Customer Reviews for

Death by Bikini

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ONe of the Best mystery novels I ever read!

    This book is awesome! In my opinion, it's the best book in the series. I read it in one sitting. Fast paced and action-packed, it talks about how Aphra Conolly, a teenage girl living with her father on an secluded island resort, becomes involved in a series of suspenseful events when a certain 'Adam Smith' comes to the island and a regular visitor on their island gets killed. Although the storyline's a bit rushed, it's still very good nonetheless. It's amazing how the plot thickens and Aprha realizes nothing is what she thought would be. It's really good I recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Mystery

    Aphra lives on island in the middle of nowhere, right on the ocean. It's beautiful and she loves it there, but she missed her friends, movies, the mall, and most of all her mother. When her father moved her here to this island to open a resort, her mother chose not to come along. Now it's been years since Aphra's heard from her and she's starting to wonder what went wrong between her parents. When mysterious guests appear at the resort and her father places them in the villa that's being renovated, Aphra becomes curious. Who are these people and why are they here. Then a guest appears washed up on shore, dead and it makes Aphra even more curious. The death wasn't an accident and Aphra wants to know why she was murdered because she has a pretty good idea on the killer.

    A great start to a new mystery series filled with twists and turns and a little bit of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    Death by Bikini-just finished reading it.

    OMG i loved this book!!! i planned on reading the first few chapters because it was like 1:30 in the morning but then i got hooked by the thrill, action, and romance. it's now 5:10 in the morning and i have finished the book. it is full of action, love- most definitely, passion, care, hope, and well, obviously death. the main characters face many challenges until the end. they face bullets, daring ledges, gross bats, and a crazy japanese lady with guns. but they soon realize that love can overcome all obstacles, and that they are two halves of a whole. i great book all in all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelieveable!

    Aphra lives on a island with her dad. She is in the middle of lazy season so she doesn't have to work very much except for a few guests. Enter Adam and his family. They are mysterious and stink of bad news. Aphra finds out that Adam's name is accutaly Seth. Unfourtanetly that doesn't change the way she feels about him.
    This book is very thrilling and romanticish. I couldn't put it down. 5 stars! Anyone who loves to read should make this book their next in line. I love it at the end you think that Aphra has won but then you realize that she didn't tie up the right person. Oops!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Great Book anf keeps your eyes glued to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Looking for a fast-paced murder mystery? Look no further than DEATH BY BIKINI! I know if nothing else, the title alone should make you stop and consider the book.

    Aphra Connolly and her father live on a tropical island. Her father left his resort in South Carolina to open the remote hotel four years ago. Most people would envy Aphra's life at the beach. But Aphra has no friends, no social life, and little to occupy her time except for the day-to-day operations of the hotel. The most her father can do to punish her is dock her pay. It's not like he can ground her. Where would she possibly go? To make life even more miserable for Aphra, her mother opted not to move to the island with them. She's had no contact with her mother in the four years they've been there.

    Enter the Smith family. It's late at night and a family arrives, without reservations. Being such a remote location and requiring a helicopter to arrive, this is more than unusual. Aphra has the reservation system computerized, but her father insists on handling these new arrivals. Following up the next morning to ensure her father has entered everything properly; Aphra can find no record of them. And to confuse matters further, her father has supposedly put them in the one villa that is being renovated. It's off season, and many other options would be available for them. It makes no sense.

    When the girlfriend of a frequent rock star guest is found dead on the beach, the intrigue picks up. From that point on, the action in the story is nonstop, rushing to the conclusion on the (expected) dark and stormy night.

    Mysteries surrounding her mom's departure and the strange guests all are revealed by the end of the story. With a token love interest for Aphra in the form of the Smith's teenage son, Seth, there is plenty in the story to satisfy anyone that will pick it up. There is romance (though very clean), mystery, murder, tropical locales, and espionage. What more could anyone ask for?

    It was a pleasant surprise to be so engrossed in DEATH BY BIKIN by Linda Gerber. I wasn't sure what to expect, having read her STUDENTS ACROSS THE SEVEN SEAS contributions. DEATH BY BIKINI is a totally different genre. But in all honesty, I believe that Ms. Gerber is much more suited to the thriller story than the S.A.S.S. series. I for one am eager to pick up the sequel, DEATH BY LATTE, to find out what Aphra is going to encounter next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is Just Amazing..`

    This Book Is Seriously amazing.. i like never read you would never catch me reading and when i read this book it was like so interesting because thats just like amazing and right when i finished this i was like theres got to be a sequel and when i saw on the next page that the sequel was death by latte at school i was so happy screaming threw the hallway and right when i got in the car i told my mom lets go to barns and nobles and buy the sequel she was really suprised cause like i said i never read so i got it and now im finished it took me a week to finish because you get addicted to reading to see what happens next and it was amaizng

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    my friends said it was amazing, and i didn't believe them. but i should've! it was such a good read i read it in a day or two. very descriptive, never boring, and i love seth. [: haaa. jus read it! you wont regret it. and if you do, you can blame it on me! haaa. [:<BR/><BR/>(read death by latte next! then death by denim is coming out soon!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    great book!!!

