Customer Reviews for

Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Death by Darjeeling

Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs is a quaint book for a lazy afternoon and such. Unlike thriller books that ooze suspense, Death by Darjeeling has a much less extreme suspense, you CAN stop reading but you'd stop and think, 'hmmm, what happened next?'. Death by Darje...
Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs is a quaint book for a lazy afternoon and such. Unlike thriller books that ooze suspense, Death by Darjeeling has a much less extreme suspense, you CAN stop reading but you'd stop and think, 'hmmm, what happened next?'. Death by Darjeeling is also unlike regular murder stories by having subtle suspense, not a page-ripping pageturner. With a wicked plot and comforting characters, Death by Darjeeling is your bestfriend on any rainy day.

posted by Reader_of_the_Valley on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm glad I don't work for Theodosia too!

I had to stop this book in the middle and go back to it because the central character reminded me too much of a boss I used to have: she talked a lot about how valuable I was to her and how much she depended on me, but I always got the feeling that deep down she didn't...
I had to stop this book in the middle and go back to it because the central character reminded me too much of a boss I used to have: she talked a lot about how valuable I was to her and how much she depended on me, but I always got the feeling that deep down she didn't like me very much, especially if my humanity showed. I felt great sympathy for Bethany when Theodosia treated her so coldly. (What a name! Theodosia? Where did THAT one come from?) I love tea and mysteries, but this was just too condescending for my taste. I did not care about the characters at all, and had to force myself to finish the book. If all of the shop owners in Charleston are as snobbish as this one, I hope I never have to go there.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable and soothing cozy

    The Indigo TeaShop located in Charleston, South Carolina's historical district is usually a place of serenity, but today chaos reigns. The owner and her small crew prepare a tea party at the famous Lamplighter tour of Historical homes. The event goes smoothly, but when it is time to leave, someone remains sitting in the shadows. One of Theodosia's employees goes to check on the person only to find him dead. <P>An autopsy reveals that the man was poisoned. As the word spreads amidst society, business drops at the teacup. Unwilling to sit back and wait for the storm to pass, Theodosia begins to snoop. This leads to several viable suspects including someone who wants to stop Theodora before she gets to close to the truth. <P>This cute cozy provides a soothing affect on the reader perhaps because there are many bucolic scenes spread throughout the story line. Laura Childs writes such a colorful picture of historical Charleston that the audience will believe they are sipping tea in the area. The well-drawn plot including an intriguing amateur sleuth who-done-it, but the likable cast makes DEATH IN DARJEELING a wonderful reading experience. <P>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great cozy mystery especially for tea lovers out there

    What can I say but that I absolutely loved this book. Everything about it just got me so wrapped up in Theo's Indigo Tea Shop and the mystery itself was intriguing in its' own little way I had to read this from cover to cover. Everything about it was just so "cozy". I loved the different descriptions about tea, and being a tea lover myself am now in the look out for new teas to try. Aside from the wonderful tea descriptions and the desserts that went along with it, the mystery was a fun read. Nothing too flashy and sensational. However there were proper moments of suspense and intrigue which kept the reader going and more engrossed to keep reading some more.

    I loved the characters in the book. The suspects were believable and each had a motive for murder. I liked Theo and her staff at the tea shop who supported her through her investigation. They were all likable characters (although I found Drayton to be a particular favorite as he was the actual tea connoisseur). As for the real murderer and the solving of the case, I thought I had guessed correctly but I was blindsided and it wasn't who I expected it to be. There were a couple of questions I would like to have answered but I figured they would wait until the next book or two to see what would happen to certain characters I'm curious about. Plot flow was good and interesting. Nothing distracting to take away from the main theme. Theo is a great strong character and her determination to solve this case and save the reputation of her business and friend makes her even more likeable and noble.

    Overall a wonderful mystery cozy! this will definitely be a series I will continue reading. I recommend this for cozy mystery lovers and tea aficionados alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    enjoyable

    a good read, moves along, holds interest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    These books are very charming and present lovely mystery stories. Hard core mystery fans may find these books lacking, but the books excell in giving the reader a pleasureable reading experience. This book is like a cup of tea, perfect for a bright sunny morning, so READ ON!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Cozy Read

    Laura Childs has a gift for making you feel like you are friends with the characters in her novels. The Tea Shop Mysteries make you feel the need to brew a pot of tea settle down with a scone and read. This story is full of twists that will leave you guessing right to the last chapter. It has a great surprise ending too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    Lover of the South

    If you love reading about the South. You will love this book. I read the book before I went to Charleston and it made the city that much more interesting. It gave the city a personification. I loved all the characters and am looking forward to my next endeavor with Theodosia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    Extremely Enjoyable!

    What a fantastic book! I wish the Indigo Tea Shop was right in my neighborhood! I enjoyed the tea tips and what a "novel" idea to put in a receipe. I cannot wait till the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    A real tea cozy!

    As proprietor of the Indigo Tea shop, Theodosia Browning wears a lot of hats: business owner, tea buyer, chief cook and teacup washer. Does she need one more problem? Of course not - but while catering a tea during a historic homes tour, someone turns up dead. Never mind that he's a slightly scummy real estate developer, Theodosia's reputation is suddenly at stake. Backed by her fellow tea shop entrepreneurs, Theo sets about solving the mystery of the deadly Darjeeling. Was it the fiery environmentalist? The octogenarian major domo of the Heritage Society? The realtor's unsavory partner? Or someone else? Even though there's plenty trouble brewing, Theo turns up the right clues and, ultimately, revives her reputation. This is a real tea cozy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Trevot

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Slasher

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    These books read alot like Agatha Christies Miss Marple. They ar

    These books read alot like Agatha Christies Miss Marple. They are a real pleasure after years of high intensity , FBI type mysteries. I'm so burned out on on those. It's so nice to discuss a murder over a cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Fabulous read

    Storyline keeps you involved. Characters are well crafted and the recipes are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    really good

    just bought it for my color nook and I love this book over half way thru and it is really the truth I grew up having back women in our home my entire life and they were not treated fairly always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Love the Series!

    This was my first foray into Laura Child's Mysteries, and I fell in love!! The books are an easy read, the central characters are all well described and are fully vested throughout each story. Theodosia, Drayton, & Haley are all wonderful characters, and as you read each book in succession, you see the deepening friendship and commradre that they develop. A wonderful satisfying series. I enjoyed every book! I also appreciate the fact that there was suspense without having to have violence. There are enough details given to each story to portray suspense and the 'dread' that comes with each murder...but nothing truly violent. I appreciate that. Also, as a tea lover, this book really is outstanding!! I've been trying all kinds of new teas and recipes since reading the series!! Now I look forward to the Scrap-booking series. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    I love this series!!

    I love the series, and can't wait for the next book out. I like her characters, and love the ideas of the tea shop. My dream is to have my own tea shop, and I would like to have her (Theo) and her employees with me!! I also started a scrapbook club with my friends and started reading Laura Childs' scrapbook series, and love her style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2