Customer Reviews for

Death by Latte

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    Aphra Connolly lies to her dad and flies to Seattle just to see her mother, Natalie. But Natalie can't wait to get Aphra on the next plane home. Sure, she hadn't told her mom she was coming, and maybe it wasn't the best timing, but it had been four years since she'd seen her! As Natalie takes Aphra back to the airport, a phone call changes Natalie's mind and instead of being boomeranged back home, Aphra becomes embroiled in the dangerous world of Natalie's work as a covert ex-CIA agent.

    While Natalie talks with her co-workers, Joe and Stuart, Aphra is isolated on the balcony of Natalie's apartment, where, soon after, she meets Ryan, Natalie's hunky neighbor, on the rooftop. But before the day is out Aphra's boyfriend, Seth, arrives in Seattle and demands she return his ring; she witnesses Joe's death; she is stalked by a blond man; and she ends up stranded on a mountain top with Natalie, Seth, and Stuart.

    Will they be able to escape whoever is trailing them? Will Seth be able to save his dad by returning the ring? And will Aphra ever be able to connect with her mother again?

    DEATH BY LATTE is the type of book that causes you to forget you have cookies in the oven, or that you need to turn out the light because it's three in the morning and you know you have to get up early. You simply won't care. You will be so engrossed in the twists and turns of the story that you won't want to stop reading, especially since Linda Gerber is a master at writing chapter endings that compel you to read on.

    DEATH BY LATTE is Linda Gerber's second murder mystery/thriller, and I cannot wait to read her other titles. My thirteen-year-old daughter read this book, insisted I read it, and asked me to buy all of her books for her birthday. What better praise can an author receive than that?

    I only regret that when I give Ms. Gerber's books to my daughter, I'll have to wait for her to read them first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Love it!!

    I felt sad for Natalie to lost such a good friend like him.:'(.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Lol amazing

    I couldnt get into : Death by bikini. But i loved death by latte.i am getting death by denim and i read the sampland its amazing so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    $&$

    This book is awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Anonymous monster

    This book was amazing and kept you guessing at each turn of the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    ?

    My favorite one of the series by far!!!
    Rating: **********

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Love this book

    I've read this book before and it's for people who like suspence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Amazing

    This series is absoutly amazing. I mean Aprha is so determined to find her mom and Seth is so wow. Read to find out more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    I love the whole series!!!

    This series just amazes me how fantabulous it is! I got the whole trilogy set and finished it in 4 days! Read these series because it is sooooo awesome and you wont be able to put it down! I literally fell in love with seth! Who else wants this to be a movie? I DO! Who wants there to be another book? I DO!!!! EMAIL LINDA GERBER TELLING HER TO MAKE A FOURTH BOOK! Thanks(: it means alot to me(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Loved It!!

    Ok listen up this book was AWESOME!! i mean i desperately want to read the other two. . . !! Soo
    Bottom Line: Awesome book for those who love suspense, love, and murder!!
    <3 It!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    the best book

    Death By Latte is one of the nest books that I have ever read. I do have to say it is hard to get in to but after you do yoy will lovvvvveeeeeee it! Highly recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Death by Latte is a fast, exciting read.

    This second book by Linda Gerber keeps up the pace in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY good book.

    I dislike reading, but I gave this book a try. It's amazing ! I love the irony, and everything is just written really well. Give this book a try, you'll love it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Mystery

    Aphra lied to her father and hopped a plane to Seattle to try to catch a glimpse of her mother - whom she hasn't seen in four years. She finds her in the market place, selling pottery. But when her mother looks up and notices her daughter, her first reaction isn't happy. Immediately she takes her daughter back to her apartment base and looks into a flight back. Where her mother looks at her child and sees danger, Aphra just wants to see her mom. On the way back to the airport, her mom receives a phone call. Since there's time before the flight Alphra doesn't mind her mother running an errand. But the errand turns into something much more dangerous involving hiking down a rocky mountain side, kayaking through treacherous waters, and escaping rogue CIA agents gunning for them.

    This is the Sequel to Death By Latte and as far as I'm concerned Death by Denim can't come out quickly enough. I want to find out: what happens with Seth and Aphra, what her father thinks of the whole mess, and if the agents are still after Aphra. The action made me fly through the book, hooking me at every possible point. if you're into suspenseful mysteries, give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Great Book and keeps your eyes glued to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Who do you trust and can you really trust them...?