    Aphra Behn Connolly lives on a tropical island with her dad ,darlene and frank. She has a great time until Adam Smith and his family unexpectedly arrive with no reservation. Aphra is immediatly drawn to six-pack, blue eyed Adam who follows Aphra everywhere. Then Bianca, one of the Conolly's guests, turns up dead on the beach-the strings of her bikini wound tightly around her neck. When a tropical storm hits Aphra's dad windes up sick and Aphra goes out to look for Hisako, a botanist who Aphra thinks can help but then someone starts to stalk Aphra and starts to shoot at her and soon Aphra finds Her and Adam hurt in a cave with the Killer outside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    This Book Is So Good!

    I loved this book so much. It was so good that I couldn't put it down. I loved the romanceand suspense of the book. I can't wait to read the other books to come this is truely a good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Fun and Romantic Mystery

    Aphra Connolly lives on a tropical island, but it's not a complete fantasy life. She works for her father at their resort that caters to the rich who want to be out of the spotlight. But when several unannounced guests show up, things start to get weird. One of the previous guests turns up dead on the beach, looking like she was strangled by her bikini strings. The combination of this and Aphra's father acting distant prompts Aphra to begin her search for the truth. Aphra's determination to find the guest's killer leader to a lot of sneaking, lock picking, and even Internet stalking. Aphra digs up new information and discovers that the newly arrived and secretive family are not who they say they are. Things become even more complicated when Aphra finds out, from their very hot son Seth, that this family is somehow connected to her mother, whom Aphra thought had abandoned her four years ago. It soon becomes apparent that something more sinister and dangerous that Aphra could imagine is taking place on her island home. But how can Aphra find the answers when she doesn't know whom to trust? I usually don't judge books by their titles or covers, but Death by Bikini immediately caught my eye, and I'm very glad that the novel lived up to my high expectations. Death by Bikini is one of the more original novels I have read recently, in addition to Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott. I definitely enjoyed the high action and suspense, especially near the ending of the book, and the maybe romance between Aphra and Seth. It had surprising twists as every good mystery novel should, and everything was more interesting because of the unique setting. So, if you're looking for a good combination of mystery and romance, then definitely grab this book when it hits shelves mid-May. I was a little disappointed that the story was not longer, but I look forward to reading the next installment, Death by Latte.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Must read

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I cant wait for death by latte =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    The Story Siren Reviews

    Who wouldn't dream of living on a tropical island, spending their days basking in the sun next the calming ocean. I know I do! Aphra lives on a tropical island but it isn't all fun in the sun. She works at the only resort on the island that is owned by her father. It is the type of secluded resort that appeals to the rich and famous. Aphra longs for teenage normalcy and it seems she may have her wish when some unexpected guest arrive. Unexpected guests, who happened to bring their son, their very cute son, Seth. Aphra doesn't have time to dwell on Seth's cuteness, when the body of one of the guests is found dead on the beach, strangled in her own bikini strings. Unwilling to accept the death as an accident, Aphra discovers clues that may be pointing the blame at Seth's family. Death by Bikini was an entertaining mystery suspense thriller! Just when I though I had everything figured out, there was a new twist to throw me off the trail. I enjoyed Aphra's character and her fearlessness. I can't wait to read more about her in Death by Latte! If you are looking for a quick, enjoyable and suspenseful read, look no further! Death by Bikini will be sure to fill your need!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    very good!

    i read this book in one day! i couldn't put it down! from the start it was interesting. i loved how it kept moving along and i loved the relationship between Aphra and Seth/Adam/Dylan 'haha'! I am so going to be reading Death by Latte and Death by Denim! i recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    loved this book

    this is like one of the bests because it is like a romance/thriller/drama book that keep you reeding until its over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining young adult mystery suspense thriller

    With her father Frank, Aphra Behn Connolly lives on a tropical island where they manage a resort. Her mom chose not to go with them because she felt a need to find herself. Aphra helps her dad run the resort and the Connolly duo have become very close. That is until the Smiths arrive. The father says something in private to Aphra¿s dad who places them in a villa that needs renovations and fails to register them as guests.------ Frank makes it clear to his daughter that he does not want her to have anything to do with the Smiths¿ son Seth, but not why. Aphra is curious about the newcomers and finally goes into the office to read the Smith file, if there is one. She finds cards that her mother sent her that her father kept from her. Upset she runs out of the office as two people on the island show interest in the Smiths. Frank becomes ill and the only person who can help him is Mr. Smith, but for him to save his host, their offspring must keep the killers away from their dads.------- Readers know from the onset that the ¿Smiths¿ are on the run from someone who wants them dead while Aphra has to work on finding out who they are her sleuthing is fun to follow. Readers will empathize with the members of the two families, as each has problems to deal with. Linda Gerber provides an entertaining young adult mystery suspense thriller.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4