Customer Reviews for

Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A Good Find!

I was unfamiliar with Donna Leon and the Guido Brunetti series until I read a recent review of the 18th novel in the series, About Face. The description of the main characters, Brunetti and Venice, were both very interesting to me. So, I decided to start with the first ...
I was unfamiliar with Donna Leon and the Guido Brunetti series until I read a recent review of the 18th novel in the series, About Face. The description of the main characters, Brunetti and Venice, were both very interesting to me. So, I decided to start with the first novel, Death at La Fenice. The plot was intriguing, Venice was described in astonishing detail and Brunetti was an interesting and enjoyable character. The feel for Venice and the details of Brunetti's personal life were very well done. I highly recommend this series and this novel in particular.

posted by D262PG on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

First by Donna Leon

I liked Detective Brunetti & intend to read other books in which he is a character. Well written, the type of story you cannot put down until you get to know who the muder is.

posted by Pumpernickel2008 on January 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Find!

    I was unfamiliar with Donna Leon and the Guido Brunetti series until I read a recent review of the 18th novel in the series, About Face. The description of the main characters, Brunetti and Venice, were both very interesting to me. So, I decided to start with the first novel, Death at La Fenice. The plot was intriguing, Venice was described in astonishing detail and Brunetti was an interesting and enjoyable character. The feel for Venice and the details of Brunetti's personal life were very well done. I highly recommend this series and this novel in particular.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Kept my interest, fun read

    A friend recommended this author to me and to humor her, since I thought I had already discovered all the good, contemporary mystery authors', I picked it up. I had been to Venice the year before and thought it an interesting setting for a mystery -- certainly spooky after dark. It took about a chapter to get into this story, becasue the writing style is a shade more formal than I am used to with American authors, but after that, I had a hard time putting it down. I really was hooked and wanted to know what happened next. Based on my good experience with with Leon's 'Death at La Fenice,' I now plan to order the rest of the Guido Brunetti series. Leon's turn of phrase is descriptive, delicious and a delight. She makes you see and hear everything and everyone as if you were watching a movie. I KNEW the characters, SAW the settings, FELT the tension. It was all amazingly detailed while also highly entertaining -- and the plot moved along, was not bogged down in unnecessary yakking, musings, side trips, and editorials. It was a page-turner for me. Having been to Venice helped make this story's setting even more real to me, but reading without that experience just means you have to use your imagination a little more strenuously -- no great feat for any avid fiction reader. This is a police procedural, for sure, but not in the American sense. It is 'mostly' gracious, NOT gritty and bloody, full of guns and knives and thugs beating each other up. But it is not a tea cozy either. I am personally thrilled to find a 'new' author and look forward to tagging along with Brunetti while he takes on more cases. Leon is not in the category of Great Literature, but this is great contemporary story telling in an excellent writing style.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    A VACATION IN VENICE

    I like police detective novels written by women. Donna Leon paints beautiful pictures of a Venice not generally seen by tourists. Her characters are rich and complex. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Enjoyable, literate mystery with an interesting setting

    This is a well-written mystery with believable characters, enjoyable plot and an interesting setting. While making Venice a part of the story, Donna Leon manages not to turn this into a travelogue. Guido Brunetti is presented as a well-rounded character - detective, husband, father and citizen of Venice. The story line is engaging. This is a series I think I will continue to read.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First by Donna Leon

    I liked Detective Brunetti & intend to read other books in which he is a character. Well written, the type of story you cannot put down until you get to know who the muder is.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Beautifully Written, elegant mystery

    I enjoyed this well-written, elegant, international mystery. Guido is a likeable 'everyman' with a heart to whom I can relate. I love Agatha Christie mysteries, and as I've read almost every one, I was wondering what to read next until I stumbled on to this series. These appeal to me in a way that the crime thriller novels from James Patterson do not; they seem to be a little more focused on human nature and characters in the way that Agatha Christie was.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging Italian police procedural

    Internationally renowned German conductor Helmut Wellauer was performing La Traviata at Teatro La Fenice when he failed to come out for the second act. A few minutes past the warning gong, someone ask if there is a doctor in the house? Dr. Rizzardi enters the maestro¿s dressing room to find Helmut dead.---- Being Venice, the police arrive by boat rather quickly. Police Commissario Guido Brunetti leads the investigation into who would use cyanide poisoning, a painful way to die, on the conductor. Suspects abound from the victim¿s seemingly aloof spouse to musical peers and rivals. Soon Brunetti learns that Helmut was a Nazi sympathizer and once destroyed the careers of a singing trio. With no help from his martinet boss or from the two idiots assigned to assist him, Brunetti turns to his family especially his wife Paula for assistance on solving a homicide which has several viable suspects.---- DEATH AT LA FENICE is an engaging Italian police procedural that showcases the city of canals as much as it does the investigation. Brunetti is a terrific protagonist struggling to solve a difficult case because several viable individuals with different but powerful motives wanted Helmut dead and seemingly would perform the act if the opportunity allowed so. Sub-genre fans will appreciate the investigation as Brunetti deals with the brass and his incompetent help, but as with many of these tales (see the recently released DOCTORED EVIDENCE, it is Donna Leon¿s aria to the city that she loves that ahs the audience riding the canals on the police boats guided by the author.---- Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Very excellent character development makes me think I might read

