Customer Reviews for

Death in Four Courses (Key West Food Critic Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    A Yummy Mystery

    Highly entertaining and delightful, there's something for everyone here: a great location, engaging characters, and a mystery to solve. The recipes are an added treat.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Cozy

    Also read the second one, great cozy series, I look forward to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hayley Snow is the new food critic for Key Zest magazine. The an

    Hayley Snow is the new food critic for Key Zest magazine. The annual Key West literary conference is featuring food writing this year. This is bringing all the famous food writers from across the country to Key West. Hayley is excited to be attending the conference and has asked her mom to join her. They are both such "foodies".

    Superstar food critic Jonah Barrows is the keynote speaker. Hayley hopes to glean some knowledge to make her reviews more modern and cutting edge. But his address is like nothing she or any other attendee or speaker had imagined. He has recently released his memoir and has included many secrets that have many of his colleagues up in arms and in his speech he promises many more secrets will be revealed. He has decided honesty at all costs in his new mantra.

    When Jonah is found dead the suspects are many and Hayley is right in the middle of the action. She needs to grill everyone involved and find out who had the biggest beef with Jonah. She has to do it carefully or she could be the one getting burned.

    I love this amateur sleuth! In my review of the first book of the series, An Appetite For Murder, I gushed that I wanted to be this character. Well that feeling has grown with this next installment. It is even better than the last.

    Lucy Burdette takes us on a trip to Key West from the seat of out comfy chairs. She has created wonderful characters in an very engaging mystery that kept me guessing whodunit until the end.

    My favorite character was Hayley's mom. The apple did not fall far from the tree there. We can see clearly where Hayley gets her spunk and drive. The also both love food. I had no trouble at all picturing her mom cruising around Key West on that little pink scooter.

    The topic of reviews whether they be for food or books have a lot in common and this installment makes me want to continue to make my reviews better and better. I honestly felt for Hayley when she was "scooped" by another critic from a large newspaper. Reviewers work hard to keep their thoughts original, meaningful and informative. The feeling is awful when you go to post your review around the blogosphere and see other reviewers used the exact same words you did to express their feelings about the book. Sometimes it means a major rewrite in a hurry. Thankfully though most book reviews don't add to your waistline the way food reviews do :) o.k. some do but darn I try hard to stay away from cookies, cupcakes and Hot Fudge Pie. Yes, there is a super easy recipe for Hot Fudge Pie in the back of this book! Who knew reading could be so delicious

    There is no question that this story deserves 5 stars! I am just sad that we have to wait until May for our next Key West adventure!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I enjoyed this delightful second installment in this mystery ser

    I enjoyed this delightful second installment in this mystery series. It had many twists and turns for mystery lovers, humor for comic relief and food descriptions that will send you to your kitchen to try the recipes included at the end of the book! I laughed at Haley trying to keep up with her young- at- heart mother who is more adventurous in love & life! I'm lookiing forward to the next in this series since I love a mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    there is a gathering of the most famous of food critics at key w

    there is a gathering of the most famous of food critics at key west. hayley's mom is visiting and is thrilled to be included in all the festivities with hayley. jonah incites the critics with his honesty plea and someone doesn't like the idea. jonah is murdered, then in short order another critic is also murdered. hayley's best friend eric is arrested, and hayley feels she must help solve this before eric is put in prison for something he didn't so. hayley does her best, but wnhodunit? you will have to read tis delightful mystery for yourself, i won't tell!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1