Customer Reviews for

Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable and soothing cozy

The Indigo TeaShop located in Charleston, South Carolina's historical district is usually a place of serenity, but today chaos reigns. The owner and her small crew prepare a tea party at the famous Lamplighter tour of Historical homes. The event goes smoothly, ...
The Indigo TeaShop located in Charleston, South Carolina's historical district is usually a place of serenity, but today chaos reigns. The owner and her small crew prepare a tea party at the famous Lamplighter tour of Historical homes. The event goes smoothly, but when it is time to leave, someone remains sitting in the shadows. One of Theodosia's employees goes to check on the person only to find him dead.

An autopsy reveals that the man was poisoned. As the word spreads amidst society, business drops at the teacup. Unwilling to sit back and wait for the storm to pass, Theodosia begins to snoop. This leads to several viable suspects including someone who wants to stop Theodora before she gets to close to the truth.

This cute cozy provides a soothing affect on the reader perhaps because there are many bucolic scenes spread throughout the story line. Laura Childs writes such a colorful picture of historical Charleston that the audience will believe they are sipping tea in the area. The well-drawn plot including an intriguing amateur sleuth who-done-it, but the likable cast makes DEATH IN DARJEELING a wonderful reading experience.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm glad I don't work for Theodosia too!

I had to stop this book in the middle and go back to it because the central character reminded me too much of a boss I used to have: she talked a lot about how valuable I was to her and how much she depended on me, but I always got the feeling that deep down she didn't...
I had to stop this book in the middle and go back to it because the central character reminded me too much of a boss I used to have: she talked a lot about how valuable I was to her and how much she depended on me, but I always got the feeling that deep down she didn't like me very much, especially if my humanity showed. I felt great sympathy for Bethany when Theodosia treated her so coldly. (What a name! Theodosia? Where did THAT one come from?) I love tea and mysteries, but this was just too condescending for my taste. I did not care about the characters at all, and had to force myself to finish the book. If all of the shop owners in Charleston are as snobbish as this one, I hope I never have to go there.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Death by Darjeeling

    Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs is a quaint book for a lazy afternoon and such. Unlike thriller books that ooze suspense, Death by Darjeeling has a much less extreme suspense, you CAN stop reading but you'd stop and think, 'hmmm, what happened next?'. Death by Darjeeling is also unlike regular murder stories by having subtle suspense, not a page-ripping pageturner. With a wicked plot and comforting characters, Death by Darjeeling is your bestfriend on any rainy day.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting

    I definitely learned more about different teas. The murder plot was better towards the end, I kept getting bored in the beginning.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    I liked it!

    I read this book and throughly enjoyed it. I also read the other reviews here both for and against this book and the author. As the saying goes 'you can't please all the people all the time'. If a reader is looking for a heavy read she may not like the books in the Tea Shop Mystery Series but for a good summer reading this book does fine. I am looking forward to reading Ms. Childs other books in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Delightful for mystery/tea lovers everywhere...

    Ms. Childs creates interesting and fun characters that I enjoyed following through the tale. I am a tea drinker, and her details on the tea shop and the city of Charleston do her immense credit. I highly recommend this entertaining story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    A relaxing read for tea and mystery lovers alike!

    This is a terrific mystery set around the central theme of a tea shop. Author Laura Childs' writing draws a beautiful picture of just how a tea shop in the south should look and feel. Her characters are engaging and the mystery to be solved makes quite a page-turner! Very similar to Mary Higgins Clark's style of writing. I like to think of it as fluffy--a comfortable book to read when you want to escape a bit from your life. Be sure to have a hot cup of tea handy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Cute and Enjoyable

    The idea behind this cute mystery makes it immediately endearing and the cast of characters only serves to further the sentiment. I enjoyed reading about the Historic District and the surrounding area of Charleston and Ms.Childs did a wonderful job of capturing it. The only real problem that I had with this story was that it was wrapped up so quickly with little build up as to the true murderer. That aside, it was a wonderful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    GREAT NEW ENTRY IN THE TEA COZY GENRE

    The plotting was good, the characters well drawn and believeable, the situation good, etc. I read a lot of 'tea cozy' mysteries and am hopeful of more of these to follow. I can whole heartedly recommend this to readers who want their murders clean, their sleuths believeable and their violence gracefully presented. (If I wanted 'realism' I would watch TV, not read.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Tea Lovers Delight!

    I do like tea and enjoyed reading this mystery. I guessed the guilty person but not until almost the end of the book. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    I love reading mysteries and i like drinking tea. They go hand in hand very well in this book. Looking forward to reading the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Good easy reading, will purchase more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Jessica Fletcher lives!

    This is simple,readable, thoroughly enjoyable little novel. Read during a quiet evening and you'll find yourself snooping like our heroine. Reminds me of Angela Lansbury, only younger, but just as smart. I'm starting on book 2 tomorrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    one cute cozy!

    Theodisia and staff at the Indigo tea shop are great! they seem to work well with each other and are believable. the mystery is good with a few twists and turns. this is not a 'heavy' book. i can't wait to read the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1