    Very excellent character development makes me think I might read the rest of the series. The droll humor that sometimes popped out at me from the pages of this police procedural was unexpected and welcome. The Commissario Brunetti himself is a winner - just the sort of detective I enjoy reading, and the literate writing and references to cultural icons and authors is welcome in these days of so much drek being foisted off on us as good writing. Venice is also a star of the novel, and not less because of the seediness of historical decay that infects its buildings and and the same time highlights its beauty.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    A Good Mystery

    I happened to randomingly select this book from the bargain table. Italy is my favorite country and Venice is beautiful. As soon as I began reading the book, I fell in love with the main character of Detective Brunetti. If you like mystery series, then start with the first book and work you way through to the next one. I purchased the next three books in the series and have enjoyed them.I plan on making this series part of my permanent library. The author has written a good story line. As I read the book, I had a clear picture in my head of what Detective Brunetti looks like, gray wavy hair, blue eyes, full mouth and a very Italian male. He loves his wife, family and enjoys his job. He will look at a beautiful woman but he loves his wife. Detective Brunetti is a good detective but a compassionate man.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun mystery; great for those with interest in foreign locals

    Fun book, with a somewhat enjoyable mystery. The real charm of the book is Venice. Through her main character, Commissario Brunetti, Leon takes you on a trip to Venice, its streets, meals and the daily life of its residents. This is the only reason I picked up the second book in the series and the third. Venice is the main character and, as the plot is ok, it's good, fun, somewhat educational reading.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    A Finding for opera lovers

    I was trying to find something for my Nook card and I decided to read this nook book. When I was a kid I read all Agatha Christie's novels, and I thought I was no longer interested in written mistery but in historic novel until I found Death at La Fenice. Being an opera lover myself and a Traviata fan, the book sounded engaging, and now I will follow Donna Leon and she will remain one of my favorite authors.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Leon stars in this aria appearance!

    It is no secret that American expatriate Donna Leon loves Venice. And in ¿Death at La Fenice¿ this author (and English teacher) begins one of the most exciting police procedural series around. Leon not only writes about Venice but actually lives there. Her love for the city shows--and she pulls no punches as she gives us this ages-old city, warts and all, a sure sign of true love. She also introduces us to one of the most exciting--and competent--police detectives in modern fiction. In Vice-Commassario Guido Brunetti we find a brilliant mind, a sensitive soul, a man determined to follow a moral, just, and honest road (in Venice yet!). Leon¿s power of description and episode has propelled this man--and this series--to exciting heights. La Fenice is the name of Venice¿s renowned opera house, an excellent setting for this introductory novel. Helmut Wellauer, an internationally recognized German conductor, is found dead in his dressing room, shortly before the performance ¿La Traviata,¿ which he is to conduct. With deliberate pacing, Leon sets us up for the story to follow. Enter Brunetti. Leon describes him thus: ¿He was a surprisingly neat man: tie carefully knotted, hair shorter than was the fashion; even his ears lay close to his head, as if reluctant to call attention to themselves. His clothing marked him as Italian. The cadence of his speech announced that he was Venetian. His eyes were all policeman.¿ A chief suspects is operatic diva soprano Flavia Petrelli. Because of their differences of artistic opinion (as well as another!), she has the motive. Flavia and her American archeologist and companion Brett Lynch pose as a puzzle to Brunetti. With her command of the story, Leon leads us to an exciting conclusion--but perhaps this conclusion is not so important as the fact that she has introduced us to Brunetti, his wife Paula, and his children. Brunetti¿s relationship to and with the city of Venice is energizing and readers who care to follow this book will find Leon¿s objectives convincing. Plus, she writes an exceptional story! The remainder of her books are most exciting, too. ¿Death at La Venice¿ merely serves as an arousing overture of the rest of her literary symphony.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Deathclan?

    Here?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Wonderful Read

    Donna Lyon writes about Venice and Inspector Brunetti with flair. The story is interesting and original. The characters are captivating. And both the city and the inspector are the heroes of this story. Read It! And all the others she has written! She is a writer who desrves your attention.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Pleasant Reading

    Author Donna Leon captures the mysterious side of Venice nicely. There are occasionally too many 'knowing' references to Venice that try to hard at erudition, but other than that it is a pleasant read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great Read!

    Started this series after visiting Italy. Venice was one of my favorite cities on the trip! This is a very good mystery. I enjoyed the insights into the people involved, and the descriptions of the city were a great plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    It's not over until the fat lady sings...

    An opera is interrupted when the world famous conductor, Wellauer, doesn't return after the intermission. He's found dead, and it is up to Commissario Brunetti to solve the murder. There are plenty of people who hated the man so the suspect list is long. Ferreting out the truth will take delving into the man's history. So who killed the man? Was it the soprano, the wife, the director? And the motive? There are as many of those as suspects. This is the first in a series that features Guido Brunetti. Seeing the family life of Brunetti is a delightful change of pace; he seems real, as do they. A recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Good beginning to a series.

    A friend recommended this on Facebook so I thought I would give the first book in a series a try. The writing is excellent and I will be ordering more Leon books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    interesting

    interesting how crimes are solved in other countries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    N

    ?v, N,

    Ti .n,nkjtn,n

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8