for 10 days when I found The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud on a table outside our guest house room apartment thing. It was the only book there in English and I snatched it immediatly. But I had to finish it before we left the next day, so i kicked it into overdrive. The best book I've read since Speak! It had great twists and very emotional. Read this book, and you will believe in miracles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    I don't usually like to watch a movie before I've read the book,

    I don't usually like to watch a movie before I've read the book, however I'd seen Charlie St. Cloud before I even realized it was a book. I was pleased with how well the movie seemed to have gone along with the book as far as what I remembered of it. I enjoyed the book a lot. The story went smoothly even when the chapters were going back and forth between Charlie and Tess. I think it really teaches us a lesson too about moving on and not holding on to things that can hold us back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    The deaths and lifes of charlie st cloud

    Te most awesomest book and movie ever other then twilight saga.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I am going to read the book after I watch the movie

    I saw the movie when came out and today I just saw that the movie was a book. So I am going to read the book after I saw the movie. Kourtney Cox loves Zac Efron!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Anwser to technucal difficultitys

    You should of when to barens and nibel or a somewere u can get help i might have just been the nook not the book because mine didnt do that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    5 stars totally no doubt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Good book

    I wish i could see ghosts that would be scary but interesting at the same time btw this is the beat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    greatest book ever

    i really enjoyed this book and the mivie too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    A Great Read

    The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud was a heartwarming read. It remains one of my all time favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended-it is a must read

    The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud is an outstanding book that you must read. I loved every single word and sentence. Just wonderful. It was a heart-tugging novel. This book was a loving story about two brothers who end up in a fatal accident. Charlie was somehow brought back to life when his brotehr Sam wasn't. To find out what happens in this wonderful book you must read it. Trust me it is worth every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Tearjerker!

    Wow! A real tearjarker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15