    This book kept me guessing throughout the entire thing. It has so many intriguing twists and turns. I never knew what was gonna happen. I never knew who was good and who was bad. The characters didn't either. Wow. I give this book 5 stars. If you like mystery stories with still a bit of romance... you gotta read this. I can't wait to read the second part. I'm dying to know that happens! Ahh! This book will really have you guess who you can really trust. Reading this will deffinately make you wonder who your real friends are and who you can really rely on. Nothing is as it seems... Or is it?....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    Review Of Death By Latte By: Linda Gerber

    This book is my favorite book it is suitable for ages 10 and up. I personally like it because you never know whats going to happen next with Aphra and Seth. You sometimes have to take the context clues you find in the begging because in the end they will talk about it and you would be like what is the author talking about.This is diffently the book you wanna wake up and read on the deck. It is an everyday book you can read it has everything in it suspense a slight bit of humor and lots more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Aphra Strikes Again!

    Aphra Connolly is back in another danger-filled adventure. This time, she¿s off to find her mom in Seattle, something she¿s never been able to do until she met the Mulos, the family Aphra¿s mother swore to protect. But the familial reunion isn¿t as happy as Aphra thought it would be. Instead, her mother seems cold and disconnected while her partner Joe insists Aphra be send home immediately. Plus, Seth Mulo, the boy she fell in love with when he visited her father¿s island resort, shows up again in Aphra¿s life, this time to ask for something back. It turns out he needs the ring he gave to her back, but he won¿t tell her why. And when Joe turns up dead at a coffee shop, what started out as an innocent trip turns into a deadly nightmare. Aphra, her mother, and Seth are now on the run from their enemies, with little supplies and knowledge of what they can do next. Their lives are on the line ¿ especially because they don¿t even know who they are running from. In this sequel to the fantastic and fast-paced Death by Bikini, Linda Gerber brings readers back into a dangerous world of rogue CIA agents and sleeper cells. This novel is just filled with suspense and excitement, especially when Aphra is on the run. The fact that Aphra doesn¿t even know who to trust only adds to this effect. I was immediately sucked into this story from the very first line and was hooked all the way until the end. The story does rely a lot on the plot, which isn¿t an issue since the plot is so exciting, but Aphra¿s character is also well-developed. I could really hear the gears in her head turning as she tried to figure out how to get out of various dangerous situations and felt her confusion over where several people¿s loyalties lied. I admire her determination, especially in the face of death. Death by Latte, much like its prequel Death by Bikini, has much to look forward to: great characters, plot twists, and non-stop action and excitement. Death by Latte appeals to readers who enjoy spy and action novels, although I think pretty much any girl can get into this short but fun read. If you haven¿t already read Death by Bikini, I recommend you do so and then pick up Death by Bikini to read too. I definitely look forward to the continuation of this great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    The second Death by young adult mystery suspense thriller is an exciting sequel

    Four years have past since her dad Frank Connolly took his daughter Aphra to Open and Run an exclusive Pacific island resort her mom Natalie remained in the States allegedly seeking to find herself as an artisan. Aphra has not seen her mom in four years and after the recent harrowing experiences with the ¿Smith¿ family nee Mulo (see DEATH BY BIKINI) decides to confront her in Seattle. She tells her dad, still recovering from poisoning, that she is going to see a friend in South Carolina.-------------- Her mom is stunned when Aphra shows up at Pike¿s Pottery. She tells her daughter she is leaving for the island immediately. Aphra realizes her mom still works for the CIA and her partners Joe and Stuart are undercover with her trying to know who has betrayed the agency by going after family members. Matters turn frightening when teenage Seth Mulo arrives asking Aphra for a ring he gave her that some thugs now are demanding or they will slice off his father¿s body parts one at a time a finger has already arrived special delivery. About the same time Joe dies from a poisoned latte it is too late for Aphra to leave town as she has been spotted.------------------ The second Death by young adult mystery suspense thriller is an exciting sequel with the action switching from the Pacific island to the American Northwest Pacific coast. The story line is fast-paced from the moment a stunned Natalie sees her daughter innocently step into the danger that mom sent her and her beloved spouse away from. Although this is a stand alone, reading DEATH BY BIKINI helps set the table for DEATH BY LATTE as the audience better understands motives especially Seth. Linda Gerber provides an entertaining Seattle joy ride that middle school teens will appreciate.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2